We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility=Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our room keys weren't working so hot so a quick visit to the hotel lobby resulted in our card reader room door being fixed quickly by a technician. Once in , we noticed the spaciousness of the room (which had been pleasingly updated since we had been there years ago). We thoroughly luxuriated in the wonderful bed linens and comfy King size bed...we will have to order the big pillows for our bed at home! Loved the lamps in the rooms which left the room well lit for us to read. Wi-fi is in the lobby but coming to the rooms slowly. The staff was very friendly and helpful in assisting us with dinner plans Everything was spit spot perfect during our stay, after the brief hiccup we had in the beginning. Will look forward to coming back here in the future..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel lobby is great and the staff is very friendly!! Those are the good points. The rooms are old and out dated, including a thermostat that must be set 4 degrees lower or higher than your actual desired temperature. The old plastic shower curtains are not light transparent and make it difficult if you like to see what you are doing in the shower. If you are a Gold or Platinum status member do not expect to be put on the concierge floor, instead be prepared to be put on the normal noisy floors. The concierge area is very small and inadequate for the guest size. IN the morings there is a wait line to sit and eat. The parking lot is dark and has inadequate lighting. There is NO WiFi in the rooms. Instead you are provided a 2 foot conection cord. The beds are foam only with no support at all. For a business traveler who is a Platanium Elite memeber I was very disappointed. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QCcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nice, fairly typical mid-range Marriott. Decent rooms, clean and a friendly helpful staff. A little updating would be welcome but all in all a nice property. Good location off the freeway but far enough back and in a setting which makes you feel somewhat secluded. Very convenient access to Redstone and the Space Center. Great view of the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stay at this property several times a year and have watched it ebb and flow over the years. The rooms were renovated about a year ago but don't begin to compare to the swanky new Westin down the street. The bathrooms are tired and small and weren't very clean on our last visit. The card key readers on the old elevators conk out intermittently and the new gym features no windows and 3 out of 5 treadmills were not in working order. Breakfast buffet was delicious.

Overall at this price point, the Westin is much nicer and better located.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyandethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I had to travel to Redstone Arsenal for an overnight trip and this was the closest 3/4-star hotel by the Post. Easy access from the airport, very straight forward. After the business was done (a half-hour meeting with an US Army customer), I had the rest of the day off and explored Huntsville. Went to the nearby shopping mall (I forgot the name), had a great meal at the steakhouse and had a quiet evening in the hotel. I swam in the outdoor pool the next morning (clean) and went to the rocket museum next door for some R&R.

The room was exactly what you expected in a contemporary Marriott; usual decor, comfortable bed and clean equipment. Although the hotel is a bit old (the elevators were dead giveaways), the rooms and common areas are more or less up-to-date.

A mixture of hotel guests at this hotel; families travelling on road trips, the odd convention/conference attendee, the odd business traveller, and yes, even two soccer teams en route to a tournament somewhere, which I can't remember.

Overall, a very good hotel for business at the Army Post, not so great for visiting downtown Huntsville. The restaurant is OK for breakfast and lunch; the dinner menu wasn't enticing at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Marriott Huntsville sits adjacent to the U.S. Space and Rocket Center. My grandmother lives in a retirement community in Huntsville, and when we aren't visiting her, we can walk next door and visit the Space Center, or swim in the heated indoor/outdoor pool. No need to drive anywhere. But, if we do want to drive somewhere, downtown is 10 minutes away via I-565 and the Huntsville Botanical Gardens are less than 2 miles away. The hotel is at Exit 15 off I-565, an easy drive from Huntsville International Airport (Exit 8 off I-565). The hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle, but you must put your name on the list to ensure there is space for you at your desired departure time.There is also a business center (almost hidden at the back of the lobby near the TV) where you can go online to check e-mail or print your boarding pass. The restaurant has a good breakfast buffet, but you must order/request your omlette or belgian waffle (included in the price) from the wait staff. Cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, muffins, toast, yogurt, bagels are all out and available. There is also a sports bar, open 4:30 pm-12:30 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room overlooking the Space Center (west facing rooms). The other side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airzoojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Was only here for 1 night but everything went well. Pleasant check-in and check-out, nice clean room, appreared to have been recently updated. Loved the view of the Rockets from our room!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccermom064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#17 of 53 in Huntsville
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#30 of 53 in Huntsville
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center

Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371 (Formerly Huntsville Marriott)
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: £82 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most desirable location! Situated on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center, the full-service Huntsville Marriott is the first choice for savvy travelers featuring plush beds, cotton-rich sheets and down-filled duvets to help guests receive a good night’s rest. Each room offers a coffee/tea maker and flat-panel LCD television. The Great Room is our gathering spot for colleagues and families to enjoy lunch or dinner. Other dining options include breakfast and dinner in Seasons Restaurant or In-Room Dining. Enjoy the indoor/seasonal outdoor heated pool, workout in our well-equipped fitness center or take a beautiful hike on the scenic trails just outside our door. Your stay will include free Wi-Fi in all common areas as well as 24 hour access to business services. The hotel is proud to be 100% non-smoking. For our guest’s convenience, parking and airport shuttle are both complimentary. The Huntsville Marriott is located off I-565/US 72 on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center. Cummings Research Park and the University of Alabama in Huntsville are one mile north of the hotel, and downtown Huntsville is four miles east. Huntsville International Airport is located nine miles southwest of the hotel. Other nearby attractions include the 112-acre Botanical Garden, Von Braun Center, EarlyWorks Museums, Huntsville Museum of Art and the renowned Bridge Street Towne Centre Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing