We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic small hotel with friendly staff.”
Review of Cary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cary's Hotel
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic small hotel with friendly staff.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at Cary's and have had a thoroughly wonderful time. We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed, in fact our stay completely exceeded our expectations. We made the booking direct with Laura (Cary's wife) via the email address given on here and she couldn't have been more helpful.
We stayed in room 16 which had a balcony overlooking the pool. This is possibly the best room in the hotel although I believe all rooms are identical internally. The room was spacious and included a fridge which was very useful. The bathroom was also large and nicely fitted out (with plenty of hot water provided by solar panels). Also, there is a large generator at the hotel which is very useful for the odd powercut.
The hotel is kept very clean and although daily room cleaning is not included, you only have to ask when handing your key in at the desk and it is done, no problem.
The garden is lovely and green and tended to everyday. Although it is alongside the lane it is very private and a tranquil place to relax. We spent most of our time at the beach but did find the pool a welcome retreat when the beach became a little manic (which it did at times due to the local holidays and festivals).
The beach is a 5 minute walk down the lane and although there is no wifi at Cary's you can find it free at the first shack you come to (Beach Queen). The main road is a 5 minute walk down the lane in the opposite direction. The hotel is in an excellent location for the beach, restaurants and shopping. A taxi driver can usually be found outside the hotel if required but if not you only have to walk up the main road and there is a rank almost opposite.
The staff are all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We never once had to tell them our room number when collecting our key, they all knew who was staying in which room!
Victor is the hotel manager and also the chef. We can thoroughly recommend trying his cooking, particularly the Goan dishes. The included breakfast consists of fruit juice, tea or coffee and two slices of toast with butter and jam. I notice some people have complained about the lack of choice but please remember that this is complimentary and additional items can be ordered from the menu at a very reasonable price. We tried the omelettes on a couple of occasions and they were yummy!
Cary the friendly owner is present at the hotel most days whilst Laura, his lovely wife only visits once or twice a week. They both enjoy chatting and make you feel very welcome. We were lucky enough to enjoy lunch with them and some of their friends whilst there, a highlight of our trip.
We can thoroughly recommend staying at this peaceful hotel, it ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharGardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carla8249, Owner at Cary's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and will strive to make it better in future

Regards
Laura
Carla8249
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we are stayed for 9 nights. Hotel is very close to beach (2minutes) and shops. Owners and hotel staff is very friendly. Restaurant is good, my daughters like cary´s spaghetti from Mr. Victor. Swimming pool is excellent, clean and no deep. Thank you for nice holidays in GOA. Many regards.

Marian Cahoj from Slovakia

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

It was really a plasure staying at Cary's Hotel. I am moved by the hospitality of the hotel staff and the arrangement made at the hotel for the guests.
Swimming pool, Bar, Rooms, location was magnificent and I have enjoyed it thoroughly.

Room Tip: Rooms just facing swiming pool are the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koushikdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Overall good experience. Hotel was very neat and clean. We booked the hotel over the phone so just a call away. Owner's were good and sweet. We had a wonderful stay for 7 days.Excellent location very close to the beach and the market place.Service is good and staff is courteous, complete ambience in the hotel is just very good

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shwetz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carla8249, Owner at Cary's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi Shweta,
Thank you very much for your review, It will definitely help us to serve you better in future.
Please accept our apologies if we were short in anything that was not as per your expectations. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Our best regards to you both.
As always
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my family. Good n peaceful place, very very green the garden is very well maintained. Rooms are neat n clean. Minimal staff but very prompt at service. Owners are very friendly. booking process was easy by just a phone call. Excellent location very close to the beach and the market place. Nicely maintained pool.
complimentary Breakfast comprised of only toast butter n tea/coffee. A Buffet wud have been better.
The restaurant serves decent food. The cook seemed really lazy guy who wudnt wake up for making evening tea till 6-7 in the evening which was in a way strange n funny. But m sure Mr. Cary and Laura Sequera (Owners) wud attend to it.
Over all a very nice place and i'll surely go back to Carys on my next visit to this place n surely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We took 2 rooms facing the pool which were gud. i'll surely ask for the same room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Cary's Goa for 4 days in February 2013. We enjoyed our stay at Cary's. The hotel location is very good, just 5 minutes walk to Calangute beach. Romms are clean and spacious. Swimming pool is well maintained. Service is good and staff is courteous. Photos on the web site are actual hotel photos. There is no phone / bell in the room.

We did the booking by calling the owner (Ms. Laura) and room was booked for us without paying any advance as it was 1 day notice and we appreciate that.

I did not like 2 things:
1. Payment is cash only and credit card is not accepted
2. Breakfast which is included is just bread toast and tea/coffee. For 4 days, you can't have toast bread for b/f.


But otherwise we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We got corner room on ground floor facing restaurant, which is a premium room. You can opt for other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varad_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

amazing experience at cary's. The owners were very warm and helpful. the rooms were clean and made feel very comfortable. also the pool is well maintained and the complete ambience in the hotel is just very good. i had an amazing stay durin 1st to 3rd march 2013. they also extended our check out time as our bus for departure was late...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhil2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.2 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.4 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
La Vie Woods
La Vie Woods
#1 of 206 in Calangute
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
#19 of 110 in Calangute
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary's Hotel

Property: Cary's Hotel
Address: Cobravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cary's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary's Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing