We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a pet friendly motel for our overnight stop on the way to Florida. I almost always stay at Holiday Inns because I like the quality & price. Candlewood Suites is part of the IHG chain. We were not disappointed in the quality of the room. The lobby is not as fancy, but the staff very friendly & accommodating. We will stay here again on the way home!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
14
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the cost of the room compared to the amenities at this property. There was a full size frig, dishwasher, 2 burner stove, microwave. Dishes, pots/pans, flatware and glasses. The room was clean and very roomy. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET! There was a fitness room, food pantry and guest laundry in the common area. I will definitely stay here when I'm in Huntsville again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at Candlewood because it was the nicest hotel in the area that accepted pets. I was surprised to see that the room quality was very similar to that of a Spring Hill and not much different than an Embassy (no piano, restaurant, or atrium). However, the price was significantly less for there is no daily maid service, free breakfast, or downtown location. If you dont miss those amenities, this hotel is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
746 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Candlewood Suites and had the very best experience. Audrey checked us in and was still on duty the next morning when we checked out. She went that "extra mile" to make sure we had everything we needed.We were given two complimentary drinks and extra pillows. I didn't see the USA Today which is sometimes available in the lobby. Audrey stated that they are in the Candlewood Cupboard on top of the table. Later, she asked if I found it. When we were checking out, she asked,"How was your stay?" Usually, no one ever bothers to ask us that question. We were also given a choice of which floor we would like to be on. We like the top floors because sometimes people stomp their feet waking us up early in the morning.We stayed in room 317 which was immaculately clean. Bedding was very comfortable. A/C worked extremely well. We like to stay at hotels where there is a refrigerator and microwave. This hotel has a full sized refrigerator which allows us to bring "take home" food from the restaurants. The complimentary coffee in the Cupboard is always nice to have. We have stayed at this hotel before, but that was a long time ago. It is still the best stop in Huntsville. So many restaurants and shops to choose from in the immediate area. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the lower floors because on the third floor you get to hear all the planes leaving fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We got a friendly welcome from Sharon upon our arrival. Since this was our first stay at this type of facility, she explained all of the amenities available and told us that someone would be available 24 hours if we needed anything. Our room was great, very clean, nice kitchen facilities, linens, etc. No pool or free breakfast, but we didn't miss them. We will definitely plan to stay at a Candlewood Suites during our future travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Room was clean! Liked VCR and DVD player in room. Actually took a couple of DVD's with me to watch, so I can't comment on their lending library. Bed was comfortable. No housekeeping would have been a pain if I had stayed more than 2 nights. In Hotel mini-mart was well stocked, good selection, and reasonable prices.

My major complaint was Ice! The refrigerator in the room had an ice maker, but it was shut off when I arrived, and I couldn't find an ice machine. Since this was a small refrigerator, it only made about a glass of ice at a time. So, first night, suffered with luke warm beverages. Also, with the refrigerator less than 20 feet from the bed, everytime the ice maker cycled it would rudely wake you up. Ended up turning it off over night. Also, the refrigerator was noisy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2003lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Seriously, I have stayed at many two star hotels before. I have also stayed at "ritzy" three and four star hotels. This is by far the BEST two star hotel I've ever stayed at. Extremely clean. And, not even that, completely modern, updated, and cozy. Bathroom and kitchen looked recently updated. Carpet was clean and soft. Bedding was cozy. I LOVE LOVE LOVE when hotels have big oversized comforters and big fluffy pillows. Nothing gives me the creeps more than that quilted cover thing that some hotels have. This hotel had a super comfy bed and the big soft comforter I LOVE. Flat screen TV with a dvd player. You can rent DVD's for free from the lobby. They have a little store near the lobby too with lots of goodies. They work on the honor system, so the store is open all the time. Makes it convenient for a late night snack or drink! Room is complete with cooking utensils and pots and pans, plates, bowls, silverware, etc. The fridge and dishwasher were brand new too. Big recliner in the room was a nice way to watch tv too. Lots of counter/desk space made it easy to sprawl out with all our stuff. Quiet area. Large room.


Hotel is centrally located to the Space center, as well as shopping and downtown Huntsville.

The only downside some people might see (I saw this as perfectly fine), they do not clean your room daily unless you ask for it. But really, I don't need new towels every day. And they ask at check in if we needed any extra, for the reason they don't send a housekeeper daily. I liked not having to pack up all my stuff each day for the housekeeper to come through. And we could sleep in. They do provide magnets for the door if you want or do not want certain types of housekeeping to come through. Really a good system that more hotels should adopt, I think.

Seriously, why is this not at LEAST a three star hotel?! TOTALLY worth the money. We got this place on Orbitz for $70/night. Total steal. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center
1.1 mi away
Huntsville Marriott
Huntsville Marriott
#17 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#14 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Property: Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Address: 201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing