We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy but Isolated and No Free WIFI!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The rooms are quiet and comfy. I did not try the restaurant but I did use the workout facility and it is small but modern. The pool looked fun but it was cold while I was there so no pool time for me. This hotel is very close to the Rocket and Space Museum and also right off of the highway so it is a straight shot (about 15 minutes) to the airport. It isn't close to anything to eat though... The seafood place on the corner was under renovations while I was there and that was sort of within walking distance (a half a mile). The botanical gardens are about a mile away. My biggest gripe is that they charge for the internet. It was about $15 a day and there is this hokey around it so be careful. The charge is for 24 hours but IT IS NOT from the moment that you pay. So if you pay at 7am and their 24 hour cycle is from 12pm - 12pm the next day...you will only get to use it for 5 hours and then you have to pay again! You can stay at the Marriott Courtyard on University Drive and have all of the internet that you want for no charge and be closer to places to eat and things to do...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travel_Happy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location if you're visiting the Space and Rocket Center, only steps away. If you're visiting Huntsville for something else there are other hotels in the area that are nicer with nightly rates around the same as this hotel. The hotel has a restaraunt and lounge located in the hotel. A dinner for 2 in the onsite restaraunt would probably run you $50 and up. After looking over the menu we decided to get dinner elsewhere so I can't comment on the quality of the food. The room was nice and roomy with a comfortable bed. Our biggest complaints were that the room smelled musty and damp. The room was also hot, our room never reached a comfortable temperature. If you enjoy shopping and fine dinning make sure to visit the Bridge Street Towne Center during your visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penpen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

... very little reason to stay there otherwise, except for the RIDICULOUSLY comfortable beds and great outdoor pool! As already said in many previous reviews, the hotel looks dated (because it is). The rooms are ample but not exponentially more so than a Marriott Courtyard or Fairfield Inn. If you have a car and want to be close to everything else, then skip this property and save some $$. If you want remoteness or are staying here for an on-site event, then you'll enjoy the comfort and convenience of this Marriott. But at this property, you are paying 2X as much as the other Marriott properties. What I still can't get over and why I cannot give this property a higher rating is that for $200/night, there is no free Wi-Fi ! I understand that this property mainly caters to conventions and business groups who just charge such "extras" to expense accounts, but seriously? In this day and age - who doesn't offer free Wi-Fi? They "offered" it to me for 19.95/ day. Breakfast was another added expense. We had a car so we had no problem driving to the main drag for food, shopping, etc. and it was cool for the kids to see a rocket from the room window. We did not use Otters, the sports bar in the lobby.
The staff was very accommodating and professional. Did I mention the ridiculously comfortable beds?
Another slight annoyance was that housekeeping tried to come in to clean every morning starting at 8am, waking my 8 year old daughter who likes to sleep in. Are most people completely out of their rooms by 8 AM? Maybe I'm just in summer mode...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saints1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 days and loved it. Great location NEXT to Space Center - you could walk there! restaurant and bar were clean and nice. Lobby was adequate. Free parking on ground level is very convenient. Good value for this place

Room Tip: Called hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at the Marriott next to the space center complex as we dropped my daughter at Space Camp. On first impression, the hotel is dated, looking like it was built in the 70's. Don't hold the whole facility hostage because of that. It is actually quite nice.

Check in was quick and efficient; friendly front-desk staff. I couldn't find a luggage trolley, but waited for another guest to return one. After loading our luggage onto the cart we wheeled it in the lobby to find a bellhop was already on duty. I must have missed him initially. No problem though.

I was staying with my wife and two teenage girls. I requested two double beds and a rollaway. The room was smaller than what you would come to expect from hotel rooms built in the last 15 years, so it was quite tight quarters for the four of us. The front desk informed me that there was no roll-away bed - only an air mattress. I've never heard of such a thing. The bed was delivered while we were out to dinner. It truly was a blow-up air mattress - but not blown up. Thank goodness they gave us a pump. My oldest daughter volunteered to sleep on it but was awake by 6 am because the air mattress had deflated and she was basically laying on the ground. I've got the same type of mattress at home, so I know how to pump it up and seal it. This was kind of a big deal to me; thank goodness it was her and not me.

The room was appointed nicely. Nice bedding, clean and updated bathroom, efficient hot water, nice shower head, well lit. I didn't use it, but this Marriott had the new "multi-port" TV base where you can plug in any conceivable type of electronic device to display on the TV.

About 5 to 8 minutes from the hotel is the retail / dining area. You will find grocery stores, WalMart, Target and restaurants. The restaurants are your normal chain restaurants and there are plenty of them.

The pool in the hotel was the definite highlight. It is large, indoor/outdoor, very warm, nice chairs, abundant supply of towels.

We did not use Otters - the sports bar.
We had a buffet breakfast at Season's restaurant. Our meal was free because the concierge lounge was closed for the weekend. The breakfast buffet offered your typical fare - eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, cold cereals, juices and milk. A standard breakfast menu is also available for food orders. Our waitress was not particularly effusive, but she was efficient and kind.

We stayed at the hotel using Marriott Rewards, so I cannot address the value/merit of rates. I am Gold with Marriott Rewards and would have appreciated an upgrade, but I also recognize that when using Rewards, they don't often give room upgrades and the fact that I am no longer Platinum, I think I got what I expected. If we were staying for longer than one night, I may have asked for an upgraded room.

Overall, an average experience. I would have given 4 stars overall if the room had been bigger or a real roll-away bed had been offered.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ripwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here a quick 2-night business trip. Located directly beside the Space Center, and very close to the main highway, just a few miles from the airport. Overall, it was an average Marriott, with an obviously old building and facilities, average customer service and an average restaurant. What made up for this was the great room. I had a king-room, and it was outstanding, with high-quality Marriott decor and bed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizDevRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It's an Alright Hotel But not a Resort Hotel. I have stayed at nicer Resort Hotels for way less and received way more. My room was all prepaid 6 months in advance. When it was time to check out they tried to gig me for another $100 bucks. Good thing I had my smart phone and had all my receipts at hand. Boy that was mess. Food and Drinks are better off to get them somewhere else. Yet again the price and quality did not match. $4.00 can Beer $6.00 mix drinks in the Otter lounge. A Nice Holiday Inn at Resort Prices that about sums it up. I expected better of a Marriott.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptMike865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
482 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center

Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371 (Formerly Huntsville Marriott)
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: £72 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most desirable location! Situated on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center, the full-service Huntsville Marriott is the first choice for savvy travelers featuring plush beds, cotton-rich sheets and down-filled duvets to help guests receive a good night’s rest. Each room offers a coffee/tea maker and flat-panel LCD television. The Great Room is our gathering spot for colleagues and families to enjoy lunch or dinner. Other dining options include breakfast and dinner in Seasons Restaurant or In-Room Dining. Enjoy the indoor/seasonal outdoor heated pool, workout in our well-equipped fitness center or take a beautiful hike on the scenic trails just outside our door. Your stay will include free Wi-Fi in all common areas as well as 24 hour access to business services. The hotel is proud to be 100% non-smoking. For our guest’s convenience, parking and airport shuttle are both complimentary. The Huntsville Marriott is located off I-565/US 72 on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center. Cummings Research Park and the University of Alabama in Huntsville are one mile north of the hotel, and downtown Huntsville is four miles east. Huntsville International Airport is located nine miles southwest of the hotel. Other nearby attractions include the 112-acre Botanical Garden, Von Braun Center, EarlyWorks Museums, Huntsville Museum of Art and the renowned Bridge Street Towne Centre Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing