We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Easy trails with interesting landscape

Visited several times in March and had lots of wild flowers. Close to the city with ample parking... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
brucet475
Just a ride on the trails

We have stayed at the park in the past and whenever we have family coming into town we book a cabin... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
dansM9129QH
,
Huntsville, Alabama
via mobile
Read all 382 reviews
  
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
239
106
30
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
106
30
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails great trails south plateau full hookups degrees cooler alabama state family reunion japanese garden nice playground beautiful scenery disc golf picnic area nice hike great place to go von braun campground cabin
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

It was interesting. The area outside of the town near was pretty. Although the hill not mountain was small. We drove over the hill in 20 min then realized that was it. Cute little observatory here too

Thank imre a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited several times in March and had lots of wild flowers. Close to the city with ample parking. Nice for day hikes but relatively easy. Very interesting terrain with lots of lime stone formations, some that have tight but short tunnels (top of Panther Knob). At the base of Monte San Mountain the Land Trust of Northern Alabama also has several nice,short and flat trails. If you want something more challenging, investigate the Walls of Jericho about a hour northeast on the Alabama- Tennessee line.

Thank brucet475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at the park in the past and whenever we have family coming into town we book a cabin at the park and they love it. Great walking and MTB trails.

Thank dansM9129QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Monte Sano sp rv park in a travel trailer. Our reservation was not what we expected and the office was quick to resolve the issue. We will stay here again.

Thank boat_rv_tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I went to Huntsville, Alabama to visit my son at UAH during parents weekend in October. We’ve stayed in numerous hotels in the area previously on other visits. I wanted to try the cabins at Monte Sano State Park this fall weekend. SO I booked well in advance (as they only have 14 cabins and they are quite popular during beautiful autumn weekends). We were in cabin 9 and it was very cozy with a rustic charm, kitchenette, fireplace and screened porch. Only a full and twin bed though and we are used to a King or Queen but we slept in our own beds. The cabins are not luxury cabins but built by the CCC in the 1930s. Lots of stone and timbers used in construction. Rustic but charming and quaint. Perfect for a couple or single person not designed for a family get away however. We did some hiking (great trails with wildlife and scenery). Fire pits and picnic tables are on each site and we used them to cook campfire meals and sit around while visiting with friends. Bring your own lawn chairs! Firewood is available at the general store in the park at $7 per small bundle. Bring your own hatchet, kindling and starters too although they too may be purchased at the park store. You can also use the fireplace in the cabin. Cabins do have heat and A/C. A two night minimum is required for weekends and they run about $110 per night w taxes and a few additional convenience charges. They run similar to a hotel with linens and towels included. I do suggest packing a towel from home as the ones provided are very small and rough. Kitchen is stocked with a few basic cooking utensils and pots and pans but bare basics as you might expect. You aren’t renting a house but a nice cozy place to camp without a trailer or tent! Bring paper towels or napkins! No wine glasses but the ice maker and refrigerator work! There’s even a coffee pot and microwave. Look for reservation site at Alapark on the web.

Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very well kept!’ Totally worth it. Low admission fee and you can tell money is being spent properly. Will definitely come back.

Thank omarelbori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Monte Sano has miles of trails and beautiful scenery. My boyfriend and I love to hike and be active, so this is a favorite of ours. We are working our way through each trail, and see something new each time we visit. It never gets old coming up to the mountain. There are plenty of trails for everyone- beginners, experts, bikers, and pets. All of the trails are clearly marked and well kept by the park. I highly recommend bringing snacks and plenty of water. This is a great trip for couples, and we always bring a picnic bag for a nice meal on top of the mountain.

Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We come here often to enjoy this spectacular park. Lots of races held there and the weather even in the heat of the summer is enjoyable. This last time we were there for a 1/2 Marathon and a runners wife had car trouble.
The park worker who was there volunteered to jump start her car without us even asking! He saw her hood up and came right over. It’s always clean and serene!
LOVE LOVE LOVE it there!!

Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a weekend there in the primitive campground so I could hike the many trails in preparation for my Appalachian Trail section hike later in the month. Monte Sano has several difficult trails that helped me prepare for the mountains of north Georgia. Excellent facilities in the park!

Thank coachkj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Hiked the blue Sinks trail to the white Stone Cut Trail. Lots of mountain bikes but plenty of room to step off and let them by. Beautiful views at the blue trail head. Stone cut trails take you through tight rock passes - really cool trail. Take a lunch and enjoy the 3.4 mike loop.

Thank billanddonnass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews