We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent job!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum

U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum
Ranked #4 of 69 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Huntsville Alabama, The U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum is one of the premier military museums in the world. The exhibits of memorabilia, artifacts, and military equipment range from the American Revolutionary War to present day. Included in the collection are many rare and important artifacts including the oldest surviving jeep: the Ford Pygmy.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
441 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent job!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is one of the best collections of military history that I have seen. We arrived and were met by a friendly volunteer who offered to answer any questions that we may have concerning the memorial. Someone took great time and effort to locate and create each era of military history dating back to the founding of our country. It is fascinating to see the equipment and vehicles up close. I especially loved the historical tour of military uniforms as well as nursing artifacts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WJB12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    35
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Opened in 2013, this memorial to Veterans of all Wars, sits in Downtown Huntsville just off of I565. With compelling sculptures and design, this makes a great place to reflect on the sacrifices so many have made for our country.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MadTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great mall but well done Memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Is pretty safe, kept clean and near downtown, make sure to check out the train depot nearby and the old fashioned hardware store Lewters across the street.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YET12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Pine, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day of military history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Looking for something to do and your are interested in military history. This is a must see showing of military clothing ,guns , tanks and other equipment. With the help of a volunteer ,we had almost a complete guided tour. It about a four hour day if your are interested .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RSHA9268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone should visit at least once!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This museum gives great insight to our heritage as a nation and to the great courage of our fighting men from the revolutionary war through modern day. I felt it was time well spent. A great lesson in history that every family should see. The volunteer staff was extremely knowledgeable and willing to share. We obtained great insight about our nations history by visiting this museum. They have so many rare vehicles and weapons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing