We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hesitant to reveal my secret!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
State Park Cabins-Monte Sano
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hesitant to reveal my secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

What a wonderful park! The cabins are what you're to read about though... Small, cozy, wonderful view! Not too close, but close enough you can wave to your neighbor if you see them - and to me, is nice to not be TOO isolated for safety's sake. Went in March, so not much foliage - but can just imagine what it would be like in the fall! Was in Cabin #4, one of the one's with a patio instead of screened in porch. For this time of year (no bugs) that was perfect. Couple tips / advice: The TV was nice and modern - had all the hookups if you wanted to bring DVD player. Website lists only basic cable, but there was the standard "new" basic Comcast with dozens of channels. Make sure you bring starter log(s) if cool! Next time I will bring paper plates / cups. The kitchen is adequate (oven, stove, microwave, toaster, fridge) but cleaning them is a bit of hassle with only dish towels and one has to wonder how clean they were left by the prior occupant. Be careful w/ oven - tended to cook hot. Bring aluminum foil if you're going to eat a frozen pizza. Foil would have been more convienient that cookie sheet for biscuits also. Also, the outdoor grill is typical park grill - you'll want foil for that! Refridgerator (full sized) had an icemaker, so no need to buy bagged ice for the cabin itself. You'll definately want a flashlight or two. The lighting is dim (appropriately) and hooking up tv things, etc. it came in handy. One thing I went in to the weekend not knowing was that the wood provided is replaced each day. I skimped the first night thinking had to make it last, but pickup came around the next morning to replenish. Nice 1.2 mile trail you can hop on near by the cabins if you just want a casual stroll. Camp store was very nice. Decent prices on most things - and you'll want to have access to everything you need vs. going back outside the park to a store in town. One last thing, no internet service. There was a weak public signal, but couldn't connect. Didn't expect it - but would've liked to have not wondered before going :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roscotn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at one of the cabins (#9) for the weekend while we were attending a hiking conference. Absolutely gorgeous. The cabins are spaced far enough apart that one feels quite secluded. Firewood is provided free the first night and is $10 per bundle thereafter. Our cabin was one-room with a queen bed and a twin bed, sofa, TV, dining table, and kitchen in one room and a separate bathroom. Perfect for a couple looking for a romantic getaway. Outside the front door, a screened porch with chairs allowed one to sit and enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery. The park is situated high enough above the city of Huntsville to get magnificient views of the night sky without light pollution. I wish we could have stayed a week! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank offthechains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

At $85/night in season, this is the best deal in Huntsville and a great alternative to the limited service hotels out by the NASA Space Center. These cabins are stone (inside and out) and were built in 1938 by the Civilian Conservation Corp. They are not modern cabins but have some amenities such as cable TV, air conditioning, good cell phone reception. They are small but the screened in porch is nice and the stone fireplace is excellent. The bathroom is tiny but clean. The beds are doubles (not queens). The kitchen is tiny but acceptable. There are plenty of windows and very nice views. The nearest cabin is about 200 feet away. There are three types of cabins: 1 accessible cabin, a cabin with a porch and a cabin with a patio.

There are no nearby services. The park store had ice, drinks and a few basics. You have to go outside the park (down the mountain) to get staples. There's no pool and to say the cabins are "limited service" would be an understatement. But how many limited service places do you know that have their own observatory--The Von Braun Astronomical Society has popular Saturday evening programs open to the public.

If you have a moderate tolerance for wackiness and are willing to trade standard hotel services for an interesting cabin with an extremely pleasant view located just a few miles east of downtown Huntsville, then I would recommend these cabins.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChapmanAIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Have, FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

The cabins at Monte Sano aren't for everyone. They are old and a little cramped for family use. There isn't any room service or turndown service in the evening. You have to be prepared to accept things you wouldn't necessarily accept at a Holiday Inn Express. That said, whatever downsides there may be are more than balanced by the beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We were looking forward to a little vacation, away from it all, yet still intown.... this was not a disappointment. The room was tidy ( a little dusty,) but very clean. Winter time is probably the best time to stay in the cabins as the fireplace was wonderful and the cold weather meant no bugs. All you really need to bring are your clothes, food and a half dozen starter logs..unless you keep the fire roaring. Tall folks beware you will need to duck your head in the doorways, above the kitchen sink and in the shower.
All in all it was a great get away and a quiet place to stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazyBonesIHSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

We (my husband, myself, and our neighbors) camped at Monte Sano on Memorial Day weekend, 2008. We drove about 3 hours from N. Georgia to get here as we were going to the Alabama Jubilee at Point Mallard Park in Decatur, AL. Anyway, the campground is just OK. The camping pads were fairly private but there was LOTS of poison ivy and poison oak, possibly poison sumac as well. It was very close to our campsite..........
For as large as the campground was, there were only two bathhouses, and it is DARK when the sun goes down. Make sure you have your flashlights. The laundry facilities are at the camp store and are only open when the camp store is open (I think that is 8am to 5pm). There is NO WATER for recreational
purposes, i.e., no lake/stream/river/creek/pool to swim or fish at.
There is a really nice playground for the kids, but it is not convenient to the campground. The older kids can ride their bikes there (if they have them) but the little kids would have to be taken by car or set out on about a 1/2-3/4 mile walk to the playground. Not enought sites with full hookup (sewer, water, electric) compared to the # of bath houses available. There is not a whole lot for the adults to do in the campground unless you are a hiker or mountain biker. I was kind of bored. You may not be, though.

  • Liked — Nice playground for children.
  • Disliked — Too far to bath houses; poison ivy/oak/sumac
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2006

I have lived in Huntsville for 30 years and finally got to stay in one of the cabins.
My wife and I are in the 55 year old age range everything was accesable. We had a firsplace and really enjoyed it we cooked hot dogs and had a raging fire the entire time we were there. On reccomendation of a friend we brought a fire starter log from kroger
to get things going. You have to carry your own wood from the place outside where they stack it.
The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. A microwave oven coffee maker dishes silver and a dishwasher. There was a fimily of goats outside in the morning right at the porch. There are walking trails that pass very close to he cabins. We had a wonderful time and will go back.

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
7.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Huntsville
4.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Park Cabins-Monte Sano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Park Cabins-Monte Sano

Property: State Park Cabins-Monte Sano
Address: 5105 Nolen Ave SE, Huntsville, AL 35801-1029
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
State Park Cabins-Monte Sano Hotel Huntsville
State Park Cabins Monte Sano Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing