We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in South Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fern Beira Mar Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Benaulim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in South Goa”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have been in goa several times and stayed at around 7-8 good hotels/resorts, but Beira Mar simply best among them. Be it reception desk(Swizzle), service(Deepak) or restaurant(Frankie and other guy who takes care of breakfast), all person are always smiling and very courteous.

Location is just 100 meters from Benalium beach, they have their own path which leads to the beach though. Good shakes like Johncy's is just 100 meters away, you can have your lunch or dinner there. Restaurant too is outstanding, their prices are so competitive, they can give competition to even udipi restaurants with that. Breakfast spread was vast and very good for veterinarians. Swimming pool is small but sufficient. Room service is prompt at no extra charges. Cottages are good, little hot in noon time but turn on your cottage a/c for 10 minutes and you will be fine.

They have their own cab, which can provide drop to madgaon station at 500 rs., which is quite reasonable.

P.S. the fern buy 1 get 1 along with goibibo discounts make it extremely value for money :)

Room Tip: all rooms are same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhavesh_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    86
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
108
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in July during monsoon. We enjoyed the stay the rooms were clean and cottage style which gave a nice experience. I Highly recommend to stay here in monsoon as the climate is very pleasant. beach is close by with exit from the hotel. Food at the restaurant was great especially the mocktails.The pool was Nice and clean and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOM_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We, 4 of us stayed in this hotel for 2 days and got it booked for 6500 (4 people, 2 days) from GoIbibo with a great discount. The hotel is just awesome with beautiful wooden cottages. Good hospitality, Good atmosphere. The resort is located just near to the sea side and one can spend time there till midnight. They allowed us to check in to the hotel at 8.30 AM, coz the rooms were available that day. Rooms are spacious and looks beautiful. They provided Free Wifi to us and it was available everywhere except the restaurant.

The worst part here is that the restaurant just a waste. The beach side restaurants serve better food than this so called resort. Restaurant staff doesnt serve well. We had to ask those people many times even for getting a glass of water. Breakfast served was not upto the expectation. They charged 250+tax from us for having a breakfast on the first day which we checked in early. They do even serve drinks to pool side, but the service was not up to the mark. The pool timings are restricted till 8PM and thats really a weird thing which we didnt like. :-(

The Fern Beira Mar Resort, benaulim is a beautiful property and recommended for couples and youths who travel to Goa for fun. My main suggestion to the hotel management is just to improve the restaurant and the staff. Overall its a great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujithbhakthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The resort is very nice, located right on Benaulim beach, & individual wooden cottages with beautiful garden. We stayed in Winter Green Cottages - wonderful room with king size bed?, complimentary breakfast, mini fridge, cupboard with safety locker, complimentary tea/coffee, reading lights, big LCD, free wi-fi, separate bathroom & toilet.. though toilet was small :( . The check-in was hassle free with no delay. The staffs were good and explained completely about the facilities in the room. The pool is small & 4ft, with children's pool besides. We enjoyed the pool very much as a family. The room, pool and gardens were properly maintained. It was pleasant to hear sea waves at the resort! The restaurant was OKAY... with limited menu options and reasonable price (compared to eateries). We took lunch once at Pedro Hotel at Benaulim beach, which was good though it was slightly costly. The resort is located right opposite to Lotus hotel in Benaulim beach. The north goa beaches were very lively as it attracts more crowd. One can see more number of resorts, eateries, etc in north goa beaches (Calangute, Vagator, etc) than south goa, but they were all polluted with plastic wastes, instead of shells and corals. On the other hand, south goa beaches (Colva and Benaulim) were much better than north goa beaches in terms of cleanliness and crowd (less). Colva beach is better than Benaulim as it has good number of hotels, shops, public and private transport right on the beach. But Benaulim beach is a bit isolated and there are no transport facility though the roads are good. Benaulim beach is around 3 Km from Colva beach and 9 Km from Margao bus stand. One can reach the resort (1) by auto from Margao bus stand at Rs.180 or (2) Rs.10 by public vehicle to Banaulim maria hall and then hire auto Rs.50 to resort (1 km). Upto 500m from maria hall to resort has shops but then empty lands...upto beach. Faced problem in commuting (w/o car). If Beira Mar is in Colva beach then 5 STARS!

Room Tip: Choose club cottage if you need extra bed otherwise Winter green is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRBv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we had a four-night stay at this property and it was quite pleasant. the property is new so everything is spanking new. there are cozy wood cottages which are decently spacious. it is walking distance from the beach which is quite peaceful. benaulim is a sleepy village so go there only if you are looking at doing nothing but lazing around.

on the flip side, since the hotel is new, they are not very good with crisis management. since we were visiting them in monsoon, we woke up one morning to water dripping in our room from 2-3 places. it took them a good 2 hours to fix this (the only thing they did was apply an m-seal like thing for which we had to wait so long. the laundry returned my dress after more creases than it had when i had sent it in for laundry. despite being told that a driver they had once arranged for us was very rude and rash and that we would not want him again, no attention was paid to this request and the same driver came to drop us off to the airport. and this time, because he was instructed by the hotel not to drive rash (mind you rash, not fast), he drove us at 40 kmph! we kept asking for the hotel car but they have strange rules like the hotel car is not available after 5.30 pm! another flipside of the hotel is the lack of food options especially if you are vegetarian. the breakfast menu is just sufficient and decent. for dinners we always stepped out. but what is available is mostly well-made. the restaurant does not have an AC and there were quite many flies. :(

however, the biggest plus of this resort is its ever-smiling, courteous staff. with some training and experience, i am sure they will make this resort go places. they only need to pay heed to guest requests and that clubbed with some facilities like the other fern hotels, will make this go a long way!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week after backpacking down from Rajasthan. It was wonderful! The beds were comfy, the showers were amazing, the pool was beautiful, all very clean, good breakfasts included.

I loved how every time we got in the pool someone would come and bring us some towels out. The towels in the room were also very clean and always nicely presented.

In the evenings we went out into Benaulim and into Margoa - each time the staff were helpful in calling TukTuk's for us.

All of this and it was only a short walk down to the beach from the bottom gate. It was amazing and a terrific way to top off the holiday! I warn you there's not alot to do in the area - but if you are after lazy sunsoaking time - it is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It is a good hotel by the beach side. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend people to visit this place.

Pros
Rooms
Service
Courteous Staff
Cleanliness
Breakfast
Location

Cons
Pool
Not much option on the Menu for lunch or dinner

Room Tip: None all are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
2.6 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 15 in Benaulim
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.5 mi away
La Grace Resort
La Grace Resort
#4 of 15 in Benaulim
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Beira Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Beira Mar Resort

Property: The Fern Beira Mar Resort
Address: Vaasvado | opp Lotus Suites, Benaulim 403 717, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Beira Mar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Beira Mar Resort, is on the beachfront of the wonderful and still pristine Benaulim beach. For those looking to rediscover Goa's unspoilt coastline, the resort offers 22 well-appointed, air-conditioned wooden cottages en-suite bathroom with hot & cold water, free access to Wi-Fi, O'PESCADOR Restaurant & Bar open from 07:30am to 10:30pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner and a-la-carte meals, lawns, Spa, outdoor pool, mini Gymnasium, Pool table, Concordia our Conference hall, evening entertainment and 24 hours security. Beira Mar literally means 'by the sea' and O'Pescador means "fisherman" is derived from Goa's rich Portuguese heritage that's still vibrant today, is set amidst manicured gardens. The layout of the cottages is in perfect harmony with the surroundings, ideal for a holiday that leaves the world outside. The Fern Beira Mar Resort, is on the famous Benaulim beach with a walking distance of one minute from the property, 3 kms from Colva Beach, 7 kms away from the main shopping area of Margao,8 kms away from Margao railway station, 26.5 kms drive from Goa International airport and 39 Kms from Panjim, Capital of Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Fern Beira Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Beira Mar Resort Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing