We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mentone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Mentone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The room was cozy and clean. The food was excellent, especially the french toast. My favorite feature was the proximity to DeSoto Falls--a ten minute hike from the room and you're at the overlook.

It's just a short drive into Mentone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Mountain Laurel Inn in Mentone, AL. We stayed in the Deer room, it was spotless and comfortable. The owner is so gracious and did I mention the delicious breakfasts? Mountain Laurel is situated in the mountains near Desota State Park. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing experience with the best food around, this is where you should go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reba J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We recently visited Mentone and spent three nights at the Mount Laurel Inn B & B. We chose this B & B based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed in the "Deer Room". The Inn is actually located several miles from downtown Mentone at the end of a gravel road in the middle of the woods near Desoto State Park. The room was small but nicely appointed and very clean. There was a small flat screen TV with DVD player. Sarah, the owner, was gracious and very helpful, providing information regarding the area attractions and restaurants. We had a lovely breakfast each morning and, best of all, she briought hot coffee to the porch of each room at 7:00 AM. Wonderful to be able to have coffee in your room without having to leave each morning! There was a common building with a sitting area with snacks and refrigerator stocked with fruit drinks. Numerous DVDs were available there to watch or take back to your room. If you are looking for a quiet, rustic retreat in a beautiful part of Alabama, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docwgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The room was actually a small suite; spotless, well equipped with a small kitchenette and all the necessities. Idyllic setting with a quiet that made you worry your ears had left you. The owner is a fixture in the community and can direct you to the best eating spots in the area. Her signature decadent french toast is listed on the 100 dishes you must eat before you die.... ask about it when you make your reservations. It isn't always on the menu but good times and great location is ALWAYS on the plate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I took a couple of days "off the grid" at Mountain Laurel B&B in Mentone, AL. The room was immaculate, the breakfasts delicious and plentiful, the hostess informative and charming. All-in-all, it was a great get-away. The B&B is locate in the middle of the mountains is just minutes by a forest walk to Desoto Falls, and only a brief drive to Desoto Falls State Park, Little River Canyon, and Little River Falls. It you like peaceful nights and natural beauty, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for just the night. Unfortunately we were unable to meet the owner as she was on vacation but her stand in was pleasant and personable. The room we stayed in, the Ski room was clean and comfortable. Quiet location but LOTS of mosquitoes (probably should have expected that in the summer in Alabama!)

Breakfast in the morning was served 'family style' which may not suit everyone, but it was interesting to chat with other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

What a great get-together with "the girls". High school friends (class of '64, wow). The atmosphere was terrific - stayed up until 3:00 am talking - even mentioned old boyfriends!! Every aspect of our trip and accomodations where top notch. Sarah and Sammie added to our pleasure and I could get used to that 5-star breakfast. We are planning another trip back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentone
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Payne
62 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
258 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
10.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 624 Road 948, Mentone, AL 35984-5016
Region: United States > Alabama > Mentone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mentone
Price Range: £78 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Laurel Inn B&B is located in Mentone, AL on a bluff below DeSoto Falls. Guests enjoy the peace and quiet as well as the trails and the porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast Mentone, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing