We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove Cottages
Göteborg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Personal and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are a family of five who spent one week in the hotel in December. We stayed in the new block and the rooms were really nice. Beautiful floors. Quiet , equipped with airconditioning. All staff and the hotel owner were friendly. The restaurant was smal and sometimes nearly empty but served good food from a restricted menue. Ten minutes to walk to the beach which was not crowded. Mainly middle-class Indians on the beach.Good restaurants on the beach. I would definitely like to come back here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We did stay there second half of August 2012 for 1 night

Location:
It has a beautiful garden and also the cottages looks good. It is about 5 to 10 minutes from the main junction in Benaulim away. Across the street is a nice little shop for afternoon Chai tea and free snacks with the tea.

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Good & fresh restaurant
- Well cleaned and maintained gardens
- Bed with option for mosquito net (but bring your own)
- Free electrical mosquito killer thing

Cons:
- No Wifi (not fun in monsoon season)
- No TV (not fun in monsoon season)
- Electrical switches in the shower in all rooms except most expensive ones
- Also expensive in off season (new room for 2750 RS/night)
- No breakfast included
- No chance to discuss with owner (about price, car drop offs, checkout time, etc.)

It is a good place for older people who want to relax, not be bothered by other people, read a book and enjoy nature but not for a couple like us (mid 20's).

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

If you are the type who loves a garden, peace and quiet then you will probably love this place. Its located about 2km from Benaulim beach, has 2 wings with rooms in each and a large garden in front with a wide variety of plants and trees. The small restaurant is located in the middle of the garden. We stayed in a room in the newer wing and it had an AC, fridge and a small balcony.
We had a car with us, which was really useful as we preferred to drive to our choice of place for lunch and dinner, and also to various nearby beaches, rather than only to Benaulim.
We had breakfast in the restaurant a few times and the food and service were good. The room was neat and clean, though we had to remind them a couple of times to provide something as basic as a bathmat. They also didnt have great beach towels, and once even said they didnt have enough.
The place seems to be run by a family and overall they seem to provide decent value, though they need to be careful they dont miss out on the small things which a guest needs for a happy stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The main attraction of this small hotel is the luxurious courtyard, transformed into a luxurious garden. All kind of plants and trees make you feel in a jungle (a well kept one). There are two villas with big rooms, nicely furnished, with balconies, AC. One of them is older (a bit moldy), one is newer. The bathrooms were slightly dirty. The management wants to attract the old-world European aesthete tourist, who doesn't travel in groups, who doesn't need tv and computers (yes, you read right, no internet). However, Benaulim is becoming more and more a mass destination for the Indian and Russian middle-class, not for the lonely British garden-lover. All around, in the village, tacky bazaars and flashy concrete boxes are being built, making the place trivial. The less pleasant aspect of our stay was the rigidity of the management. All the time we were discussing with a teenage girl who basically said NO to any of our requests. NO taxi allowed inside - drag your suitcases to the reception. NO discount, although the season was well over. NO late check out (3 hours later), even if we were the only tourists there. NO towels on the beach on the last day, because it was past check-out time. We came from the beach and we used the garden hose to wash off the salt. Guys, maybe you should learn to be more flexible and friendly, especially since your business is going downhill ....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arciboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Palm Grove sadly, for only a weekend, but once again it felt like coming home! The rooms in the new wing of the hotel are lovely and airy, with the most comfortable beds (actually better than the one we have at home!) The staff at the hotel, as well as the owner Cristhe, are always extremely welcoming and helpful and nothing ever seems to be too much to ask of them. We also both really love the restaurant which is perfectly located amidst beautiful greenery and which serves extremely tasty and extremely fresh food. The rooms don't have TVs so you can enjoy the quiet, natural surroundings without any distractions. We really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Goa!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Located away from the busy commercial strip, yet close to restaurants and shops, the Palm Grove Cottage is a very good choice in Benaulim. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is surrounded by a magnificent and well-maintained garden. The only downside is the 15 minute walk to the beach; however, scooters may be rented near the cottage for only Rs250 per day. We did not like the hotel's restaurant and decided to eat on the commercial strip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are slightly larger and re-furnished; they also include a fridge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in palm grove cottages for 30 days, it is quite expensive we paid for the luxury room, about 3000 rupees per night. Very nice bed, clean room, air con worked well and was modern unit, clean bathroom,great garden.Very tranquil place, an escape from the madness and mayhem of India.No swimming pool, or television, or wi/fi, they do not accept credit cards, so you have to pay cash. The beach is about 1 mile away, quite easy flat walk. Restaurant does not have a large selection but the food was was always good. Annies laundry just across the road is great value if you need some laundry done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaulim
0.7 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Grace Resort
La Grace Resort
#4 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
L'Amour Beach Resort
L'Amour Beach Resort
#12 of 14 in Benaulim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Cottages

Property: Palm Grove Cottages
Address: | House No 149, Tamdi Mati, Vasawado, Benaulim 403716, India
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove Cottages located a kilometer away by road from one of the most tranquil and inviting beaches of Goa, cannot be considered as a conventional commercial hotel. The hotel that dates back from 1981 emphases on a relaxed and a friendly informal approach. Guests are welcomed by enchanting oasis of palms, exotic plants and flowers that gives a feel of a botanical garden. The paths flanked by palms on either side exhales an aura of grand welcome. Comfortable rooms and an al fresco restaurant amid lush garden are just some of the pleasures awaiting you to this romantic refuge in the beautiful village of Benaulim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Cottages Hotel Benaulim
Palm Grove Cottages Goa/Benaulim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing