We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with no other options”
Review of The Rutledge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rutledge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Luverne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel has no competition so there is no reason for them "to step it up" - at least in their opinion. Not to mention the "offshore" resident covered in tats and asking people for money at the front door. Continental breakfast was stale. Don't stay here again unless absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmyC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

This property is a good place to stay if you find yourself in Luverne or Rutledge Alabama! Clean rooms and lobby, usual sweet rolls and cereal for breakfast, and friendly staff make this a real value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

GuestHouse Inn is south of Montgomery, AL. located in the country. Nice clean hotel and big rooms. All the rooms have a small refrigerator and some have microwaves. The breakfast consist of the normal cereal, muffins and waffles, nothing special. We were in town for a relative's wedding. They got married at the Old House at Meriwether. That is the only reason we stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcgatormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I found this to be a great place for our trip, it came recommended by a friend and the rooms were very clean and the staff was wonderful, not expected to find this quality of lodging in such a small town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Here's the deal - between Montgomery AL and the Emerald Coast there aren't many places to stay. We live in Nashville, and leaving to go to Panama City Beach after work on Friday means that it's good to find a place to split the travel up. It's a 5 hour drive to Luverne, AL - perfect.

The GuestHouse is not a fancy hotel. But for $65 total for a two-queen-bed room we got a good deal. It was clean, the room wasn't cramped at all, the amenities were fine, they fed us breakfast. The breakfast was sparse, by the way, just continental. Oh well.

Let's face it - nobody is coming here to see beautiful Luverne, Alabama. This is a bed on the way to Florida. And for that it served the purpose well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, with waffles, cereal, pastries, and oatmeal. One yogurt and an apple available. Room appeared clean, with no mystery smells. Beds slept very well. Compared to the $129 rate up the road, a $60-something stay here was exactly what we wanted! Our only concern was the "company" that hung out in the lobby and parking lot. Can't complain about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The GuestHouse Inn is one of the cleanest, nicest Inns in all of South Alabama. The owners are supernice people who will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure. I always make it a point to stay at this location any time I travel to Luverne.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luverne
18.3 mi away
Best Western Troy Inn
22.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Greenville
48 reviews
20.0 mi away
Courtyard Troy
Courtyard Troy
#3 of 9 in Troy
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutledge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutledge Inn

Address: 1701 Montgomery Hwy, Luverne, AL 36049-4509 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rutledge)
Region: United States > Alabama > Luverne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Luverne
Price Range: £48 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Rutledge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rutledge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing