We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a coupon”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chapala Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 185 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Lunch with a coupon”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stumbled across this place while out enjoying a sunny Saturday. It was 1 pm and we were not the only ones stopping in for a late lunch. (Wife just instructed me to say she liked the salsa, very fresh, not canned.) My family of 4 ate plenty and had leftovers too for about $33 which became $25 with the coupon. I'm pretty picky about my Mexican food but this place did all right. I have to rate it among the top 5 Mexican joints in the greater Huntsville area. I'll certainly return, and not just because I have another coupon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Salsa and Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant in town. The salsa is without a doubt the best I have ever had. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aubyrnefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, Best Salsa in Madison”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Chimichanga is just okay. Steak and rice is the family's go to dish for Chapala. But they have hands down the best salsa in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ol3and3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good top shelf margarita”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Went in alone for early dinner. I had the enchiladas with cheese and onions plus a Jose margarita. Impressed with the food, drink, service, and cleanliness. I will go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Thekeithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent Salsa, Otherwise Average”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The best salsa we've had in recent memory, very good service, otherwise the meals were just average. I had a combo plate with a beef taco, two enchiladas and a tamale, she had a grilled pork taco platter. Mine was ok but nothing outstanding, hers had a good degree of fat in the meat. With a coffee and an iced tea, the meal was $22.01 with tax, not including tip-pretty much average for the area. Exterior and interior are pretty plain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapala Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapala Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing