We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tired and Old”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

After my last visit to this hotel I vowed I would never use it again but unfortunately a colleague did the booking so I returned with some trepidation. During the 4 years I had been away nothing had changed and in ways the hotel had got worse. In my room the carpet was threadbare and the rest of the furnishings and fittings were old and in need of refurbishment and in my colleague's room there was no shower curtain, obviously the management had not heard of quality control. Breakfast, whilst wholesome, took an age and for the most part the staff were surly and abrupt. The bar was OK but one member of staff appeared to be high on some substance and was far too friendly and wouldn't leave us alone. One of the very few saving graces was the efficiency and politeness of the staff working on the desk. My advice is to avoid at all cost and use the Marriott next to the Space Center or the Embassy Suites downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    42
    44
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
14
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
291 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my mother and my 5 year old twin boys. We enjoyed our stay. They had our room ready two hours early so that was great. We booked it because we wanted an indoor pool and a place in a nice area close to Huntsville Botanical Gardens to see the Galaxy of Lights.

Pros-nice staff
Lots of luggage carts
located in a mall parking lot so close to many stores and restaurants-but bad traffic if you go at Christmas time which we did so keep that in mind
We did not hear the bar and live music in our first floor room at all
the indoor pool was nice and sauna and the outdoor pool looked nice as well
The beds were comfortable and the furniture was nice
Nice linens
Clean

Cons-
A little pricey
The tv set up was annoying because when you turn it on it goes to some channel where they make you try to buy pay per view and it was hard to get off of it and someone could easily accidentally order a pay per view movie that way.
a little cramped in the room for multiple people
the hot tub was way too hot when we first got there, but I told them to turn it down and they did and then it was fine
the pool was a little cold and could have used a heater

I would stay there again and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I liked that we were on the first floor very close to the entrance and the pool so we did not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and glad you had a great weekend. we have looked into the TV situation and have that squared away. Pool and hot tub temperatures are monitored everyday and we attempt to keep both at the advised temp. we hope you give us the pleasure of serving you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Newer room than last time and updated lobby area. Forgot a razor and the staff brought one with shaving cream within minutes. Really enjoyed the band at Hoppers. Indoor heated pool makes it nice for children too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc111atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you so much for your show of support! Come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The property is currently undergoing renovation. If you making reservations, make sure you ask for one of completed rooms. We didn't know about that and got one of the rooms no yet renovated and it was pretty worn and beat up.
There is a good workout room and pool.
The bar/restaurant was nice and they have live music on the weekends. The drinks were a little pricey but not outrageous. It was right next to the expressway but surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for one where the renovations are complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for a week while in Huntsville for work training. The staff was so friendly and the hotel is clean and well maintained. The restaurant, bar on site was conveinent for dinner and drinks. The location of the hotel is ideal for sightseeing because it's near the several highways that access Huntsville. It's very close to shopping and restaurants. The indoor pool is not heated so that was a bit of a bust for our kids this time of year but that was our mistake for not asking when we booked the hotel. We definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihatejunkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. For me, the best thing about the property was the fact that there was a refrigerator and also a microwave in each room. My colleagues and I met at 6:35 in the restaurant for dinner on Monday night. It was nearly 9:00 before I made it back upstairs to my room! To say the service was "slow" is an understatement! We even joked about going to the kitchen to help the cook with our meal. The waitress played right along with us and told us when we could expect the check in the mail for our services. They were slow; but, as I stated before, quite friendly. Monday was the only night I ate in the restaurant. I ate my leftovers for breakfast on Tuesday morning. It is a good thing that I did. Other colleagues who ate breakfast in the hotel on Tuesday morning said they were equally slow. Tuesday was karaoke night in the restaurant. I must say I enjoyed that. There were some very serious singers there! You could tell "it wasn't their first time!" I also liked the location of the hotel. It was right across the street from a mall and a WalMart. Unfortunately, because of my schedule, I wasn't able to go to the mall, but it is good to know it's there. If I have to go to Huntsville again for business or pleasure, I will definitely consider this property. All in all, things were ok. When you know what you are dealing with, you can deal with it. It was just a laid back time in Alabama.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResearchPark, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
DrBLouisiana:

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Research Park during your September visit to Huntsville. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff members as well as the benefits of our guest room accommodations and location. However, we were disheartened to hear that the quality of your restaurant experience was not all that you or we would hope for it to be. Although we always wish for our guests to feel relaxed and at home during their stay we certainly would never want it to seem as though our team was unresponsive or lackadaisical when it comes to our guests' needs. We will certainly share both the good and less than perfect points of your stay with our staff and their department managers. We hope that you will allow us to better serve you on future visits to Huntsville.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

From the welcome at Check in , to the attention to detail of the amenities in the room the staff at this hotel was exceptional. The hotel granted is slightly aging,but it is still very well maintained. they are currently in the process of revamping. Gereat feature is the indoor/outdoor pool, kids would love it. the in house restaurant, served exceptional food. All together a great place to stay for either business or leisure.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor are excellent, they supply you a bathrobe, and snacks and drinks in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeksO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResearchPark, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
MeksO:

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Research Park and for the kind comments regarding your stay. We will certainly share your observations with our team and hope that we may serve you again very soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
0.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
#24 of 53 in Huntsville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntsville
Comfort Suites Huntsville
#22 of 53 in Huntsville
135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park

Property: Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
Address: 5903 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35806-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Research Park Huntsville Hotel is truly at the heart of it all, centrally located on the grounds of Madison Square Mall and adjacent to Cummings Research Park, only two miles from the Main Gate of Redstone Arsenal. Our beautifully designed guest rooms are the perfect home base whether traveling for business or pleasure. And, in your down time you can relax at Hoppers Bar & Grill, Huntsville's #1 night spot. You can dance the night away or just unwind with our live entertainment. Hopper's is also a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You shouldn't miss the Country Lunch Buffet Tue-Fri or the mouth-watering Sunday Lunch Buffet. If you're hosting a meeting or social event in Huntsville, the Holiday Inn has over 5400 square feet of flexible meeting space to accommodate your every need. When your special event is done, take a dip in our indoor/outdoor pool for year-round fun. Let our genuine, caring staff take care of everything. Making you feel special is our specialty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing