We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat German”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ol Heidelberg Cafe

Ol Heidelberg Cafe
Ranked #2 of 594 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Eat German”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant. We've been to Germany and can say that this restaurant is authentic. The food is wonderful. The restaurant is located in a mall and you really have to look for it. Otherwise, it's just right.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    178
    48
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
335 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“So full. ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Decided to see why all the fuss over German food in northern Alabama. Ended up at the ol Heidelberg and it was the best German food I've had outside of Germany. We didn't do the chicken dance or prost on the tables, it was all about the food.

I knew I'd only have one chance to eat here so I went for the sampler. Snitzle, cordon blue, and a brat on one playe. It was delicious! !!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_and_Kim_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Schnizel and German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have always ordered wiener schnitzel at many German restaurants and find that Ol' Heidelberg's is one of the best. I also always get the sweet red cabbage and this was out standing. Off a busy highway. this restaurant is in a shopping center next to a Mexican place. It can be seen from the highway (university drive) but must be accessed by side roads. Dinners are on the expensive side, but good quality and the décor is very German. Service was very good, however I was there in the early evening before 5 pm. A must if you like German food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
583 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Sausage platter: Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stopped by today when I arrived from the airport and was pleasantly surprised by the food. I ordered the Schlachtplatte which consists of a choice of three of their four sausages. All were very good, served hot and with boiled potatoes and red cabbage.

The menu had the typical schnitzels and German-American fare. This was the lunch menu. I'd like to see what the dinner menu offers.

It's tough to generate much atmosphere in a store front. While the place is nicely decorated the menu was badly worn and dirty. Lighting was terrible.

Service by Christy was very good, however.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Must.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

After a visit with a co-worker in 1990 have been driving the 100 miles from Birmingham at least once a month for lunch or dinner. Wife and I order the same thing every time (chicken schnizel gordon blue and black forest ham) and then get something different to go. Sausage plater is a good meal for two.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billsmith35071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ol Heidelberg Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ol Heidelberg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing