We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best German Restaurant Experience in Huntsville”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schnitzel Ranch

Schnitzel Ranch
Ranked #317 of 594 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best German Restaurant Experience in Huntsville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

When I go out to eat, I want great food but I also want an enjoyable dining experience with friendly staff and management/ownership who cares. That sums up my Schnitzel Ranch dining experiences. Great German food, great German beer at great prices and a friendly, welcoming staff, culminating in a wonderful dining experience. Couldn't recommend the Schnitzel Ranch higher.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snaukered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“German Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We've now tried the three German restaurants that we know of in Huntsville and the Schnitzel Ranch ranks with the best. Good food and attentive wait staff. We'll go back for more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
678 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Gutentag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having just arrived in Huntsville from living the last 3 years in Germany we already miss the cuisine. Since we were in the area, we decided to have lunch at the Schnitzel Ranch. Just like in Deutschland, the menu is posted outside the entrance where we pleased to find several authentic looking items. We selected a booth inside and enjoyed the decor as our courteous waiter brought us our drinks. I'm pleased to report the hefeweisen is spot on. We were disappointed that they didn't have schweinsteak im brotchen or flamkuchen (our favorites) but they are tastes that might not be great sellers here in the US. Our currywurst mit pommes was adequate in portion but simply does not compare to the stuff in Germany. We enjoyed our visit and will likely return to try other menu items in hopes of a taste bud triggered walk down memory lane. In the end I recommend everyone visit and try the beer or their choice and be adventurous ordering from the menu but avoid the currywurst.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food was barely edible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband is in an organization that has a dinner meeting there so we went and the food was terrible, luke warm gravy that had a peppery taste to it on a chicken schnitzel so over cooked you could hardly cut it. The spaetzle were gooey and mushy and floating in more of the peppery gravy that did not taste like any jaeger schnitzel we have ever had in the US or in Germany. The farmers bread was the only good thing in the entire meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petunia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, , great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

It's been over a year since I had been to the Schnitzel Ranch (I live on the other side of town), but I had work associates in town and we used to come here often, so decided to eat ther tonight. The beer was great, service was spot on, and the food was very good. We had a great time and the bill was very reasonable. Very enjoyable evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Schnitzel Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing