We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is THE place for NY Style Pizza in Huntsville”
Review of Famous Joe's Pizzeria - CLOSED

Famous Joe's Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is THE place for NY Style Pizza in Huntsville”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The pizza is great NY style pizza. The owner is super friendly.

The pizza lunch specials are a great value. Huge slice and a drink for a great price.

I have heard poor reviews about the food, but those were for menu items other than the pizza. Stick to the pizza and you can't go wrong. There is one exception to the pizza rule; the zeppoles are also great for dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBBuzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We love this place. The owner is very friendly and concerned that everything is perfect for the guests. Though you can order a number of Italian dishes, his specialty, of course is pizza. The specialty pizzas are all outstanding. Our favorite is the Jacob.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarvinB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As close to New Jersey tomato pie as you get!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Dining at famous Joe's is an experience. This New York native not only brings award winning pizza to the city of Madison, but is a phenomenal pizza tosser. I am from the north, and grew up with best pizza Philadelphia and New Jersey and supply ... So I am a pizza snob of sorts… this is the only place in the area that I buy pizza. Nobody beats Joe's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BamaNittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza. Mediocre service.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The pizza here is delicious. The service has been mediocre at best every time we've been here. None of the staff seems to know what is going on which is sad because the pizza really is good. The owner is usually there so it is strange to me that the service is so poor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hippychick925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
203 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I am blown away at some of these bad reviews. This place is awesome. The service is great and food is amazing. I eat at this place avg once a month. My favorite is to get the green beans starter, salad with the goat cheese(can not remember name on menu, lol) and the joes margarita pizza. They also have a great lunch specials during the week. So the yoyo saying publics frozen pizza is better is an idiot. This is a no lose place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Joe's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing