We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A View”

Monte Sano State Park
Ranked #3 of 68 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What A View”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

C and I had taken an overnight roadtrip on Saturday and before returning home to the 'Ham on Sunday we decided to stop in Star Market and order one of the delish Terry's Pizzas. We drove up the winding roads to the state park and found ourselves a delightful spot to have a pizza picnic!! The park was very well kept, clean, lots of events going on. We really enjoyed our time spent on the mountain and plan to return soon!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    82
    23
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Crown Jewel”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This park, located within the city of Huntsville, was my favorite camping stop on our fall trip. The park has a lot of WPA buildings and probably the trails, also. It reminded me a lot of Starved Rock State Park in Illinois, another favorite place. Good hiking, nice sites, clean facilities. We will definitely visit the park and Huntsville again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A nice wilderness in the city”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a GREAT place to run, walk, or hike within the city! I highly recommend this park for any of these activities and I have seen many mountain biking here too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time with large group of children”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We took our Children's Camp group (about 60+) of us and had a day at the park. We reserved a covered area for our lunch and the kids got to play at the playground and take a long hike. Saw lots of nature and the beauty from the lookouts are amazing. The kids had a blast and will be back as often as we can for hiking and picnicking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WHFCSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Little Piece of Nature”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Being a Huntsvillian, this is my family's go-to spot when we need to get away from the city for a while. We have picnics up here and plan to go camping when the weather gets cooler and the bugs stop biting so much. The trails are good for hikers of all experience levels. Some are very challenging and others are just for a casual walk. On weekdays there is usually no one in the booth, so you can get in for free or a 'donation;. Lots of space up there and plenty of picnic tables and grills for your use. We love Monte Sano Park and will keep going for years to come!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Sano State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monte Sano State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing