We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money”
Review of Palacete Rodrigues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palacete Rodrigues
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we were booked here for five days- recomended by Lonely Planet as 'quirky'.
In our experience the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful
The hotel is located at least 2 km from the beach.
The room was not cleaned or serviced in four days.
We left after four days
How this establishement is rated above 1 star is a mystery - we paid over £50 a night - much better value to stay in a beach hut!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed there for 10 days with some friends in October. This was the second time as we stayed here for Diwali last year. This time we had a smaller room as all suites were occupied. We like it becasue it is different from hotels, you cannot expect to be a hotel. We like the old furniture, the nice garden and the fact that you can stay there and go everywhere in 20-30 mins. This time was different as they were not flexible when serving breakfast, which menu is so simple. We preferred to have breakfast in other places nearby. They did not clean the room 2 days but we asked them to do this and then they did. Other issue is they dont have wi-fi, so we also needed to go somewhere else. We can deal with this but if you want to have all hotel commodities, this is not the place. The bathrooms need some maintenance definitely. I like this place but I think next time we try somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a suite, they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarybelMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The photos which has shown in the website is not there.
We have stayed there for 2 days but they have not given a good service at all.
No room boys, No daily cleaning facility.
You cannot see the white view as you cant see the white tube light over there. They have only yellowish lights everywhere.

Geezer is not working properly. Dont go by their photos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hemanttrivedi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

It is very nice clean and calm place with antique things within. Take pleasure of antique things like visit to museum. My children enjoys in swimimng pool. Food is very good but had different taste of tea.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pradnyesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Palacete Rodrigues is beautiful, and stuffed with great antiques, but my partner and I felt rather unwelcome there. As the gates are locked at 10pm every night, when we wanted to stay out and enjoy the local night life, we were made to feel as though we were doing something wrong. There was a lot of awkwardness about not giving us our passports back until a full room inspection had been carried out, and we were very much made to feel that the pool was not for our use. They tried to charge us for two extra breakfasts because we'd asked for toast, too.
Our room smelled damp and musty, too, and the beach is a good half hour's walk away. We decided to extend our stay in Anjuna after our time at PR was up, but opted for different accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Upgraded to a room in the house, and what a good nights sleep so comfortable in the the 4 poster bed. Didn't spend long here but staff were helpfull and breakfast good. A little away from the beach but a nice walk passing lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I wish nobody ever opt for this place. The complementary breakfast was just one item to select from(Roti sabji or poha or bread omelette). the lady owner did not allow to take any photograph. The room were old with beautiful old furniture and stinky. poolside was just to sit. We never ordered any food there as in Goa the food it awesome. I remember her scolding other people. So do stay away from this plcae. We paid nearly 4k per night in pick season . So it was not at all worth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhumita19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
0.8 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#7 of 18 in Anjuna
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caspia Hotels Goa - Anjuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anjuna
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annapurna Vishram Dhaam
2.8 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 124 in Calangute
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Rodrigues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Rodrigues

Address: Mazal Vaddo, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: £21 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacete Rodrigues 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The imposing flight of steps leading to the cool balcao and onto the foyer and lounge of this impecibally and lovingly maintained old Portuguese mansion, sets the tone of comfort and elegance at the Palacete Rodrigues. The lounge takes you back in time - furnished as it is with intricately carved polished furniture, jardinières and china wall plates. Pedestal mounted chandeliers and plants galore add to the unique charm of this delightful guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palacete Rodrigues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Rodrigues Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing