We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as most Country Inn & Suites” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as most Country Inn & Suites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the desk attendant was just leaving with a van full of pilots to drop off at the airport, which we didn't know for about 10 minutes while we waited at the front desk for service. Finally, someone told us that guy in the van was the attendant and had gone to the airport. We then left to go pick up a sandwich for supper. When we returned he was back and apologized for being gone but said that is normal procedure and they often have to leave the hotel unattended to shuttle back and forth from the airport. Although this is a good way to gain pilot business, I don't think it helps to maintain the business of other travelers and this hotel should hire someone else to drive the shuttle. He gave us a free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite, which was nice. Although we didn't use the heated indoor pool or the hot tub, we heard other guests complaining that the pool heater wasn't working and neither was the hot tub. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was typical of any Country Inns free breakfast buffet.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mobilesteelerectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoyed your free upgrade and I am glad that you noticed room was clean with a comfortable bed. We apologize that you had wait for check-in. I was disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Your experience falls way below our standards. We will review the Front Desk procedures and make necessary changes so that it won't happen again and go above and beyond your expectations!.

We want to assure you that these are not the standards we pride ourselves upon at Country Inn & Suites. Our goal is make every guest feel welcomed and feel at home away from home.

Thank you for your business and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    51
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
21
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

While this hotel is newer, it is beginning to show signs of bein run-down. It looks as if they don't maintian the original furnishings.

Only one employee works in the evenings, so there is no one to pick you up or drop you off at the airport. Plan on taking a cab or renting a car.

The refrigerators don't work. No one in my entire group had a working refrigerator, even though we all had one in our rooms. I had some dirty towels.

The breakfast is very substandard. They had plain yogurt in a canister with cheese and salsa, appearing to be sour cream. However, when we brought it to the attention of the night manager/breakfast attendant/front desk attendant we were told they do that intentionally. It was quite a surprise for those who put it on their eggs!

The walls are very thin and there is quite a bit of ambient noise. There are very few food options within walking distance and the hotel will not provide any transportation to restaurants (see above issue on staffing).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Contrail_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear 888_Andromeda_888
Richmond, Virginia

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the disappointments you experienced regarding the poor service and poor breakfast quality. We want to assure you that these are not the standards we pride ourselves upon at Country Inn & Suites. We pride ourselves on different amenities and services we offer and our goal is make every guest feel welcomed and feel at home away from home.

Your experience falls way below our standards. Please reach out to me personally @ cx_maal@countryinns.com with your confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what fell through in our services and ensure it won't happen again. Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was stranded in Huntsville due to a winter storm and needed a place to stay. The night manager was awesome - she picked me up from the airport at 11:30 pm and put together a "care package" with toiletries as I had not been planning on being away from home and had not brought anything with me. The hotel shuttle took me to a store the next morning so I could purchase a change of clothing, then took me to a restaurant for lunch. In addition to the hotel staff being kind and accommodating, the hotel itself was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the Huntsville area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ks4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Ks4man
Des Moines, Iowa

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites, Madison, AL, I thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. As always our staff strives to make every guest feel welcome and make them feel at home away from home. I will be sure to share your kind comments with all my staff.

Thank you for your business. Please come again whenever you are in Madison/Hunstville.

Regards,

Kiran Patel
General Manager
(256) 325 -0007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta GA
Level Contributor
624 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

hotel is newer - shows no signs of wear. rooms were nice sized and the suites were very nice-for not much more money.
strong wifi signal.
hot tub was broken but the heated pool was a nice temperature - unlike many other indoor pools that are kept too cool.
breakfast - usual stuff - cereal, pastries, yogurt etx.. hot food included waffle maker, hot oatmeal, and a warming pan with three choices. eggs, a bread, and a meat. they had a hard time keeping everything full and stocked while we were there, even though it did not look particularly crowded - but at least they were hustling around trying- as opposed to a single attendant lazily wandering around like i have seen at other properties.
front desk staff always friendly.
cookies at the desk always a fun benefit of this chain.

local area is nothing to write home about but there are food choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Newer hotel. Very good service. Breakfast was typical offerings, but good. Better than most similar hotels.

Only problem was with pool and hot tub. Pool was chilly. Hot tub was broken, temperature was same as pool. They said it been broke for a few weeks and they are waiting on a part.

Other than that this is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbaker75v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear nbaker75v
Springboro, Ohio

I appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. Our staff strives to make every guest feel welcome and we really appreciate your recognition of our friendliness and service. Though I was disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience you were caused. We are working hard to resolve the pool issue, though it is taking more than expected time and expect to get it resolved very soon.

I would love to welcome you back again soon and to provide you with the perfect stay we strive to create.

Regards,
Kiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a wonderful hotel!! Our room was very clean with all the all the amenities. Refrig, microwave, coffeemaker. Great selection at breakfast. Wi-Fi was good. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and curteous especially the front desk(Rebecca?) Will definitely stay here our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Sabastian, D
Hamden.

We, thank you for your comments concerning your family visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We always try do our best to provide our guest with great service and clean comfortable accommodations Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites, Madison, AL and we look forward to you coming again.

Regards,

Kiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a awesome expierence at this hotel. The hotel rooms are very clean and well kept, the hotel is the same. Great hot breakfast every morning. The staff are very courtious and professional. We were going to stay just 2 nights but I was so comfortable and the atmosphere was so pleasant we stayed a additional night. The price is competitive to other hotels in the area and there are restaurants close by. If you order take out be sure to as the front desk for recommendations. We had some awesome Italian take out. If there was a higher rating they would get it!

Room Tip: If you don't like a little bit of noise from people with small children and pets make sure to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Donnashoose,
Royston, GA

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience as guest at Country Inn & Suites. We are pleased that our team was so professional and accommodating during your stay with your family. We ensure that each guest receives the A level service we are accustomed to providing to our guests. We look forward to having you back as our guest and providing you, again, with an amazing experience during your next trip to Madison/Huntsville, AL.

Thank you.

Regards,
Kiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Madison-Huntsville Hotel
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Madison
#1 of 13 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntsville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport Madison
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Huntsville Airport/Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Address: 101 Westchester Dr, Madison, AL 35758-7100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing