We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and secluded setting.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mentone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Mentone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It's a beautiful setting quite a bit off the beaten path. The rooms are not quite what I expected but they are nice. It's a short walk to Desoto Falls. Sarah is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. If you want a quiet, peaceful stay away from everything this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

My Hubby & I stayed here for 2 nights last year (fall). It's quaint, off the road, quiet (as long as you are the only Guests) The Cabin is divided into 4 rooms & when all are full, there is no privacy.It does have a certain charm, being in the woods. No view at all from Cabin, except woods. If you walk down a meandering path, however, you will enjoy a Great view! We had to stumble upon it ourselves. The room was dingy, dark, & VERY outdated with a small TV mounted on the wall (an old style TV) the management has a "Get Together, Game Cottage though, with a small Video Library (needs updating) & games & publications available for Guests to use. It also had a refridge, with juice & granola bars offered. Back to the Room, Needs updating & freshening up. Dull. The bathroom was ok but had a note taped to toilet, regarding method of flushing. Just get it Fixed!!!
The Breakfast was very nice & well cooked. Probably the best feature of the stay & the Innkeeper was very pleasant.
Economic conditions are tough & in order to compete with other lodging venues in the area, a lot of work needs to be done here. Too expensive for what is offered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippieprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Such a beautiful setting. Wake up to the birds singing and the sound of the magnificent water fall. (Which is a must see) This is a true retreat to peace and quiet. The best breakfast around. And, yes, the French Toast is delish!! My husband just wanted to spend the day on the back porch reading. Mentone is a lovely town full of the most pleasant people. Walk around and enjoy all the little shops and restaurants. A must visit is J Spencer and Miracle Pottery. LOVE!!! We stayed in the "Deer Room".

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2knit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Thank you Sarah for another great week-end at Mountain Laurel. You know how much we truly love getting away to Mentone. Your place is one of the greatest pleasures we get in traveling. It is so peaceful and everything is just PERFECT. There's nothing that can be said about the place but positive things. The rooms, the food, the location, the genuine friendship and of course Sammie. We love everything about Mountain Laurel Bed and Breakfast. See you soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms and each one is different, but always spotless. We like the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liddy30744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The room was cozy and clean. The food was excellent, especially the french toast. My favorite feature was the proximity to DeSoto Falls--a ten minute hike from the room and you're at the overlook.

It's just a short drive into Mentone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Mountain Laurel Inn in Mentone, AL. We stayed in the Deer room, it was spotless and comfortable. The owner is so gracious and did I mention the delicious breakfasts? Mountain Laurel is situated in the mountains near Desota State Park. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing experience with the best food around, this is where you should go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reba J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We recently visited Mentone and spent three nights at the Mount Laurel Inn B & B. We chose this B & B based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed in the "Deer Room". The Inn is actually located several miles from downtown Mentone at the end of a gravel road in the middle of the woods near Desoto State Park. The room was small but nicely appointed and very clean. There was a small flat screen TV with DVD player. Sarah, the owner, was gracious and very helpful, providing information regarding the area attractions and restaurants. We had a lovely breakfast each morning and, best of all, she briought hot coffee to the porch of each room at 7:00 AM. Wonderful to be able to have coffee in your room without having to leave each morning! There was a common building with a sitting area with snacks and refrigerator stocked with fruit drinks. Numerous DVDs were available there to watch or take back to your room. If you are looking for a quiet, rustic retreat in a beautiful part of Alabama, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docwgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 624 Road 948, Mentone, AL 35984-5016
Region: United States > Alabama > Mentone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mentone
Price Range: £76 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Laurel Inn B&B is located in Mentone, AL on a bluff below DeSoto Falls. Guests enjoy the peace and quiet as well as the trails and the porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Laurel Inn Bed & Breakfast Mentone, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing