We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Although this is a nice property, it's not convenient to much. There is no restaurant within walking distance, so you have to rely on delivery or driving somewhere. The staff was helpful, the facility was clean, as was the room. The breakfast fare was typical Haqmpton freebies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleektours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have to say that there's really nothing wrong with this place. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. It was quiet while we were there. The breakfast was adequate and reflected some of the local flavor - biscuits and gravy for breakfast, y'all. It was just a motel in the middle of an unending strip mall. Unfortunately, it wasn't clear there was a better option in Huntsville. It's a town dominated by the aerospace industry and the military arsenal. It's very green and pretty though. Two days was definitely enough time to spend there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in the oldest of several Hampton Inns in the area, particularly since it was near places we wanted to go. The only way I knew its age was that the rooms all opened to the outside - no indoor corridors. However, that was not a problem. The rooms were beautifully updated and furnished. I loved the Plantation shutters on the windows. Our room had a king bed and a pull out sofa bed. It was almost like being at home to sit on the sofa and watch tv. We had snacks in the fridge and the microwave was handy if we wanted to pop some corn. The beds and coverings were super. Loved the breakfast. Hot food every morning as well as the waffles, cereal and fresh fruit. My favorite was the oatmeal. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Huntsville.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jhhnurse65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I was told this was a 31/2 start hotel. The eggs they served for breakfast were edible but gross. The people were nice but my room was just a room amenities (fridge, microwave and TV) and a bathroom. My friend came to visit and I asked to be moved to a double occupancy room for the remainder of my stay. I was almost charged for 2 rooms and I had to change rooms 2 times. The worst thing was Fox news in the morning while breakfast was being served. Nothing worst than listening to as fake news station release propaganda while I am trying to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I hadn't stayed at a Hampton Inn for more than a day or two since the Spring of 2008. I took a chance and I had a "WICKED AWESOME" stay. I will use Hampton Inn more and more now. The breakfast hostesses knew exactly what I liked for breakfast and made sure I had it when I stumbled in through the doors every morning after 11 hrs at work all night. I had an interior door to my room and a jacuzzi tub, which made my stay the best besides my home.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the new section, which are interior doors. Eat at Wintzells if possible, they suppl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. My wife and I were in town to attend a Russian Food Festival, and to help raise some money for a Russian Chapel. The festival was on the university campus, and this hotel is only 1 mile from the university. The close proximity was a huge plus. The room we had was a King room and it was very clean. There was complimentary shampoo and conditioner in the room, in case you had forgotten yours. The hotel had free in room WIFI. The only thing keeping me from giving the property a rating of excellent is the breakfast. It was ok, but it could have been better. It did have a hot meat on the buffet, but I have had better meals at other hotels. Stay here if you are looking for a nice hotel near the university.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are outside rooms. This makes a difference to some people. Enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpectrumEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I would have given 5 stars except for the fact that this hotel is older and has the exterior entrances to all the rooms. This means you have to go outside and walk around to get to the lobby, which is a little inconvenient (especially in the unseasonable cold weather Huntsville was having when I was there). But otherwise, this was a good property. Room was large, very clean, and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi in the room (always a plus!!); very good hot breakfast (complimentary); and pleasant, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. Good value for the money!

Room Tip: Since you have to walk outside to get to the lobby, try for a room nearer the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#17 of 53 in Huntsville
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#19 of 53 in Huntsville
121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntsville
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £60 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing