We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someday, but not now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This may be a good choice someday, but it isn't now. Renovations going on and certainly needed. In fact, IHG should change the name to Holiday Inn Depress. Really dirty carpet in room. Bathtub had been painted in places that it was scarred. Sink wouldn't hold water. Plug in wall would not hold charging plug for phone unless you were very careful. Mattress old enough that you sink into it. Breakfast area, moved because of construction, was really hot. Bananas on breakfast buffet should have been thrown out two days earlier. Plenty of other good hotels in the area. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff here is terrific.

The renovations here are for the breakfast / coffee area. They are temporarily using the meeting room as the breakfast area. Our room is quite clean and we appreciate the king-sized bed.

The one big drawback is that there is no refrigerator, microwave, crock pot and anything to cook with. Going to the grocery store would prove to be foolish.

The hotel is now a "smoke free" facility. However, we can still smell the old stale cigarette smoke in the carpet and walls. The rooms smell better than the hallways.

The "business center" is very small. I think it was a closet previously. Bring something to sit on. The chair in there is low to the floor and the laptop computer is up on the counter top. The computer works real well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here before and enjoying the experience, I booked here again. When I arrived I noticed the improvement work being done and was met by one of the friendliest staffs I have dealt with....then I got to my room. The clock worked intermittently, the shower backed up quite a bit, and the ice machine on my floor was out of order....none of which are things I enjoy while traveling. My hope is that when the improvements are done the staff can focus on these little things.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank El_Dredge70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We normally stay at the Hampton Inn when we go to Birmingham, but the poor service and poor cleanliness of the Hampton had really started to bother us. We decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express to try something else.
Just so you know their location is a little odd. It is way up on a hill and you kinda need to see if to know where it is. Look above the hill be hind the McD's and you'll see it, then turn at that light and then you'll figure out how to get to it. The driveway is super steep and curvy. Do not try this with bald tires or in snow weather. We got there really late for our check in but Appiphany was really nice and efficient. Until we checked out, she was the only person that we saw at the front desk.
We got a king non-smoking, but evidently the 4th floor rooms are mixed smoking and non-smoking. The smoke smell when you get off the elevator is nearly overwhelming. I hope during the renovations they decide to make the hotel all non-smoking or make the 4th floor all smoking rooms. Our room didn't small like smoke or we would have asked to be moved. Our room was very clean. I mean, no stray hairs, the headboard had been cleaned, no spots of anything on the walls or carpet. I was really happy about that. The bathroom door needed a wipe down, but really that's my only complaint about cleanliness. The housekeeping staff does a beautiful job. Otherwise the hotel is showing signs of age, but with ongoing renovations hopefully everything will be remedied soon enough. Also, the signs of wear are nothing compared to other places I've seen that have to reno in sight. The breakfast was ok. It can fill you up for the day. There are eggs everyday with other hot options and plenty of bagels and waffles. The pancake machine was working while we were there and what a novelty to behold.
The beds were ok, they were pretty firm and the pillows were small as others have reported. But I was fine. There were plenty of pillows and they were comfortable. And the sheets were really soft. Our AC unit worked really well and was easy to adjust from heat to cool and to manage the temp to easy too. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Before the end of renovations, if you are a non-smoker, ask for a room on floors 1-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I am very sorry we fell below your expectations this particular day concerning the smoking floors. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Am here for 2 nights. AC unit leaked all night and carpet soaked. Returned this pm late and there had been no room service. For $99 per night, they should do a better job. The young woman at the desk was verY nice when I reported the problems, apologizes but there was nothing she could do. She offered to come make up the room which I declined.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank burtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for providing us with feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel. Comments and suggestions from our guests enable us to continually improve and are vitally important in helping us achieve our Mission to be the first choice of travelers like yourself. Once again, the time taken along with the effort made to share your observations with us is most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were given a room on the fourth floor - there was definitely the smell of cigarette smoke and the toilet leaked. One call to the front desk and an extremely courteous and helpful hotel employee immediately offered us another room on a different floor. The hotel and room was perfectly clean and I really enjoyed my stay. I attended a seminar that was held inside the hotel and the seminar was handled professionally as well. Highly recommended. I will stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We chose the first floor - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We are happy to read any complaint you had was taken care for quickly and are happy you had a good stay. Thank you for such a nice review and for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two kids. Our 10yr old was in a golf tournament in Birmingham and this Hotel just happened to be the closest to the golf course. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel was not crowded at all. We enjoyed our stay !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and hope everything went well at the golf tournament. Thank you for such a nice review and we hope we will be able to host you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#54 of 80 in Birmingham
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Airport
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Rd, Irondale, AL 35210-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing