We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Concern turned to Happyness” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Concern turned to Happyness”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I gotta tell you, I was concerned about a couple of things from my reservation experience, but it all worked out perfectly thanks to Manager Heather - She turned my frown into a smile that lasted my entire stay. She was totally pleasant and helped me get just the suite I needed for a meeting with a new Rep. Thanks so much, I'll see you again, for sure.

je

Room Tip: Look for Heather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethehokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
It was my pleasure to help you. I am glad that we were able to turn it all around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
14
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had my reservations about this hotel when my travel coordinator booked me into it and I was not mistaken. Not a complete and utter dump but close. I didn't really want to touch anything after seeing the state of the "comfy" clapped out leather chair in my bedroom. To be fair the staff were decent if somewhat indifferent. The store is interesting works on the honor system but other than a banana no healthy food options and I had no real breakfast options other than some really bad cereal. Thank goodness I was able to move to a Hampton In the next day. You get what you pay for for I am not going to rip this place it was you know just low quality. Note the beds suck if my bed was anything to go by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am surprise to hear that your accommodations were not at all suitable to you. We strive to provide a great hotel and great service to all of our guests. I do agree that our recliner is a bit worn and we are actually going to be replacing them this year. My apologies that you did not notice all the choices we have in our store, we offer bananas, apples and oranges. As well as yogurt, fat free milk, and low calorie breakfast sandwiches just to name a few of the options.

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and I do hope that you give us a try again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had arrived late in the evening & had a confirmation e-mail from the company I was working for- they had already taken care of the bill for the room for 8nights, 9 days. I got there & Ms. Rachel said that it was a confirmation to 'hold' the room but had not been paid when my confirmation did not say that. She said she needed a copy of the card & an authorization form- I called my boss- had him on the phone at 11pm at night to get this taken care of. I explained to him what she needed & he didn't understand so I offered her to speak to him on my phone since he was already on the line- she said no he needed to call her & she proceeded to the guest behind me as if we were completely through. The phone number was not readily available as I looked around I didn't see it so I asked her for the number & she rudely told me it was on a card behind me. My boss on the phone was more offended than I was. He called & spoke to the gentleman she had been training who came in for shift change. When he got through there was an exchange of them sending him the forms that he needed to check me into my room. He filled the forms they sent him & an hour later I was still waiting because they said they never got the replied e-mail. He sent it 4 different times & called them 4 different times- in this exchange while I was waiting for an hour they called their boss & complained about the situation in front of me!!! There were a lot of guest that came in that hour- 1 of which had checked into a room & there were people already asleep in the bed there!!!! They had given him someone else's key!!! When they finally got the e-mail they said it wasn't the right information that they needed yet they said they sent him everything that they needed. They told him they needed a pic or copy of the actual card to pay for the room this time- they finally called their manager again & the okay was sent through finally at 12:40am- 1 hour & 40minutes later of me sitting in the lobby for this room to be paid for in full for 9 days. Because of the poor way this was handled my boss had me check out immediately the next day & you lost out on the other 7 nights & 8 days. I will not ever stay in another Candlewood Suites again & travel at least 6 times per year across the country. I am a restaurant manager & know guest services & this was the worst I have ever dealt with- my boss encouraged me to write this review because he was appalled by the poor service there & the fact that Ms. Rachel was training another employee. In total my stay was close to $700 for the week that I stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calandria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I would like to first apologize for you not having a good experience at check-in. I understand that your trip here started off very challenging with the difficulties you had from the airline to renting a car and then checking in at our hotel. I want to ensure you we do try to make each of our guests check in process as easy as possible. Unfortunately, when all the information is not provided to each party it does sometimes become stressful. When utilizing someone else’s credit card we have to be a bit persistent to ensure the security of each person’s credit card is not fraudulent used. I understand that you came in late that night, which is why we offered to utilize your personal credit card until we can get the required documentation from your company.
Either way, at no point should we have made you feel unwelcome at our hotel. I would share this information with my team so that we can all review that when requesting required information they we show some empathy to our guests and more willingness to assist them to get the proper information. I do hope that you give us another opportunity to have a better experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Huntsville for work. The hotel was nice and the employees were friendly.
But, there was a large black hair under the top cover of the bed. A hair or two seems to be the average these days, so that’s what I’ll give for the overall rating.
Other than the hair, it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperPoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Mike E,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. It was nice to hear that you like our hotel and friendly staff. Our goal is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. We are sorry that the cleanliness of the bed did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate department to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was traveling with a group of 10 teenage Student Ambassadors and our accommodations for the night in Huntsville fell through. One of our stops on this trip was to the Space and Rocket Center - and while there, I looked online for availability at some local hotels. The Candlewood turned out to be very close, and because I needed a few rooms, we were directed to the sales manager, Lisa. Lisa helped me work out rooms to get the group in at a reasonable price, which was a life-saver! For the price that we were quoted, I honestly expected a 'dive' - but could not have been more wrong! The desk staff was wonderful during the visit - welcoming and congenial to me and the kids! The rooms were spacious and clean - the only thing keeping it from looking 'perfect' being a well-worn recliner in the room. The bed was the most comfortable that I have slept on in many recent hotel stays. There was a kitchen and a large desk space, and a well-stocked 'store' near the lobby. I highly recommend this location, and plan to use it again!

Room Tip: The hotel had air mattresses to help accommodate the number of kids that I had traveling with me, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the first time that I had stayed in this type of hotel so I was not sure what to expect. I normally stay at Holiday Inn Express locations. The hotel is in a convenient location across the interstate from a shopping and restaurant center.

The hotel does not provide a breakfast but residents can purchase breakfast if they like or purchase individual items. The rooms are more like studio apartments with a large desk, double size bed, chair, kitchen and bathroom. For someone staying a week, this would be perfect to minimize the need to eat out all the time.

The best part of the room was the chair. I am a avid reader and loved leaning back in a comfortable chair to read made my evening.

The hotel room is comfortable and I would highly recommend this place for those who aren't dependent of being pampered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a pet friendly motel for our overnight stop on the way to Florida. I almost always stay at Holiday Inns because I like the quality & price. Candlewood Suites is part of the IHG chain. We were not disappointed in the quality of the room. The lobby is not as fancy, but the staff very friendly & accommodating. We will stay here again on the way home!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Huntsville Marriott
Huntsville Marriott
#18 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Property: Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Address: 201 Exchange Place, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing