We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Noisey Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, clean hotel located on top of a very steep hill. Check in was very smooth and room was very nice. The warm breakfast was very good. The only negative I can say about this hotel is that it seemed we heard every person in the hotel taking their shower. Our room was located on the second floor near the elevator so we also heard every time the elevator was activated. I'm sure rooms away from the elevator did not experience this. Overall I would recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeneyedlady125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you Greeneyedlady125 for taking the time to review our property.... feedback is key! It is because of guest like yourself taking the time that we are made aware of where we need to make changes.
Our team was glad to hear that you were happy with our accommodations and hope that this means that next time you area you will consider us your home-away-from home. We are always strive to meet our guest expectations and take every opportunity to make the necessary changes that are required to make our hotel the best stay in your book. Again we sincerely appreciate your comments and open our arms to welcome you to your Irondale Home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

This place was very clean. Friendly staff. It hidden away a little but right off interstate but was quiet. Plenty of parking. Room where big but no fridge or microwave in room. Very good price can't beat it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjefcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is because of guest such as yourself that we know of our opportunities and also what we are doing right. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels. This is definitely the nicest. It was spotless with nice amenities. The young lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give 5 Stars is that the breakfast wasn't very good. To be fair, it was almost time for breakfast to end. Maybe they had a better selection earlier.

I've stayed at another Holiday Inn near the Birmingham airport, but this one is much nicer and in a better neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are elated that you had a great stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that we exceed your expections and we are happy that we succeed with your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back for many more visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Of all the Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed at, this one was the cleanest and had the best service. I recommend this hotel to anyone in the area or traveling. I searched before selecting this hotel and the reviews and comments from others helped me determine my selection. It's not very close to places to eat, but if you drive 2 miles from the hotel, there's an Olive Garden along with all the fast food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you..we are excited to have met your expectations. It is our daily goal to ensure that all our guest are stasfied with our service and it makes us very happy when we succeed. I will share your comments with our staff and continue improving our areas of opportunities. Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, it is guest like yourself that helps us with our continuous improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed here this past weekend for the SWAC championship football game and overall the hotel was OK expected more from a holiday inn express. The problem came around 10:00pm when a stranger called my room pretending to be from the hotel staff asking for personal and credit card information claiming that the computers had a malfunction and that the hotel needed my information again, i became cautious and refused. After talking to the lady at the front desk he had called other rooms as well from an outside line. For inconvience the hotel took 15% off my room fee, and also housekeeping doesnt knock before entering they automatically use their key card and enter the room. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truckstick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We were very surprise to read your comments. While we had heard of situations like your at other hotels, never had we exprienment this at our hotel. But fear not dear guest we have taken the proper steps to put a stop to such calls. Our night audit department has being re-trained on transfering calls. We are 100% confident that this will not happen again. Thank you for your feed back and rest assure that we are addressing this issue as a serious matter. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our dog while we visited family in North Birmingham. The first room we were given was absolutely huge. It was clean and the decor was nice. I really liked it. I noticed a ladybug crawling across the wall but that didn't bother me since I've always heard that's good luck. However, after noticing the one ladybug I noticed about 2 dozen more crawling around the top of the walls and ceiling. That may have been a lot of good luck but I didn't really want to sleep in a room with that many bugs. After telling the front desk, we were immediately moved to a different room. The new room was just as nice only smaller without the ladybugs. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. The bed was comfortable. They had really good coffee in the lobby for breakfast. There was even a choice of half and half, skim milk, or the little things of liquid creamer for the coffee. Food wise they offered biscuits, Canadian bacon, scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, muffins, waffles and english muffins. If we ever stay in a hotel in Birmingham again we will choose this one. And most likely, I will always look into staying at Holiday Inn Express whenever we stay in a hotel now.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnsAreHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback....Yes...we do have some lady bugs in our hotel...however, in Birmngham they are grown for agricultural purposes so you will find them in most hotels, homes, offices, etc. We make every effort to assure that all rooms are clean and lady bug free, however, the little suckers sometimes come in after we inspected the rooms. But fear not, lady bugs are GOOD LUCK!! seriously...it is against birmngham code to kill Lady Bugs and who would want to kill GOOD Luck..right....but again thanks for your feedback and we will make sure to be more diligent. Also, we are happy to have met your expectations...see you next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and the staff is one of the friendliest I have ever meet. They are very nice and professional. I loved just talking with them and they had everything in order and had my priority gift ready when I arrived. I do not know all of the names but Lacresha was so friendly and outgoing. She is great. The room is standard HI express. It was clean and everything worked and I did not have any problems. The morning breakfast was ok and they ever have a guest Hospitality night on Wednesdays. Good deal there. All in all a great stay and the entire staff made the trip very pleasant. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rey9006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We love our guest and strive to provide the best service possible. We will continue improving everyday and hope to succeed with everybody. Thank you and we hope to see you back at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 80 in Birmingham
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Rd, Irondale, AL 35210-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing