We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Benaulim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
1 review
“Amazing Experience!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from 5 day stay here. This resort was unrated on tripadvisor. However with experience and some photos we decided to try this. Situated in south of Goa, the place was not our usual hunt on north side.
We were given a warm welcome and greeted with cold drinks on arrival. Check in was swift. Just from the front desk I got a glimpse of the resort and was convinced that this time too the choice won't go wrong.
The resort sports very well designed landscapes. The trees add to the beauty of lawns. This is a resort of just 22 cottages and makes it perfectly tranquil place. The cottages are all wooden from interior and exterior. It has its own charm. The interiors are well put. Adequate toilettories were provided. The housekeeping made up room on each day. Each day had different towel decorations. My wife and kid were quite amazed by these.
The Benaulim beach is just in the backyard. The resort has a separate gate opening on the beach access road from where the beach is just a few steps away. The path has a fresh water shower to clean up all the sand on returning from the beach.
Ought to mention the front staff Jaslan / Rehman and Swizzle who did every thing to make sure we had comfortable stay. They met all our requests with a smile on face. Once we retured late in the night from a hectic drive to Murdeshwar and Jaslan seeing our baby asleep offered to help us with backpacks till our cottage which we felt was quite hospitable.
We had meals there a few times and found food portions adequate, food tasty and well presented. Though the menu card isn't exhaustive on veg choices, whatever was available was tasty. We even tried mocktails and found them satisfying. The food prices are very reasonable. From the restaurant side must mention that the staff kept up the mood and tone set by front desk staff. Frankie was quite welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. A late breakfast ensured we just had some bites in the afternoon which saved a us time visiting restaurants.
They have two types of cottages viz Winter Green and Club. The club was premium ones which are bigger with an indoor sitting area. The basin is in separate compartment. We stayed in club rooms for 3 days. These cotages are towards beach end. We stayed in winter green cottages when we extended our stay. Apart from being cheaper, these are also near the reception area which meant lesser walk in and out. Trying to hide from sun beaching wasn't our priority and hence winter greens suited us more.. Apart from indoor seating we felt the cottages were comparable on comfort. Als smaller sized cottages were cooled faster in summer heat.
The pool is perfect for a family type resort as it is only 4 ft deep which keeps adventurous swimmers away from messing up with lounging swimmers and non swimmers like us. Beverages could be had poolside. Us bing non alcoholic and it being election time meaning ban on alocohol, had soft drinks there.
All in all if someone is thinking of stay in south goa, this is definitely recommended. Someone thinking of North Goa should consider shifting to south goa as north goa is too crowded with domestic tourists on short runs who prefer happening environment more and can often intrude privacy of other.
One disclaimer though. We had our own car which meant we were easily travelling. I think it would involve little walk to the beach, guess 500m if someone wants avail public transport. If someone is planning a lot of site seeing, talk to the resort on travel facilities as a precaution. With self drive this would be my most preferred place for future.
As a suggestion, the restaurant can be made air conditioned as in peak summer, Goa won't be comfortable with fans aloneRestaurant menu is limited but we were told that soon the menu would be extended. The spa under construction when completed, would add up to the facilities.

Room Tip: The shacks on the beach do not charge for using recliners unlike what we saw in some parts of north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    86
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel was a fantastic discovery!

For starters its brand new, clean + well kept. Some advantages 1) its right on the Benaulim beach with its own entry/ exit gate to the beach...saves time and the walk. the beach has lots of shacks to choose from 2) unlike other hotels, this has spacious wood cottages with nice/big/comfortable beds and separate loos and shower area 3) the grounds have a manicured garden, lawn, flowers, trees - keeps the temp down 4) Since there are not too many cottages, the pool is always empty (and pool is cleaned daily, i think) 5) Finally, the staff is very courteous - they will organise for you bikes, car... even negotiate if need be, suggest local restaurants, cuisines...they are extremely friendly, polite and always there to help. Thank you Swiizzle, Rehman and Joslan. Will surely go back.

I would suggest people to call up the hotel directly to get great deals.

Room Tip: All cottages are nice, quite and private. All have the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parikshit_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Fern Beira Mar Resort is a brand new hotel with everything new and clean in it. Cosy wooden cottages are rather spacious and comfortable. Though it was quite hot inside during daytime heat. The gardens around the cottages are very pleasant and well maintained: dewy grass, potted orchids, coconut palms. Everything is made with love and good taste. The hotel is situated almost on the beach, it takes just a minute to find yourself on a quiet, broad sandy beach.The staff is very amicable and helpful - they make their best to meet your needs. Very good and worthy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ildar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Well this hotel recently opened the service and guest interactions are that of a 5 star hotel. I was amazed by how well the staff had been trained. The property is fantastic. the cottages are impeccably maintained. And since its wooden it does not matter how hot it is outside. The hotel is on the seafront. 200 mts to the water from the hotel back gate. Breakfast was a la carte which was actually something we preffered. The complimentries are high end as well. I would say this hotel can match any 5 star hotel in that area in terms of service and quality. The interesting thing was this came with a bathroom and a seperate toilet. We have not seen such a thing in any hotel we had been to. The wooden cottage was a welcome change as it maintains atmost privacy

Room Tip: Be aware of the dogs on the beach they dont hesitate to bite. In fact i saw a fellow tourist being b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriviCatoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Beautiful wood cottages. the ambiance is wonderful. The staff was helpful.

The best aspect of the hotel is that the beach is a 100 meters away. A little pricey but worth it.

I hope to visit again with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prachi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find this cosy resort, previously called as the Lounginhos Hotel, now taken over by the Fern group. The rooms are in form of cosy cottages surreounded by well-manicured, dewy fresh, grassy gardens that actually invite you to lie back on them and watch the skies through the coconut laden trees. The beauty of this resort lies in its cosiness and well-maintained and thoughtfullu designed rooms that are as aesthetic as fucntional.

The next big draw of this hotel is its location right on the beach with its own entry way into the white sands of benaulim beach. Also that fact that this resort is not huge adds to the cosiness quotient of this resort, without the baggage of opulence and luxury around it. So you can actually just laze around the rooms and the verandahs and walk down to the shacks dotting the beach for some lip-smacking seafood.

The staff is very considerate and courteous. Quick to help with anything you need in-room as well as beyond the hotel. I was thoroughly impressed when they agreed to extend their pool closing time by a good 20 mins seeing that my 5 yr old was thoroughly enjoying in the pool. I felt that was going the extra mile in terms of service.

On the downside, you really need to work on a better breakfast. That was well below average, and their restaurant fare seems disappointing too. Not that it poses any issue considering that you would hardly want to eat in a closed restaurant setting instead of by the lapping waves!

All-in-all, I would go there the next time over for a stay, and am really hopeful that they would continue the service and standard they had this time. Great Job, guys!

Room Tip: Did not try out the spa. The Fern Club rooms are slightly bigger and better laid out than the Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmitaKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went there after we spoke to their Mumbai booking office - as we are both swimmers, we enquired about the pool. That was the first lie - that their pool was large and 5.5 feet deep. In reality it is a tiny pool located close to the main gate and reception and is 4 feet deep at the deepest end. So there is absolutely no fun/ privacy.
The rooms are clean and very nice - that was the highlight of the stay.
The restaurant is basic and their staff needs a lot of training. We only ever ate breakfast there - and it was cold and mediocre.
The second con was when we asked them to give us the phone numbers of taxi vendors because we found their too expensive. The folks we called told us we had to walk to a place 2 km away if they needed them to take us. It was the most ridiculous con - all handled by the desk manager - Rehman. We finally spoke to the GM of the hotel and he got us a car in 2 min - for half the amount quoted by Rehman. So Mr GM please look into what is going on with the staff
I personally would not recommend this hotel to anyone - despite the lovely rooms and proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheelsForFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
0.7 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
20.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Beira Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Beira Mar Resort

Property: The Fern Beira Mar Resort
Address: Vaasvado | opp Lotus Suites, Benaulim 403 717, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Beira Mar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Beira Mar Resort, is on the beachfront of the wonderful and still pristine Benaulim beach. For those looking to rediscover Goa's unspoilt coastline, the resort offers 22 well-appointed, air-conditioned wooden cottages en-suite bathroom with hot & cold water, free access to Wi-Fi, O'PESCADOR Restaurant & Bar open from 07:30am to 10:30pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner and a-la-carte meals, lawns, Spa, outdoor pool, mini Gymnasium, Pool table, Concordia our Conference hall, evening entertainment and 24 hours security. Beira Mar literally means 'by the sea' and O'Pescador means "fisherman" is derived from Goa's rich Portuguese heritage that's still vibrant today, is set amidst manicured gardens. The layout of the cottages is in perfect harmony with the surroundings, ideal for a holiday that leaves the world outside. The Fern Beira Mar Resort, is on the famous Benaulim beach with a walking distance of one minute from the property, 3 kms from Colva Beach, 7 kms away from the main shopping area of Margao,8 kms away from Margao railway station, 26.5 kms drive from Goa International airport and 39 Kms from Panjim, Capital of Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Fern Beira Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Beira Mar Resort Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing