We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Monte Sano State Park
Ranked #6 of 79 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We visit several times and every time, have a blast. My favorite place in Huntsville and you can't beat the views, especially in fall. I've rented a cabin and camped in a tent and both times, fabulous. Can't wait to be back!

1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hiking trails"
in 20 reviews
"great trails"
in 13 reviews
"south plateau"
in 4 reviews
"full hookups"
in 4 reviews
"degrees cooler"
in 6 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 6 reviews
"alabama state"
in 4 reviews
"family reunion"
in 5 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 5 reviews
"nice playground"
in 4 reviews
"disc golf"
in 4 reviews
"picnic area"
in 9 reviews
"nice hike"
in 4 reviews
"great place to go"
in 4 reviews
"visiting huntsville"
in 4 reviews
"von braun"
in 4 reviews
"space center"
in 4 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

I had a chance to visit this park this week. It was about a 15 minute drive from our hotel in Huntsville. It had a lot of really trails for walking on bike riding

Thank Jackfish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the campground for 5 nights in this really nice state park. Large level sites, clean bath/shower facilities, quiet. Lots of mature trees that would make for a shaded campground in the summer. No leaves out when we were there in early April. We had a FHU site but there are others from primitive camping to just water & electric. Two things to know....Don't use GPS directions if pulling a camper or driving a motor home. Use the Governer Dr/route 431 (exit 17 off of 565) way in to the park. The GPS will have go in on a narrow twisty road with a wicked switchback! Also, it can get foggy real fast up there! Beware!! Lastly, we found a place in town (2215 Holmes Ave. NW) with gobs of good firewood at $10 a wheelbarrow heaped full. We'll definitely stay at this state park again.

Thank litterbughater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed in the oldest cabins on the mountain built by the CCC. I am extremely picky and the bathroom was small but clean and adequate. The room was so cute. Beds comfy - we have to sleep in different beds due to my husband's need to sleep elevated. Cabins had everything needed for a meal except food. We just had cereal and yogurt for b'fast, snacked on the trail for lunch, and went into town for dinner. Now, for the hikes: The first day we only did 6 miles because it was my first hike since my RA diagnosis. Easy hills to an amazing rock formation. We saw deer and hawks and heard an owl IN THE EARLY AFTERNOON. Weird. Anyway, as we took a different trail to return, we discovered some awesome above-ground caves and escarpments that weren't on any of the trail maps. Ate an amazing dinner at Cotton Row. Next day, we did 10 miles around the railroad up to the old site of the old Hotel Monte Sano that was the It Place for a couple of years. Some Vanderbilts came as well as the Astons and some other millionaires in the late 1800s. Popular until the train derailed on the hastily and poorly built railbed and rails. Ate a totally satisfying steak at Connor's.

1  Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Beautiful, clean campground. Very clean shower facility with coin operated washer and dryer. Fantastic vistas. Nice space between lots, not one on top of the other.

Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Monte Sano State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Sano State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monte Sano State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing