We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baga frolic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lua Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lua Nova Hotel
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Baga frolic”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We (group of 5 friends) were on the lookout for a place to stay near baga and the hotel suited our plans perfectly. Had a hard time finding the hotel due to a blocked entrance (for some construction activity), everything else was a breeze though. An open mind and a look at the bill calms the nerves significantly. Enjoyed the pool too. Recommended if looking for a place near baga.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Chandan8619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    31
    4
    18
See reviews for
21
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is decent, nothing great. However its very close to the beach, infact walking distance. The bathrooms are okay. Overall cleanliness is average.

Has a small swimming pool and bar.

There is a casino and A 24 HOUR BAR opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: take rooms facing the pool (not coz of the pool, but coz of the sunlight which will stay on the oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinitdhadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Well here are a few pointers which I feel trip goers should be aware of while booking this hotel:
Pros:
1. Very near to baga beach n titos which are according to me the best places in goa.
Cons:
1. Worst hotel staff I've seen.
2. Never is someone at the reception. We should always keep searching for these guys.
3. Had booked a triple AC room but was told that it is unavailable when we reached. No prior information was sent to us even after we called and confirmed with the hotel that we were coming there. Got two double bed rooms instead.
4. Dirty rooms.
5. Bad smell in rooms.
6. No telephone.
7. We were told that we'll be moved to the triple AC room the next day. That never happened.
8. Approach to hotel is very narrow.
Overall, if you're on a trip with family, this hotel is a complete NO. But if you just need a place to throw your bags and to sleep then you can still go for it as it is pretty close to baga beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azhar915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Meerut, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

A small hotel..but have everything you need..very near to beach(walking distance),a swimming pool , restaurant.beautiful view,close to all amenities such as casino,bike shops nd all.
All d employees are friendly and even the owner is very good at service. You ask nd u will get it.

Would definatly stay again if i go vth my frndzz.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

my college group was stay there in 2010 it was best hotel staff was good, excellent food.Pool was good, bar was handy & not pricey. Only had breakfast & snacks which were ok. Very handy for beach & town. Some guests were noisy, inconsiderate & rude which was our only point of concern. Management should be more aware! Hotel is in Baga not Calangute not that this was an issue for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddharth314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

You get what you pay for. This is budget accommodation and good value. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff had to be reminded to change linen (should be done every other day) & clean. We found staff cheerful & helpful. Pool was good, bar was handy & not pricey. Only had breakfast & snacks which were ok. Very handy for beach & town. Some guests were noisy, inconsiderate & rude which was our only point of concern. Management should be more aware!
Hotel is in Baga not Calangute not that this was an issue for us.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking pool. A/C may be better as fan had little impact on night comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Allenb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice and has a good location - near the beach (5 min walk), but tucked away from noise street and beach party noise. However, the hotel is badly run, and the daytime receptionist, a chinese-looking guy , barely understood English. Mind you, I did not expect him to recite Shakespeare, but I did expect him to understand basic questions in English, such as enquiries about local public transport, money changing shops and other practicalities. He did not. And he did not even try, he was very unhelpful. The owner himself was a polished man and spoke perfect English but did not give a toss about the valid complaints of the clients - and there were many of them. The room staff was not properly trained even in basics of cleaning and housekeeping. There were too many people on the site busy doing nothing. I ended up cleaning the room and bathroom myself because the staff most of the time forgot to do it and when they tried to do it they it was still not done properly. However, some of the saff members were nice and helpful and tried their best, like the night-time receptionist who was dubbing as a room guy and the kitchen stuff was ok as well. I blame all this disorder on the manager who should choose and train his staff properly not to tell tourists to bugger off if they present a valid request about something. One of the problems was also that many guests were making noise thorughout all night and the manager did nothing to stop it even though the other guests wanted to sleep.
But perhaps these are not only the problems of this hotel but a bigger problem in all Goa and India where even the basic normal service is hard to find. After a while this mentality starts to get on your nerves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.3 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#95 of 110 in Calangute
157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#38 of 110 in Calangute
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Terezinha
Hotel Dona Terezinha
#85 of 110 in Calangute
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mira Hotel
Mira Hotel
#50 of 110 in Calangute
212 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lua Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lua Nova Hotel

Property: Lua Nova Hotel
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lua Nova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lua Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lua Nova Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing