We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comforting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Comforting!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My first visit to Huntsville was very comforting. The warm smiles from the service staff was very welcoming.

The rooms were newly renovated, the decor was flashy and well put together. I admired the chair pattern in the room. We had a double queen suite, with a separate living area, parted off by a double door.

Breakfast service staff were attentive. The breakfast buffet was well kept, consistent and replenished frequently.

The only issue we encountered was late housekeeping service EVERYDAY. We advised the front desk staff of this on numerous occasions, on our last night we returned to the hotel around 9:00 pm, the room was still not cleaned. We had to do room move because it was too late to clean the room.

To top it off, the morning we were heading to Vegas, the girl at the front desk intentionally had the airport shuttle driver leave us because "we were still having breakfast".. although we told her to give us a call when the shuttle arrive so we can head to the airport. Almost missed our flight, the front office manager had to take her own private vehicle to escort us to the airport.

I really appreciated her for doing that, I wish I remembered her name. Hopefully when we return to Huntsville, she will still be there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheaM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your very honest review. I do apologize for the inconvenience you incurred caused by the shuttle leaving for the airport without you. I assure you I have addressed your concerns with the staff members involved in both the pros and cons of your stay. Also thank you for noting your positive comments regarding the overall condition of the hotel and the attentive service you received from our restaurant team. It was very nice of you to take the time to share your comments. We look forward to the honor of hosting you again in the future and yes I am happy to say your private drive Lynn is still with us. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    175
    65
    35
    26
See reviews for
216
77
30
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My first stay at the Double Tree was in February 2014. During my stay there was a huge snow storm. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant was affordable, and the food was very good. The staff did all they could to accommodate our needs during the stay which included making a conference room available for our group once driving was challenged by the snow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
It is very nice of you to have taken the time to reply with your comments about your recent stay at our hotel and I am happy that we were able to accommodate you during the snow storm. We are happy to hear that you had the opportunity to utilize some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated. We know that you have many choices when traveling and we thank you for your business. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice hotel for a staycation for Valentine's Day and this was the best one on short notice. The room was very nice but the fridge didnt work, and the prices online for the restaurant and room service were almost $5 different than what they charged in the hotel. Also, when I called ahead about places that deliver to that hotel specifically we were told they had some information but all they really had was all the restaurants in Huntsville and other nearby cities and we had to call and see if they delivered. The staff was nice All in all, we would consider going back, but the information really needs to be updated.

Room Tip: If you smoke I would definitely choose another hotel or you will have to go outside to do so Call a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay. It is important to our staff to provide you with options which will help you to relax and enjoy during your staycation.. We take pride in delivering all of the details that allow your trip to be a success and we take seriously the feedback that you provide. Thank you again for your comments and I assure you we are investigating your concerns. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to win back your trust. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I come to Huntsville about once per month and I stay here every time. Each and everyone of the staff from front desk, to housekeeping, to food service are incredible. Always smiling and pleasant. Rooms are clean and new. I love the walk-in showers with glass doors. Nice to have the extra space with the sitting room in each room. Food at 6K Bistro is delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is our top priority that guest’s expectations are met and exceeded and I’m glad to hear how enjoyable your stay was. We really appreciate it when someone notices the hard work and dedication that we put forth for each of our guests. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team. We are grateful for your support and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to hotel in the future. Sincerely, Paula Evans General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great place to stay if you are conducting business at Redstone Arsenal with access to Gate 1. A few quality restaurant choices nearby. Made to order omelets a nice plus as part of the breakfast buffet. The dinner was nice and quiet. Was able to work and eat with minimal interference.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are happy our location was convenient for your visit to Redstone Arsenal with easy access to Gate 1 and that you found our hotel a great place to stay. It is nice to know that you had an enjoyable experience in our restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Thank you very much for being our guest and we are flattered by your kind review. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was booked at this hotel through a business travel arrangement. Even though I didn't pick the hotel, I loved the experience. It was a luxurious experience, since the friendliness, professionalism, cleanliness, and accomodations were exceptional. Led me to book a Double Tree on my own for a personal trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sheldon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Huntsville. Our staff takes pride in delivering first class service and spends a considerable amount of time focused on all the details that make your stay a success. We are glad that you gave us a chance to provide you with the professional and pleasant service you as our guest deserve. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled that we could contribute to your visit to our area. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was near the area where I was working. The room was clean and what I asked for. I enjoyed the breakfast. They seemed very slow the first evening, but the next day, the traffic really picked up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I was happy to read your response and see that you had an enjoyable stay during your recent trip to our area. Thank you for taking the opportunity to utilize some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. It was nice of you to take the time to share your comments. I hope we have the honor of hosting you when you are visiting the area again. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville - Arsensal/South Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Address: 6000 Memorial Pkwy SW, Huntsville, AL 35802-2277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Huntsville, AL hotel is located just off Memorial Parkway South, close to Redstone Arsenal as well as restaurants, shops and popular attractions. The DoubleTree Suites Huntsville South offers many amenities including our spacious two-room suites with private living area and sofa bed, large outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and our convenient on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing