We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Olive, United States
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This summer we took our young grandchildren (first and third graders) on vacation, and traveled through Huntsville on our way to our vacation spot. Our experience at this hotel was so good I wish we had needed to stay longer than just one night! The hotel has only been open a little more than 4 months, so everything was new and fresh. The location is across from a downtown hospital, but we weren't disturbed by the sounds of traffic or sirens. Our grandchildren were delighted to have their own room, and we were very glad we were able to each have our own spaces. The hot breakfast the next morning got our journey off to a great start. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for your kind response. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Vickie Thrower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    66
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
142
75
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for 5 nights. The hotel is brand new – opened in March, 2014. Our room was clean, comfortable and functional. The small kitchen was equipped with a full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove top, coffee maker and toaster. Dishes, cookware, etc. are provided. A Publix grocery store is conveniently located next door. This hotel is near the Huntsville medical district and close enough to downtown that you can walk to stores and restaurants if you want.

The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, a small putting green and gas grills available for use. Parking is free in the adjacent parking garage which is well lit at night. We did not use the wireless internet or the fitness center, but the fitness center looks to be well equipped. The hotel has a large lobby / breakfast area.

Pros
• The hotel staff is very friendly and was able to answer our questions.
• The gas grills were a pleasant surprise to have a pool side cookout.
• Parking is free and well lit.
• Close to grocery store, restaurants, parks, etc.
• Relatively easy access from the highways.
• Plenty of lighting is provided in the guest rooms.
• Room temperature was easy to control.

Cons
• The breakfast and evening reception offerings are simple, but acceptable.
• This room was smaller than at other Homewood Suites where I’ve stayed. I’m suspicious that when guests redeem their points or use promotion rates that they are “downgraded” when rooms are assigned.
• The bathroom sink counter space is rather small.
• There was only one chair to use for the “dining” area.
• There is less dresser drawer space than desired.

The Homewood Suites works well for short stays or extended stays. I have no real complaints and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. We strive to deliver the best service and guest experience. We are meeting and exceeding the breakfast experience standards at our hotel. Becasue of similar comments we have added more options for breakfast. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again in the future. We look forward to you seeing our changes.
Sincerely,
Vickie Thrower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is very nice and new. Staff is very accommodating. I stayed there with my family for a weekend while going to the Space and Rocket Center. A Publix right behind the hotel was very convient. Easy access to food and the Rocket Center was a huge plus. Breakfast was good, as well as Internet access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We try to have a excellent family atmosphere and it looks like we met your expectations. We really appreciate your business and your kind comments.
Sincerelly,
Vickie Thrower,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The people were so helpful and friendly. Homewood Suites is a great brand, but this one in Huntsville is special. It is very new, and the front desk staff bend over backwards to help you out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank fadokv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our New Homewood Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying again in the future. Thanks for your business, we realize that you have a choice and are glad you choose us.
Sincerely

Vickie Thrower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unexpected Gem! Right across the street from Huntsville Hospital. Beutiful, Clean, Great Staff, Clean comfortable rooms. Could not have been a better choice. Breakfast and manager evening DSocials were Satifying and easy after a Long day for the Social and a Quick and healthy choice for the Start of the Day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We appreciat your business and look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Vickie Thrower,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

When we're in the States on our road-trips we always try to get a Homewood Suites fitted in wherever we can. They're usually in a good location with restaurants within walking distance and the Huntsville one was no exception with two just fifty yards away! As well as the location, the hotel itself was excellent, staff very friendly, rooms spotless and breakfast and evening meal included in the price. We've stayed in some US hotels where you wouldn't want to go near their meals but the Homewood ones were just great and we couldn't fault them. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CleishPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that we met your needs and exceeded them we hope. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Vickie Thrower,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a fairly new property in an area of town undergoing some reviatilization / gentrification. The hotel opened in early 2014, so it still was very clean / new looking. The rooms were as expected, and everything what what you expect from a nice extended stay Hilton property. The breakfast was good, and the staff quite helpful. Plenty of hot water, excellent A/C, and not much hallway / room noise. Next to the hotel is a grocery store, which really made a great bonus for staying more than a few nights to use the in-suite kitchen. While there wasn't a lot of places to eat near the hotel, the free covered parking and ease of travel to any place made it a non-issue. I would recommend staying here if you're in the Huntsville area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie T, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a good value. We are excited to have a hotel in this location. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us in the future when in Huntsville, AL. Thanks for taking the time to comment about our hotel.
Sincerely,

Vickie Thrower,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Address: 714 Gallatin St SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-4414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Homewood Suites in downtown Huntsville, Alabama offers comfortable, spacious suites with fully-equipped kitchens and complimentary WiFi. Guests appreciate the complimentary hot breakfast each morning and choose to unwind over evening dinner and drinks (Mon-Thurs). Enjoy the outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and other great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing