We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
State Park Cabins-Monte Sano
North Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was OK......”
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We (my husband, myself, and our neighbors) camped at Monte Sano on Memorial Day weekend, 2008. We drove about 3 hours from N. Georgia to get here as we were going to the Alabama Jubilee at Point Mallard Park in Decatur, AL. Anyway, the campground is just OK. The camping pads were fairly private but there was LOTS of poison ivy and poison oak, possibly poison sumac as well. It was very close to our campsite..........
For as large as the campground was, there were only two bathhouses, and it is DARK when the sun goes down. Make sure you have your flashlights. The laundry facilities are at the camp store and are only open when the camp store is open (I think that is 8am to 5pm). There is NO WATER for recreational
purposes, i.e., no lake/stream/river/creek/pool to swim or fish at.
There is a really nice playground for the kids, but it is not convenient to the campground. The older kids can ride their bikes there (if they have them) but the little kids would have to be taken by car or set out on about a 1/2-3/4 mile walk to the playground. Not enought sites with full hookup (sewer, water, electric) compared to the # of bath houses available. There is not a whole lot for the adults to do in the campground unless you are a hiker or mountain biker. I was kind of bored. You may not be, though.

  • Liked — Nice playground for children.
  • Disliked — Too far to bath houses; poison ivy/oak/sumac
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2006

I have lived in Huntsville for 30 years and finally got to stay in one of the cabins.
My wife and I are in the 55 year old age range everything was accesable. We had a firsplace and really enjoyed it we cooked hot dogs and had a raging fire the entire time we were there. On reccomendation of a friend we brought a fire starter log from kroger
to get things going. You have to carry your own wood from the place outside where they stack it.
The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. A microwave oven coffee maker dishes silver and a dishwasher. There was a fimily of goats outside in the morning right at the porch. There are walking trails that pass very close to he cabins. We had a wonderful time and will go back.

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2005

Our Family of Four had a great stay while our son was attending Space Camp. Very relaxing, clean, great view & value and alot space for children
to explore.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sopwithpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 October 2004

A very, very nice experience!! We stayed 3 nights while visiting my parents "down the hill". We woke up every morning, put on the fire and a pot of coffee, pulled back the curtains to the long window overlooking the wooded hills and valley below, and watched the sun rise, turning the leaves golden.

The cabin was very clean and modern, with central heat and air, plus refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, electric stove with oven, eating service for 5, and all the basic cooking utensils. No food provided except salt and pepper, and you will need to bring pot holders, dish washing detergent, and dish towels. Bathroom linens are supplied and the beds were crisply made up, with extra blankets in the dresser. Plenty of firewood is supplied.

The only flies in the ointment were occasional roaches, daddy-long-legs, and cobwebs, which we could take in stride in a "rustic" cabin setting. We will definitely be back again and again!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2004

(June/04) What a wonderful place!! After informing the clerk that it was our first visit to Alabama we were given cabin #1 because it had the best view. The cabin was rustic with a beautiful glow inside when lit up. I imagine that the fireplace in use could only improve the atmosphere! We adjusted the A/C to our comfort. It was very clean and comfortable, fully furnished, including all you need to prepare and eat meals and clean up afterward, including dish soap. It had a love seat, 1 dbl & 1 sgl bed, dresser in open closet area w/ hangers, seating for six at the table next to the fireplace, seating for 2 on teakwood chairs in the screened-in porch. The ceiling fan in the porch added a beautiful breeze to the already very comfortable climate, and it had a light kit. We felt very secure. The cabin had a HEAVY door with a lock. The screen door also had a padlock. We did not have a spider problem, nor did we see one bug inside the cabin; although being in the mountains, you should expect to. There were trails starting from the rear of the cabin. The park has the most beautiful lodge that can be used for parties, etc, with beautiful landscaping and an INCREDIBLE view. The personnel was very friendly and helpful, with maps and info about places to go in Huntsville. Our experience at this park was above average to excellent.

Helpful?
11 Thank ferrel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 March 2004

My wife and I really enjoyed our one-night get-away at Monte Sano. The cabin we received was clean, the sheets and linens were sanitary, and the cleaning supplies were adequate. There were pans, dishes, glasses, and utensils for every need, including salt and pepper. Firewood was stacked neatly and waiting to be burned in the fireplace. We had to gather kindling, and starting the fire was a bit of a hassel. But once we got the fire going, the romantic atmosphere was worth the effort. We hiked around the mountain; there are plenty of routes to take. You felt safe because there are other cabins around you. Close, but not too close. And the price is very reasonable. We plan to go back.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2003

I have lodged various folks at the Monte Sano cabins. From my own parents to friends from the UK.

This is life at 3500 feet. It is IN the woods.

We did hot dogs and marsmallows, etc.

Is a great place for a honeymoon!!

Richard

Helpful?
6 Thank jollyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 53 in Huntsville
526 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
459 reviews
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Park Cabins-Monte Sano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Park Cabins-Monte Sano

Property: State Park Cabins-Monte Sano
Address: 5105 Nolen Ave SE, Huntsville, AL 35801-1029
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
State Park Cabins-Monte Sano Hotel Huntsville
State Park Cabins Monte Sano Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing