We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm place with soothing ambience”
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The most striking thing about the place is the cool and calm ambiance. I really liked the design of how the hotel rooms are placed around the pool and each room having easy access to the pool. Also the room itself is pretty nicely coloured and attractive. The staff was friendly with whatever interaction I had . ( most of the time we were out so didn't have much interaction) . This place is slightly far from the beaches and other attraction , so if you are okay travelling some distance , this place is good. Food is good , but I felt it was bit on the expensive side. Scooter is available for hire from the hotel but rate will be higher than what is available outside ( though nothing near the hotel ) the hotel staff said the rates are higher because they have better vehicles than what is available outside ( the vehicle that I had taken, speedometer and fuel indicator was not working and had to change the vehicle the next day) . Good thing was that second day onwards they had reduced the rates slightly (still higher than what is available outside) saying that their supplier had changed that rates.

Overall I enjoyed my stay there thanks to the Friendly staff !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PraveenNirbhaylal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Tamarind in Goa for your stay. So very glad you liked the rooms and appreciated the cleanliness and location.

We are not on the beach, but really between 3 beaches. Wagator, Anjuna & Baga. Many guests like to go to very lively places in the day and come back to a more relaxed atmosphere at our hotel, where they can enjoy our famous Cotinga dishes & desserts. Our Mad Hatter bar serves the choicest of drinks and eatables.

We help you hire bikes and scooters and yes the rates do go down in some months.
Hope you visit us again and thank you for your review.

Warm Regards.
The Team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for The Tamarind Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The feel of the hotel is awesome,its so peaceful n calm an ideal hotel if you really want to hve some Me time. Very relaxing ,also the food is really good and the service was excellant.All the hotel staff are very helpful.The hotel is not far from some really great beaches like calangute,anjuna,vagator,bagga n so on. Its better to rent 2 wheelers n explore the area around.Also there r shuttles goin to the closest beach provided by the hotel.Overall it was a nice experience and would love to come back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive flattering review. It is our aim to work hard and receive this kind of response from all our guests. So happy to read your feedback.

We now look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
The team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this hotel in Dec 2013 for our first anniversary. Our experience was terrible. First of all the hotel says "No pets allowed" but they have a big black dog on the property (which is not even on a leash). Secondly, we were woken up again and again at 05:00 am in the morning because they were constantly hosting birthday parties right outside our room with loud music. When I called up the reception they said they can do nothing about it. The restroom is very small and they don't even have constant hot water just an instant electric geyser which makes it very hard to take a shower. The hotel lacks most basic amenities and as far as cleanliness is considered we saw the owner's dog drinking from the swimming pool many times (which is why we avoided it altogether).

I would not visit this place again.

Room Tip: Don't get the room in front or yoy will hear loud music playing at 05:00 in the morning.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sanchit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest ,
We do not allow guests to bring pets ,but we do have one who is safe and friendly . In fact we got her from the int animal rescue and are glad she is with us and well.
We appreciate your feelings, but this is honestly the first time for us ,most guests love her to bits.
After you told us your wife did not like dogs ,we put our dog on a leash.
The way our pool border is built ,a dog cannot drink from the pool without falling in .
So it seems very unfair to say that . Another thing we strongly deny is the fact that we have
Instant geysers. All rooms are fitted with proper geysers.
The fact that music was on till 5 am is again highly exaggerated .
Our hotel is one one the cleanest you can see anywhere and we are proud of this.
We realised it was your anniversary and you have to admit we tried to make it up to you to the best of our ability and after the receptionist apologised and tied the dog , you clearly said all was well . We spoke at length after that .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely hotel - lovely staff - lovely food - lovely pool.

The Alice in Wonderland theme adds quirkiness to the grounds, in a good way.

The hotel has its own car - which meant there was none of the haggling over taxi fares whihc can become a bit dull. And the only down point is that the hotel is not near anywhere, so you need transport to do anything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Glad you enjoyed the theme and décor of the hotel and your stay, and yes we have cars and also bikes & scooters to hire at your service.

Bicycles we offer free of cost to our guests. We benefit from the fact that our owner is a bakery chef with a passion, and our bakery and desserts section is gaining tremendous popularity, as is our restaurant the Cotinga, which is now No-2 in Anjuna.

Hope to see you back here again.

Regards,
The Team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A nice quiet place to rest and relax. Easy to get into Anjuna and other parts of the island. Very helpful staff. Great food and a lovely garden. Would reccommend to couples, individual travellers and families alike. A very satisfying stay. Thankyou Tamarind:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is heartening to receive such an encouraging review. We make a big effort and feel delighted when guests are happy.

Thank you for your recommendations.

Regards,
The Team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a wonderful decision it was- to walk up to this place for lunch. We had checked out from our hostel , had given up the bikes for the day and were hoping for a decent place to hangout and kill hours in the peak sunny hours before the return bus to pune. somebody we knew had specifically recommended the tiramisu which certainly was good. We ordered pizza, biryani and all was good and i think reasonably priced. Best part was their recreational facilities that was open to all guests and we had a gala time playing table tennis and pool. simply awesome- we thank the staff for making our brief stay there comfy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ankita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We feel privileged when guests enjoy their time at The Tamarind and are happy to go all out to give them, good services.

We look forward to you coming back and visiting us again.

Regards,
The Team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel Location, Ambience, Decor, Setup, Room, Swim pool, Garden, Architecture, Gardens, Ammenities, Detailing...A complete leisure, there was nothing that as a guest you wanted and Tamarind did not have.
Every minut think of a living has been taken care by hotel owners and staff..

Special thanks to Receptionist Nisha, and Supervisor Theresa and one more male (lost his name) to helping is out with hotel needs and information requested around hotel (places, restaurants etc)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinidade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Such a lovely review is the ultimate pat on our back. We will surely share this with everyone.
Thank you for sparing time to write and encourage us.

We do look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
The Team at The Tamarind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caspia Hotels - Goa
Caspia Hotels - Goa
#1 of 16 in Anjuna
169 reviews
22.9 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#5 of 16 in Anjuna
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.5 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#2 of 14 in Vagator
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Address: 1286 Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range: £35 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing