We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open space inside a small city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Marriott Huntsville is set in an open green area just south of I-565 near Huntsville's Research Park. Butting up to the Redstone Arsenal, the beautiful tree-covered hillside is likely to remain green. The space and rocket center makes a very interesting view. It's also a very convenient location for visits to Huntsville, although traffic is light enough in the city that you can get wherever you need without much difficulty.

The rooms are a very nice size, laid out so that they get great light from outside. The greenery brings in a variety of birds, so the chirping outside is a pleasant background sound. Like all Marriotts, the beds are extremely comfortable. The furniture is set up with a comfortable office chair so that you can use your computer ergonomically.

There are many positives to the hotel, but I will lay out a couple of negatives. With three elevators, there can be a long wait for an elevator when everyone is checking out together. The wait isn't so long that I'd have to mark the hotel rating down for this, however. I do enjoy the view from the top (seventh) floor. The shower and toilet are in a spearated room from the sink, which is the right way to arrange it, but there aren't any towel racks inside the shower/toilet room so you need to leave your towel outside when you shower.

I'd definitely stay here again. This is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in the Huntsville area. While it is more expensive than the Hampton Inn or the Madison motels, it isn't much more expensive, still within reasonable limits. I find that I enjoy my visit more when staying at a hotel I aprpeciate.

Room Tip: There are a lot of good choices, but I like the top floor, looking at the space and rocket center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StLEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We lvedvthis friendly hotel. Staff were great. Free bus to do city circle. Close to US Space and Rocket Centre. Great pool, restaurant and snacks in Bistro. Fantastic quiet room on Rocket side and view of rockets at night. Loved it and going back next year!

Room Tip: Away from lifts, rocket centre side and NOT adjoining door, bit noisy if tv on late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at the Marriott in the month of October 2011. The hotel was very nice , clean , and quite. I really enjoyed my stay. I stayed there 4 days on a conference meeting. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, other than , I plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My grand daughter and I had a most wonderful time playing in the pool along with other grand parents and their grandchildren. The pool was warm and the hot tub was wonderful. Also, the shower had a new rain type shower head which was really neat. The breakfast buffet was very good with perfectly prepared bacon and excellent link sausage. The fruits were all fresh and very good. They even gave us a discount coupon for the Space Center next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbond44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

If your planning a trip to the space center, this hotel has a great "stay and play" special. For each night you stay, you get two free passes to the space center and breakfast. We took our 3 yo and 4 yo and since both were free at the space center, we all got in for free and the increased cost of the room for this special was less than the cost to get into the space center. It was a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcoolman1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here just one night for business. The hotel was very clean and staff was fantastic. There are 3 restaurants of varying levels, but in the bar (Otter's) you can order off any of the 3 menus. The rooms were very nice and beds great. I had a king on the concierge level, and although closed, the room was very nice. My only gripe is the doors slam if someone does not hold it while exiting. Maybe something to make them slowly close???

Right next to Space Center and has an indoor/outdoor pool that looked inviting! Location is easy, right off I-565. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great rooms with view of US Space and Rocket Centre. Friendly staff and fantastic meals in restaurant and bat areas. Very reasonable prices for food and beverages. I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing any trouble, everything so easy. Information on bus that does loop of city. Found easy to get taxi to shop at local Walmarts and Mall. We stayed a week and met alot of US service people that stay here also. Internet free,computer a little old- that was only thing I can think of as a negative! great if you are visiting US Space and Rocket Centre museum. Nice quiet,relaxing part of country after LA.

Stayed: July 2011
Thank Louise Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
482 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center

Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371 (Formerly Huntsville Marriott)
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most desirable location! Situated on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center, the full-service Huntsville Marriott is the first choice for savvy travelers featuring plush beds, cotton-rich sheets and down-filled duvets to help guests receive a good night’s rest. Each room offers a coffee/tea maker and flat-panel LCD television. The Great Room is our gathering spot for colleagues and families to enjoy lunch or dinner. Other dining options include breakfast and dinner in Seasons Restaurant or In-Room Dining. Enjoy the indoor/seasonal outdoor heated pool, workout in our well-equipped fitness center or take a beautiful hike on the scenic trails just outside our door. Your stay will include free Wi-Fi in all common areas as well as 24 hour access to business services. The hotel is proud to be 100% non-smoking. For our guest’s convenience, parking and airport shuttle are both complimentary. The Huntsville Marriott is located off I-565/US 72 on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center. Cummings Research Park and the University of Alabama in Huntsville are one mile north of the hotel, and downtown Huntsville is four miles east. Huntsville International Airport is located nine miles southwest of the hotel. Other nearby attractions include the 112-acre Botanical Garden, Von Braun Center, EarlyWorks Museums, Huntsville Museum of Art and the renowned Bridge Street Towne Centre Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing