We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard, Even for an Army Facility”

IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Substandard, Even for an Army Facility”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've stayed at a lot of military lodging facilities of different services, many of which are excellent. This, however, was my first stay at a civilian contracted "hotel" on a military post, and it was really substandard, as well as a bit more costly than most.

Check-in time is 4:00 pm--later than most. We arrived quite early and the young, blonde desk clerk would do nothing for us. She did say that she thought she could get us in before 4:00, and would call to let us know: no call. We came back after 4:00 and another clerk sent us to the wrong room in a building that is perhaps a half-mile drive from the office. We had to drive back to get things straight.

First floor rooms are two short staircases up--not a big deal unless one has some mobility impairment. The room and bed were not too bad, although the mini-blinds were terribly beat up and the floor creaked a lot. We were very glad for the fridge, although the freezer was the open kind which won't freeze things very well. The clothes washers and driers in the basement worked fine and were free. That night, the people in the room above us did an incredible amount of stomping around from maybe 2:00 am on, and the building not only has no sound insulation, it actually seems to amplify noise. I didn't get much sleep, so when we learned that those people were staying several more nights, I asked for a room change. The young blonde, again, offered no apology, and indeed seemed quite annoyed that I would ask for such a thing. We wound up in another building.

No further major problems, except that the microwave tripped a breaker while we were trying to heat some rolls for breakfast. Their continental breakfast is bare-bones.

Not the "hotel's" fault, but the base has its own share of eccentricities. The main east-west road is Goss Road, with gates 8 and 9 at either end. Gate 8--the closest to downtown Huntsville and the one your GPS will likely take you to--closes at 1:00 pm weekdays, but midnight on weekends. Arrive after one and you can find your way further down Patton Road to Gate 10--which still has some pretty limited hours. I've been on a number of high security bases, but this is the first where my wife also had to show her ID for us to get on.

Then there's Gate 9 on the west end of Goss Road. If you're trying to get off around 4:00 pm weekdays, be prepared for a half-mile backup and pretty good wait. Coming in, if you just want to get on post, you probably want to ignore the "visitor stay right" sign and drive far left. Once past the guard shack, during the day you must drive straight ahead about a half mile and then make a U-turn through traffic to come back to Goss, which is about even with the guard shack. It's all more than a bit disconcerting to visitors.

MWR on Redstone is useless for the Space Center or for local sights, while the Huntsville visitor center was incredibly friendly and helpful, as well as offering some nice discounts. If you're in the area Thursday evenings, the space center hosts a Biergarten open to the public, where you can buy some good beer and German food, and peruse the outside exhibits at the center.

I would not recommend the "hotel" on Redstone, but would stay in an off-post facility which wouldn't cost a lot more, would be much nicer, and would probably be friendlier and much less hassle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimrock42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redstone244, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide comments regarding your visit. I apologize for not being able to provide you with a room early in the day when you arrived but the only reason that happens is when we are full the previous night and guests have not checked out and given us the opportunity to prepare the room for our next guests. Our policy is that if a room is available earlier than check-in time, we are happy to make it available for our guests checking in. Being sent to an incorrect room is not acceptable and we will be discussing this issue at our next front desk meeting to prevent this type of occurance from repeating.

In regards to the facilities, I.H.G. assumed management of this hotel a little over a year ago and we have made several changes to improve the quality of the accommodations. We replaced all beds and linens, installed new 37" T.V's, replaced hardware in the bathrooms, and have added options to the continental breakfast we offer amongst many other improvements.

More exciting is the fact that we are in the process of building a brand new hotel at Redstone Arsenal which should be ready for occupancy in the fourth quarter of 2015. The property will be a Candlewood Suites with some extras such as an outdoor swimming pool and breakfast and a breakfast room very similar to what is offered at all Holiday Inn Express properties. We will have all our facilities in one building, and will provide all the comforts our soldiers, their families, and other visitors to Redstone Arsenal will need to enjoy their time here.

Since we are a private company operating inside Redstone Arsenal, it is unfortunate that we are not able to assist you with the comments you make about the gate operating hours and MWR but I will be sure to pass the information to the appropriate personnel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us recently and I truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I do hope though that you will give us another opportunity to serve you next time business or pleasure bring you to Huntsville, Alabama.

Hospitably,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorefield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Was stationed at Redstone Arsenal with my significant other for 3 months while he futured his career in the military as a warrant officer. The experience was pleasantly familiar as iam the daughter of a father who served in the military as a sergeant in the 82nd Airborne and 1 505 and lived on base all my childhood. The housekeeper was so nice and we would chat for hours about everything. I still think of her from time to time and all the little talks we had.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacklynn8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redstone244, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the great comments regarding your recent stay at the IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal. It is our goal to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are very happy to see that we were able to accomplish this goal during your extended stay.

We are extremely proud about the fact that we have been given the opportunity to serve those who proudly serve in the Armed Forces. We hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future, when business or pleasure brings you to Huntsville and Redstone Arsenal.

Hospitably,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My family used the cottages on Redstone Arsenal for a family Reunion. We were able to use four out of five of the cottages for three nights. This worked well as I come from a large family. Each cottage has three bedrooms and two baths (the master bedroom has one of the baths attached). The kitchen is small; it has a large refrigerator, microwave, oven/stove, and dishwasher. While there were some pots, dishes, and silverware in each cottage, it is not necessarily standard. There is a good size dining room and two large sitting areas. There are no grills near the cottages. The cottages are secluded in an area by themselves. The cleaning team does not come everyday; they are very helpful and friendly. Close to a great walking trail. The price is very good. REMINDER: these cottages are on a closed military installation. You need a military ID card to use the stores on post. We recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

On-base lodging is known for reasonable price but Redstone cottages adds quality to the equation. 3 bedroom, 2 bath for less than $85 was incredible. Cottage was clean, comfortable and perfect for 6. Kids were amazed at 4 TVs and full litchen with utensils. We even had a laundry room!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Although the R.A. is small everything you may need is near by. The Guest Housing is nothing fancy but for the price its great. There is a kitchen avalible for your use (would advise to call ahead to see if you need your own pans) The rooms do have a micro and small refrig. which worked great for us. The quality of the rooms are clean but starting to show some wear. We found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thriftstorequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#29 of 53 in Huntsville
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal

Property: IHG Army Hotels on Redstone Arsenal
Address: 3440 Aerobee Rd, Huntsville, AL 35808-3000
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Huntsville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a wide variety of accommodations ranging with rooms with two queen beds to two-bedroom apartments with full kitchens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing