We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magnolia Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We selected the Magnolia Springs B&B for a 2 night stop off on our drive from Florida to New Orleans hoping for somewhere small and personal, offering us a real insight into the area and some true Southern charm. We weren't disappointed.

Upon arrival and meeting the proprietor David, we were welcomed with open arms and given the opportunity of having a tour of the house. It has been renovated sympathetically, and is clearly well loved, with cosy common areas and our bedroom was very comfortable. Lots of attention to detail has been paid to the amenities; there's a fully stocked fridge, plenty to read in the den, freshly baked cookies, and delicious home cooked breakfasts.

There's a superb restaurant called Jesse's that's only 2 minutes walk away down a pretty oak lined avenue, and plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. We got excellent suggestions for our excursions from David and despite some bad weather whilst we were there, we weren't at a loss for anything to do.

In short, the Magnolia Springs B&B is a beautiful house for a comfortable stay, and the welcome and hospitality extended from David and Eric is second to none. We had a great time, and we glad we were there at the right time to see the all singing, all dancing Christmas Tree!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2008

Wanting to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and surprise me with a short trip, my husband reserved the Cowan Room at the Magnolia Inn Bed & Breakfast. As we entered the quaint town of Magnolia Springs, the serenity and peace surrounding the bed and breakfast soothed our jangled nerves and brought a relaxed and rejuvenating calm from our hectic work week. David and Eric not only provided a unique weekend getaway for us, but also supplied a recommendation for dining at the nearby restaurant, Jesse's. Being acquainted with the past history of Magnolia Springs, and having visited there quite often in our younger years, it was a nostalgic and sweet weekend celebration. David also provided us with a bottle of champagne to toast our marriage of 30 years. His breakfast cuisine the next morning was exquisite, and I am anxious to attempt his delicious receipe of Baked French Toast. Thanks guys for a wonderful anniversary weekend. We will definitely recommend your historic B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Educatorreferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, out of the way place to recharge after a busy fall. We found Magnolia Springs Bed and Breakfast linked to a Frommers travel newsletter and it caught our interest. The beautiful pictures of the house and town on the website could not fully capture the beauty of the area. Our stay lived up and exceeded our expecations in every way. David, one of the owners, consistently went out of his way to accommodate our every wish and need. We quickly felt a part of the family of Magnolia Springs. A savory three course gourmet breakfast was prepared to order each morning and "treats" left for us each night. The house was comfortable, charming, well appointed and had everything we needed.

We were pleasantly surprised by the proximity to everyting we were interested in: quiet beaches, beautiful bays, shopping, great eating, historical sites, rural southern farmland, and a number of surprises you too may find. If you like the slow pace of the south, like to explore and want to "get away" without being too far away...this is a great place to do it. It has my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Special_Ed_721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Magnolia Springs Bed and Breakfast is highly recommended for your honeymoon or just to get away. The area is beautiful and romantic. The history of the house is fantastic. The host make you feel very much at home and cook a remarkable breakfast that will last you until dinner. There are great places to dine in the area. With Mobile and the beaches close it's ideal for site seeing and enjoying the beach. Tanger Outlet is in Foley with plenty of choice places to shop. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary. Neal and Martha Ann Caver, Denham Springs, LA

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cross08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Traveling to Texas we stayed for a night and had the most wonderful time. David and Eric are great hosts and David's gourmet breakfast is to kill for. We regretted only being able to stay one evening - but it is more than worthwhile. We shall return. This is the place to stay on the Alabama coast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jaxbeachfl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My husband and I booked the Worthington room for a weekend getaway to celebrate our one year anniversary. We loved staying with David and Eric at Maginolia Springs. It is quiet, relaxing, and peaceful. The breakfast is very filling and taste great! The whole house is welcoming and the rooms are very clean. The property itself is located just a short drive away from Foley, Fairhope, and the beach so we had a lot of options of what to do and where to go during the day. David is very helpful when we needed ideas of where to eat and what attractions are nearby that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. We hope to go back to Magnolia Springs again and hope that others get to experience this great place too!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank justmelvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

I booked the "Bird of Paradise" package (2 nights at the B&B and a 45 min. ride in a 1928 biplane over the Gulf Coast) as a suprise for my wife. We both loved it! The owner, David Worthington, was a superb host and the house (built in the late 1800's) is the model of what an old Southern home should be.

We stayed in the Harding Suite, which is the largest of the five rooms. It was very relaxing. Sound does travel easily throughout the house, so you have to be mindful of other guests. It's great for couples. The Live Oaks that line the street in front of the house are beautiful.

Honestly, I can't think of anything that was wrong or not up to what we expected. It was a great experience and would certainly recommend the Magnolia Springs Bed and Breakfast to anyone!

P.S. If you want a bottle of Champagne or other ammenities, David will do his best to accommodate you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank modie1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnolia Springs
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Magnolia
The Hotel Magnolia
#1 of 1 in Foley
61 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Original Romar House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Springs Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14469 Oak St, Magnolia Springs, AL 36555-6800
Region: United States > Alabama > Magnolia Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Magnolia Springs
Price Range: £112 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and be whisked away from your worries and immerse in luxury. Visit Magnolia Springs B&B, a South Al B&B inn and historic hotel on the National Register of Historic Places known as the "Sunnyside Hotel". Searching for great romantic weekend getaways in Alabama for a honeymoon, anniversary, special occasion or retreat? Be sure to remember us when considering Alabama Bed and Breakfast Inns. Uniquely furnished for your comfort, each of our five guest rooms features original pine walls and floors and has:• luxury high thread count linens• Private baths• Cable television• Telephone• Complimentary high speed wireless internet• Iron & ironing board• Lighted magnifying mirror. Guests also enjoy:• Three-course Southern breakfast• Well-stocked refrigerator in the dining room• Afternoon teas• Evening desserts• Nightly turn-down service. We are your Alabama Beach Vacation Destination Place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing