We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great staff, lovely place”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have decided for this hotel, mainly for guests opinions. I was impressed with staff value: close and fliendly sevice. I do not like so much the bistro, but... you have another restaurants options arround. Great clean and well maintained facilities. So far away from downtown is another disadvantage, but by car, you can get it rather than 10 minutes. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Huntsville. Our staff takes pride in delivering first class service and spends a considerable amount of time focused on all the details that make your stay a success. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    175
    65
    35
    27
See reviews for
216
77
30
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We chose this location because it was close to were our family is staying. It is an older hotel, but has had a recent remodel. It was a fresh modern look. A little disappointed that there wasn't any free breakfast. Menu was a little pricey. Did have a small problem during our stay. As I was getting into bed, I found that the carpet was soaking wet beside the bed. It was right at the window so I am assuming that the window was leaking. Since we were only staying one night I did inform the front desk until we checked out. Also enjoyed the warm cookie that we received at check in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
It is very nice of you to have taken the time to reply with your comments about your recent stay at our hotel and I am happy that we were able to accommodate you. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and will be shared with our team members. We know that you have many choices when traveling and we are very glad you chose us. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall, I was satisfied. At check in, Don was extremely helpful and gave me a warm cookie for everyone. A few nights later when we called for a pillow and bedding to use the sofa bed, I guess the front desk was very busy, after a while we went downstairs and got what we requested.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lennox B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for sharing how helpful Don our Night Auditor was and that you were welcomed with a warm chocolate chip cookie. We try to carry this way of thinking over into all areas of the hotel to show the true flair of hospitality Your comments will be shared with our team members and we hope you continue to return to our hotel when in our area. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Some good and some bad. Rooms are very large with separate living area. Location of the hotel is good to downtown Huntsville. Staff is very friendly and professional The bad ... refrigerator in room didn't work. Room key would not open back doors to the hotel that were closer to our room. Breakfast is expensive at $12.95 per person. Service at breakfast was poor on one day and excellent the next.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your Pro's as well as the Con's related to your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate it when someone notices the hard work that we put forth for each of our guests. Your observations related to our breakfast buffet and maintenance issues have been shared with our department managers. We appreciate your feedback and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balitmore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were visiting Huntsville to attend a funeral. What was a stressful trip was made just a little easier by the staff and accommodations at Double Tree Huntsville South. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Though the hotel was fully booked, we never heard other guests. When we had to extend our stay by another night, the staff here were competent, respectful, and understanding of our situation. They demonstrated, what felt to me, a genuine concern for guests rather than a blind attachment to protocol. If I were traveling for business or leisure, I would consider DoubleTree in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Art W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know how comfortable their stay was. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and we do measure ourselves on the standard of service our guests receive. We are grateful you selected our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back under more pleasant circumstances. Our condolences are with you and your family. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I would write a novel if I could. I had my wedding reception here, and stayed the night before with my bridesmaids in a room. Leading up to the weekend, we were treated very well. As the week of the wedding arrived, they let their true colors show. They were deceptive, and not at ALL accommodating. They did not do what they said they would do, and politely smiled as they lied to your face up until the last moment (adding additional charges for things already discussed- multiple times). Honestly, I do not have extremely high expectations but I was so upset over and over again by the way they treated us. I was HORRIBLY disappointed. GO ELSEWHERE!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make it right. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was above expectations! The housekeeping team was very accommodating and the decor was fabulous. My parents & son truly enjoyed the pool and the area was very cozy. The GM ROCKS because her team shows how they are lead!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terrolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula E, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Huntsville. Our staff takes pride in delivering first class service and spends a considerable amount of time focused on all the details that make your stay a success. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville - Arsensal/South Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Address: 6000 Memorial Pkwy SW, Huntsville, AL 35802-2277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Huntsville, AL hotel is located just off Memorial Parkway South, close to Redstone Arsenal as well as restaurants, shops and popular attractions. The DoubleTree Suites Huntsville South offers many amenities including our spacious two-room suites with private living area and sofa bed, large outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and our convenient on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing