We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Springville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Overall this is a very nice and clean hotel. The service was what I would expect from an Embassy Suites hotel. The breakfast is a full open bar which also includes cook to order eggs. My only issue was becoming violently ill after eating at the breakfast bar the third day I was there. The front desk stated no one else had let them know they had become ill so I don't know if it was the food or just poor timing. Either way the hotel is super nice and our room was spotless.

This is a busy hotel in downtown and even with ample parking beneath the hotel and around the building, late at night coming in we found it difficult to find a parking spot.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    311
    128
    74
    49
See reviews for
383
176
51
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our family stayed here one night for a short trip to Huntsville. The hotel was wonderful. Rooms clean and huge with a living room area seperate from the bedroom. Breakfast was great buffet style and fresh made to order. Work out room was ok with large windows into the pool area. We arrived very late on Friday evening and they gave us a late check out with no problems. Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern MD
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The rooms in this nearly new hotel (as of MAR 09) were well designed. Comfortable office desk & chair, nice living area, large window in the bedroom, and a window opening into the hallway, which is actually a balcony overlooking the atrium of the hotel. Well appointed bath with good lighting, a large tub, and strong water pressure in the shower. Bed was comfortable with varied pillow options already on the bed. The only drawback is a window in the living room that gives passers-by a view right into your room, including the bedroom. The drapes don't close. Aargh. No automated method to request wake up calls, which always makes me a bit nervous, but the morning call is automated, and it rang on time each morning.

Free cooked to order breakfast each day, and that included made to order omelettes or other eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, gravy and biscuits, plus the traditional continental breakfast too. Pretty amazing value if you ask me, particularly for business travelers on per diem. Kudos to the two cooks who were personable and made breakfast fun. Be sure to have tip money ready: they're worth it.

The hotel desk isnt exactly a desk- more like three mini-desks centered in the entrance foyer. A nice take on getting the desk clerks out into the open. And the desk clerks were pleasant and helpful. Kudos to Stephanie who helped me out with directions (excellent) and a room key reissue because I ended up staying an extra night.

The restaurant is a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, which is to me a drawback. One night we were unable to venture out for dinner because of tornado warnings and bad weather. Our only dining option was Ruth's Chris, and that set me back $70 for dinner. Not that the food was bad, because the food was wonderful. But $8 for a salad or $7 for a side of veggies, no matter how good, is too much for me. No other restaurant options, save a Starbucks, in the hotel. Others may find Starbucks and Ruth's a benefit.

The workout rooms is so-so, and the indoor pool was closed for renovations. They have in room wired internet, not sure if they have wi-fi.

My female coworker and I had manicures, and I added a pedicure. The prices are spa prices, but not a gouge. I must be a bit spoiled, because I thought the aestician was pleasant, but not of the caliber I usually get at home. Be sure to ask for the pedicure chair that WORKS. I went down to check out the spa, noted the chairs, and booked a pedicure. I was truly disappointed when I was already in the chair, shoes and socks off, feet in tub, when the aestician noted that the chair was broken.

When the area had tornado warnings, a staff member announced that the ballroom had been opened up for guests to sit in until the danger had passed. Not forcing folks to do so, but making it available. Nicely done.

The hotel is comfortable with a large atrium that all floors open onto, and gives a sense of spaciousness. Large breakfast area with plenty of seats.

The manager's reception each night offered wine and beer, and light snacks, like mushroom caps, wings, and veggies and dip, The wine and beer pouring was pretty generous, based on the glasses I saw being consumed.

All in all, an excellent stay with a couple perceived drawbacks.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muse_clio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel was great. The suite was spacious and very clean, with all the amenities. e lThe service was excellent; we arrived late, with sleeping children, and they sent someone up right away to make up the sofa-bed so that we could get them all back to sleep. Breakfast was fine (the scrambled eggs were not great, but, as my son said, they rarely are), and everything else was very nice - the people making the omelets and waffles were extremely friendly and helpful. The downtown location seemed a little isolated from everything except the convention center - no gas stations or supermarkets, but there was a mini-mart in the hotel. It was not exactly convenient to the Marshall Space Center, where we were going, but it was nice to know that it was exactly what other reviewers of tripadvisor had recommended.

Small notes: there is a $5/day charge for parking in the very convenient lot; there is also a charge for internet, which we didn't use.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Great hotel - no other way to describe it. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Managers reception and breakfast were well stocked. Fitness center has 2 elipticals, 2 tredmills, 1 bike and free weights. Staff is very friendly. If you are staying in Huntsville - stay here.

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Stayed at the Embassy Suites Huntsville for three nights. No issues! The service from the front desk, to breakfast, to the evening reception, and housekeeping was excellent. Just a great stay! Was traveling with two teens and a younger one. Outstanding staff! Would stay again. Just a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drummerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This is a great place to stay if you are in Hunstville for business or a weekend. My husband surprised me with a one-night stay here on Oct. 1 to celebrate our 20th anniversary (we already went to St. Lucia for 5 nights!). The hotel is a little over two years old and is nicely decorated in modern touches with unique chandeliers, water fountains, and stained glass accents scattered here and there. The room was very nice and large. It had a mini fridge, a micorwave, a coffee maker, and a wet sink. There was also the standard desk and two flat screen TV's in the living area and the bedroom.
Inside the hotel is a spa and a Ruth's Chris Steak House. We went to both and enjoyed the experience. At the restaurant, my husband planned ahead with the hostess where we sat and even had roses(they were dipped in platinum-the metal for our anniversary) on our table! Everyone who came by congratulated us on our 20th anniversary and even gave us a chocolate mousse cake. Overall, it was a great experience.
After this, we walked around downtown Huntsville. The outside is very beautiful, with canals, fountains, lakes, and bridges to wander over and through. The hotel is also connected the the civic center, which makes it very convenient if you are coming to an event housed here.
The next day started with a made to order omelet at the wonderful breakfast area and then I went to the spa. When we first arrived at the hotel the day before, we scheduled my spa visit (another surprise from my husband). I scheduled the spa marathon, which is a 1/2 day spa but was told that I could not get the manicure or pedicure until 4:00 the next day. This was too late in the day ( I started at 10:00), so we scheduled a back treatment in its place.
Well, since this changed the package, the reservationists forgot to schedule my lunch! This was part of the package and was from the Ruth's Chris Steak House. It was 1:20 before I was through and thought maybe this was when I received my lunch. Wrong! This is when the mistake was caught and they said it would be another 30 minutes before the meal could be brought to me! This was not acceptable. My husband scheduled all this for me and was waiting for me to finish!
I asked if the lunch could be taken off the price and they at first were going to take off just $15. I knew that lunch should have cost more than that because a bowl of soup cost $8.50! After I complained, they took off $30. By this time, I really had a negative view of the spa visit. Now, the massage and facial were great, it was the ending that soured the visit! All I had for lunch was tea and some nuts! Other than the missed lunch, this was a great trip.

  • Liked — Everything was very clean and well kept
  • Disliked — The spa forgetting to schedule my lunch
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTroy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
4.7 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 53 in Huntsville
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa

Property: Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Monroe St SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-5576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntsville
#5 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#15 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Huntsville- Hotel & Spa is connected to the Von Braun center via a Skybridge. Enjoy the convenience of being downtown near the Huntsville Museum of Art and Big Spring Park. Relax at Spa Botanica, our on-site spa or dine in our award-winning restaurant, Ruth's Chris. Book your stay now for a wonderful Huntsville, AL hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing