We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, CO (suburb of Denver)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

After checking the hotels in Huntsville with TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the Courtyard, Huntsville because of the reasonable price. We had requested a higher floor and extra pillows, and somehow those requests were overlooked. The front desk clerks were cordial, but not particularly warm. Even though we arrived at 3:00, the normal check-in time, our room was not ready. We waited in the very nice lounge/breakfast area. The first room we were given had a courtyard view, with a small enclosed patio. The view seemed closed-in, so we requested an outside room. The second room was much better -- a parking lot view with trees, and much more open. During our first night there, we heard sirens. When I called the front desk about them, and we were told that there was a tornado warning, which meant that tornadoes were in the area. When we asked what we should do, they said we could come down to the first floor, or watch the channel that gave weather updates for the area. We opted to watch the TV, and once the storms had passed we went back to sleep. However, the front desk gave us no warnings or instructions, with tornadoes touching down in the area! We also had some problems with the tub -- the faucet was stuck in the shower position, so you couldn't run a bath or check the water temperature from the faucet -- the water went directly to the shower. The refrigerator had someone's leftovers in it, and when I told the front desk they apologized and gave me a free soda from their little store. When I asked how much extra the breakfast would be, the clerk gave us a free breakfast pass, which was very much appreciated. The breakfast on Sunday was extremely busy (Mother's Day, and graduation weekend for the University), so the food was not stocked well due to the large number of people. The make-your-own waffles were very good, and the food was pretty good, especially since it was complimentary! Monday's breakfast was much calmer, and the food was not so picked over and fresher. My husband said the fitness room was adequate, although the pool was unheated and rather chilly for swimming. We left a tip each day, which was appreciated by the maid. She even left us a thank-you note after the first night. It was nice to have a refrigerator to keep cold pop and some leftovers from a meal. The bed was comfortable, but not exceptional. It was nice to have the sink area separated from the toilet and shower area. Good sized closet with lots of hangers. Overall a decent place to stay, and the staff was OK, but not particularly warm. For our next visit to Huntsville, we'll probably try someplace else, even though we were able to stay here for less than $90 a night.

  • Liked — Good price for room, and we were given free breakfast coupons
  • Disliked — Front desk wasn't warm, and didn't notify us of tornado warning or what to do until we called them
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    59
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
36
17
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Well maintained, front desk was attentive, plenty of choices for restaurants within a short drive. For business travelers there is a Fedex-Kinkos across the street.

Breakfast was the standard buffet - average at best

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

I travel often and for less than $100 this is a great value. Clean large room with all the extras. Very good full breakfast. And the nicest staff around. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kimjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Enjoyed staying here just 1 night on business. Large indoor hot tub was enjoyed. Clean, new, modern rooms, comfortable bed. Great chocolate chip cookies provided late afternoon into evening at front desk! Try to get them warm! Did not eat breakfast there but could have for $9.95 per person. Nice looking pool too and gazebo area for relaxing but it was alittle chilly that day.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mespos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This hotel was very clean. It had nice rooms with the new Courtyard bedding. It was in a good location, right on University Drive close to good restaurants, shopping, space center, etc. However, upon check-in they asked for a $100 cash security deposit. There was no mention of this when I made the reservation. The hotel layout was sort of confusing, 2 wings and no way of distinguishing them. The front desk staff could have been a little more friendly. Overall though, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Very clean, updated rooms
  • Disliked — The $100 deposit that we were not informed of, some of the staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cklawguy826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2006

I've stayed at the Courtyard many times on travel over the years, and keep going back because I know I can count on it being clean, quiet, friendly and accommodating. Last night my tv wasn't working and they quickly whisked me down the hall to another room, gave me a goody bag for my trouble, and all with a concerned apology. Also, the staff in the restaurant is wonderful -- always friendly and smiling, eager to be of service and right there to fill the coffee pot. Breakfast buffet is good (great oatmeal) and even the coffee is strong enough to entice a Starbucks regular to have a second cup --

I'll be back -

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — noisy room heater, difficult to modulate
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 June 2006

This hotel is definitely geared toward the business traveler. and corporate travel expense accounts. It has a comfortable lobby with internet connections, plasma tv and 24 hour coffeepot. Very quiet and very convenient to all of H'ville/Madison. The rooms were very nice, granite counters, refrigerator, microwave. We found a few of the previous guests p-nuts on a chair, a happy meal toy in the corner, and some gunk on the bedside clock, but overall it was clean enough. Black-out curtains, quality mattresses and abundant down pillows made for a good night's sleep. The fold out sofa was amazingly just as comfortable. Courtyard, pool and hot-tub are very nice for relaxation/exercise. We were in town for a wedding and as a non-business traveler, without an expense account, I did expect a bit more solicitous service and a few more percs for our "tax, tag, and title" bill averaging $155/night. A no frills hot breakfast buffet was not included with our room but was available for an overpriced $9.95 extra charge. I was traveling with my 84 year old parents and there was no senior discount avaiable. For a major chain hotel, during a non-business weekend, this was disappointing. The staff was very polite and accomodating when asked for something. But, there again, for a quality name chain and an upper end room for this market, I didn't think we should have to ask for toilet paper, extra bath linens to accomodate the number of guests registered, or request more coffee packs each morning. Overall, our complaints were minor and our stay was very enjoyable. Huntsville is a business traveler's town, and I don't think we could have found any better accomodations anywhere else. We would certainly recommend the suites at the Courtyard Marriot.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.8 mi away
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Huntsville University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Huntsville University Drive

Property: Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
Address: 4804 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1808 (Formerly Courtyard Huntsville)
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Huntsville University Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Huntsville is conveniently located near championship golf courses, Huntsville's high-tech business center and the U.S. Space Camp. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Huntsville hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Huntsville University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Courtyard Huntsville
Huntsville Courtyard
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing