We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price”
Review of Divine Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Divine Guest House
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The family who owns this b&b are so sweet. Although some things are not available, such as landlines in the rooms or wi-fi that works consistently, they did wjat they could to make things smoother for us (making local calls for us themselves, and letting us use their reception computer for internet access. For such an affordable price, we found it to be more than adequate and easily walkable from the main baga beach strip. Even the cab drivers that drove us to/from Divine told us we had made a good choice because of the authenticity of the experience and the wonderful family. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepaliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Deepali,
Thank you for your review on our property and appreciating us so much. We definitely would love to have you back with us. We wish you all the best. God bless you both
Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very homely, peaceful and people are very hospitable. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and neatly maintained.
Also the guest house is near the center place which made our commute very easy to other places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Koushik_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Koushik,

Thanks for your review on our property, means alot, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciating our hospitality.
We hope to have you back in the future and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you are budget travellers, this is the place for you. You get simple, clean rooms in pleasant surroundings at a stones throw from Baga Beach. The important thing is the rooms & bathrooms were extremely clean that it even passed the high standards of my hygiene freak wife. The rooms are basic with a comfortable bed and bare essentials but don't expect towels/toiletries/kettle etc - and mind you, you are not paying for it as well (easily the least expensive hotel/guesthouse I've stayed at in Goa).

The proprietor is a kind man - not intrusive at all (as compared to the over-zealous talkative sorts that you sometimes come across in Goa, who always have something to say about what you should do/eat/buy) but very helpful if required. He arranged bikes, taxi drops etc at reasonable prices and service was always prompt.

Will definitely come back here if I visit Goa again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank muthu_mohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on us and have appreciated the cleanliness of our guest rooms.
Well regarding towels and toiletries , we do provide in all ac rooms , in non ac rooms we also provide in the season time as the price is on a higher side comparing to the price given on your stay . We would have given to you if you had requested definitely... but thanks for understanding your end that these things were not provided as per the price paid at your time...

We would definitely hope to have you back in the future and do all our best to ensure a great stay with us once again...

God bless..

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My bf and I had been to Divine Guest house last Thursday, I read the reviews on here n decided to check it out.
Not very far from Mapusa taxi/bus stand, easy to locate. The place looks the same like shown in the photos here.
Its run by Raimundo and Annie, amazing and extremely sweet people. Not once I felt we were treated like outsiders. The guest house is very very clean n very well maintained. Annie is very particular about her plants and they way she cleans the place.
Dog lovers, the couple have 3 dogs n a cat. One dog is very ferocious so please dont go near him. The other two are nice n friendly. So, that's all I hv to say in my review, there's a lot more to type about hw wonderful d plc is bt I'll leave that for later.

Thank you Aunty Annie n Raimund for an amazing place to stay, I will definitely come back !

Lots of love n blessings

Gavin & Samantha (Bombay)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinnSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Gavin & Samantha,

We are so glad to see a review about the guest house and us, highly appreciated. So happy to know that you'll enjoyed every bit of your stay with us and even rated us well even though it was at the off season time( i.e the monsoons time) as we feel that we are not at the very best as we normally do at the other time of the year .
We really hope to have you back soon with your stay with us, we must also say that we were glad to have you as our guests, our doors are always going to be welcoming towards you both .

Thank you once again for staying with us

Raymond & Annie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The owners of this guest house were lovely. We arrived in the off season and were the only guests. Rooms were decorated in bright colours. Bathroom a bit claustrophobic and basic but clean. Fridge in room a bonus! Quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of goa. Still easy walk into town, dark so bring flashlight or get tuc tuc if your travelling alone.
Big dog a bit scary if you dont like them, but its tied up and their for protection and safety. Felt like a safe place to stay. Decent locks on rooms etc. No internet even though this is advertised. A bit more expensive than other guest houses, but owners will help you out with anything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on us and are glad to know that you were happy with our service and found it safe. Since we were coming into the off season period, we have stopped the internet service to our guests and our apologies as we could not provide you the same as we should have removed out the advertisement at the premises. W really hope to have you back some day. All the best and God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is hard to find places like this in Goa where most stays are either awful or too expensive. I got the smallest room on the property for a real bargain price and didn't expect much. But it was a room sparkling with cleanliness, the family that runs the place are simply wonderful and hospitable people and you get to sleep to the sound of birds singing instead of honking rickshaws for a change!

My plan was to move on up north after just a few days but I ended up staying 10 nights in total at Divine Guest House - which says a lot about the place! It was with sadness that I moved on. I would recommend anyone visiting Baga and Goa to stay at this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joooplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Erica,

It was really nice to see your review on us and our property , we are glad to see such a nice review on us, much appreciated and we thank you for the same. I am sure this would really help many other guests to make their choice and we hope to have you back some day in the future..God bless u and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed at Divine guest house over a weekend from 29th Mar to 01st April. The rooms are well maintained, clean and come with a refrigerator and TV!! The family running the house are very very nice people and will do all they can to make your stay comfortable. They even booked my ticket for returning to Pune over the phone. The beach and the main Baga stretch is about 3-4 mins away and trust me, it is not a far walk by any standards. In fact I think it is good since it ensures a lot of peace a quiet through the day and night (save for a few barking dogs, but I am not complaining :) ). Only one thing that may be considered lacking are meal choices. We only got tea/coffee (awesome and well made ones at that). Unless you really want breakfast or your meals in bed, I did not find it to be a limitation or a problem. The only other thing I would have definitely liked is an extra bed. We were three and had to accommodate on the fairly large bed. All in all, I was very happy with my stay and will return. Thanks.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room at the first floor. You may get a nicer view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shri_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divinehome, Owner at Divine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review on our property, we were glad to know that you had a good stay with us. As we were reading your review , we seen that you were looking for a meal choice which is not available at the guest house, to that we would really love to have meal choices or full breakfast menu choice to our guests which we used to run a full English breakfast for 18 years and guests used to relish on the breakfast but we have stopped from the last 2-3 years as now we are not able to handle that section. But we would still look if we could add a few items in the future, thanks for letting us know.
Regarding an extra bed, we normally operate on a double occupancy only most of the time in the year however in some cases we give it for a triple occupancy in some rooms and so we don't have that arrangements but we can always give an extra mattress in the future whenever required..I think that would help guests to be comfortable too..
We wish you all the best and you are most welcome as our guests at any time.
God bless u

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.1 mi away
Baia Do sol
Baia Do sol
#16 of 23 in Baga
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#42 of 116 in Calangute
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baga Yotel
Baga Yotel
#41 of 109 in Bardez
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braganza Guest House
Braganza Guest House
#11 of 217 in Calangute
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Stanley's Guest House
#8 of 46 in Baga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divine Guest House

Address: River-Cross | Baga, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £21 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Divine Guest House Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing