We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun Family Hiking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Sano State Park

Monte Sano State Park
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fun Family Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful trails, not too steep, and beautiful flowers and various trees to enjoy and identify. Also some bike trails, some a little more difficult than others.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qwackertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    76
    22
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
525 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Nice drive to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Nice area to go to relax and enjoy. Easy drive up to and not hard to find. Take lunch with you nice area for eating it. Little cooler than City nice on a hot day..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great views and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Visited primarily to see the cross that you can see when approaching the city. It appears on the map's legend but nowhere on the map itself. Park rangers finally explained that it is not part if the park proper. We did finally climb down to find it, but it wasn't as easy as we imagined. The park itself is lovely with great views of mountains.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Enjoy the trail, trees and at night its a thrill to see the fireflies. That's a show you do not have in the big cities. But I was disapointed that I could not enjoy the view of Huntsville at night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great place to camp and a wonderful place for a family get away. We went there the day I had hand surgery so I wouldn't be home trying to do anything. Very relaxing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Sano State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monte Sano State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing