We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despicable Double Standards for Dogs and Families! Don't go there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Huntsville
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stay in all types of hotels across the country, but you can't find a worst manager than the one in Huntsville Alabama at the Residence Inn by Marriott. We called about the dog policy...they said they were accepted without a fee... we checked in...told them about our dog....and no one mentioned any fee. After we had gotten settled in the room for about a half hour, the general manager of the hotel secretly shoved a one hundred dollar bill for the dog under the door. (A maid identified him.) When asked about it, he refused to dismiss it...saying the person at the desk should of mentioned it and it wasn't his fault. In the end, we paid 75 bucks for a one night stay. All in all, it was more money than what we pay in New York City! What a ripoff! So if you are looking for a hotel that says they are dog friendly, but really want to extort money from you... then stay there...We will never stay there again!.

Room Tip: Don't go there! It's not worth it!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

The rooms are great. They provide a great breakfast each morning and a pretty decent dinner Tuesday-Thursday. The staff, especially the cleaning staff, could be more polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremylbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The 2 bdroom, 2 bath suite worked well for me and my husband (in one bedroom), teen daughter (in one bedroom), and daughter's boyfriend (on pullout sofa in living room). The hotel is nicely decorated, and seems to be well-kept. Noise was never a problem....as it has been in the last 3 hotels we've stayed at this year (not a Residence Inn).

The only issue I had was a teenage-ish girl that was at the breakfast buffet. The hotel staff seemed to know her well.....not sure she was a guest but she was enjoying the buffet, and making a mess as she was partaking of all items....no sense of ettiquette or manners. It was frustrating to watch and had I not already finished selecting the item I wanted, I would have not wanted to partake of anything on the buffet.......in short, she was rather gross, and I repeat: making a big mess. Other guests noticed this as well.....everyone was looking......you couldn't ignore her, she was loud.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed in a 1-bedroom suite at this Residence Inn for a long weekend. It had a separate bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed, then a pull-out sofa bed (moderately comfortable mattress) in the living room. Very comfortable quarters for me and my two sisters. They serve an extensive free breakfast and have great manager specials (a light free meal) Tu-Th nights. The pool was great, too. Friendly, helpful staff overall. The location is convenient; there is a mall next door with a Super Target, and the hotel is not far from the Madison Square Mall. They cater to busy business people. You can order groceries, and the staff will deliver them free to your hotel room (although we didn't do this during our stay, it could be a very handy service). We had a suite with separate sleeping quarters and a full kitchen for the same price you would normally pay for a regular small hotel room. Very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FearlessVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The hotel is fresh and probably very new. There were two large flat screen TV's (one in the bedroom, the other in the "living" room) in our studio. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The location is very good and near to restaurants and shopping.

Although we had no issues with the staff, there was a general arrogance and simply annoying look on the face of the lady at the reception (the one that worked in the morning). She never smiled, even though we did. She never greeted us, we always said "Good morning" first. She also did not make eye-contact when we approached the desk. Also instead of saying "yes" or "okay", she said "uh huh" (more like a "mmm hmm" sound with her mouth closed). She also sighed when we asked her to extend our stay by 2 days (so giving a hotel more business is a burden on their receptionist?) If I was the hotel manager, I would fire her on the spot. For such an amazing, cozy, and welcoming hotel, she is standing exactly opposite to the hotel's values.

Don't get me wrong though. I would recommend this hotel above all others in Huntsville based on everything (and everyone) else.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I had a positive experience at Residence Inn Huntsville. Here are the details:

Staff - very professional, helpful and courteous

Cleanliness - From the front door all the way to the room, everything was clean. I don't know how long the hotel has been in that area, but it seemed the hotel was fairly new or they do a wonderful job at upkeeping the facilities.

Bathroom(s) - very clean and the bath towels were clean, too!

Military Discount - Military discount offered, but always check all rates because Military discounts doesn't always signify cheaper rate or least costly rate.

Noise Level - Noise level was mostly quiet. Never had a problem with loud noises or any noise at all.

Comfort - The rooms were spacious. I had a fireplace, living area and two bedrooms with 2 full bathrooms. The comfort level was excellent.

Access - Accessing the hotel was awkward and it's kind of hidden behind a Burger King, I believe. However, the surrounding area offers many eateries and shopping. The hotel is conveniently located in a busy area, yet, once you enter the area you feel that you're tucked away from the hustle and bustle.

Internet access - The hotel offered both wireless and wired.

Infrastructure - Excellent; the main door is located in a well lit area and you don't have to leave the hotel lobby to access your room.

Gym - There's a gym but it's small and do not offer much

Breakfast - I am a picky eater, so I've found other hotels that offered much better breakfast, but this hotel had a good variety and the breakfast was good. The breakfast staff wasn't very helpful. However, there were many choices to choose from, both hot and cold.

Parking - The parking was convenient. No matter where one parked, the main door was not too far of a walk away.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and do recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoochpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

When my family had a reunion over Labor Day weekend, 2007 we stayed at the Residence Inn in Huntsville, Alabama. We became concerned when a housekeeper entered our room late one morning eventhough we had our "Do Not Disturb" card on the door handle. On Monday, I inadvertently left my purse in the room and to my dismay, my credit card had been stolen by one of the Marriott's staff. I have spoken to the Manager of the Hotel, emailed Marriott customer service, and filed a police report, but can not even get a returned phone call. Over the past 8 years,with my previous job, I traveled 3 days a week approximately 40 weeks a year and stayed at Marriott properties whenever I could. Due to this incident, I will never stay at another Marriott property. I strongly suggest that if you stay at this hotel, DO NOTleave ANYTHING of value in your room ...even if you are just going for breakfast, or swimming at the pool. Someone is checking your room to see if you are there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank richswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Huntsville West/Redstone Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#28 of 53 in Huntsville
104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Huntsville

Address: 6305 Residence Inn Rd, Huntsville, AL 35806-1777
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £91 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Huntsville 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for extended stay hotels in Huntsville, AL, you will love the Residence Inn Huntsville. Our all-suite hotel combines the comforts of home with a passion for making every guest feel welcome. We are located near Redstone Arsenal and Madison Hospital, and next to Cummings Research Park - home to Northrop Grumman, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, and other aerospace giants. We're also close to great Alabama attractions like the US Space & Rocket Center, Huntsville Botanical Gardens, and upscale shopping at Bridge Street Town Centre. You'll love our comfortable and spacious suites with separate areas for working, sleeping, eating, and relaxing. Every suite in our Huntsville hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a fully equipped kitchen, 32" flat-screen TV, and sofabed. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet. Unwind at our evening socials with complimentary dinner, beer, and wine. And bring your pet - we're pet-friendly. Few Huntsville hotels can top our service and care, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing