We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Bachelors but needs to be maintained better.”
Review of O Camarao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O Camarao Hotel
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for Bachelors but needs to be maintained better.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were a group of 8, stayed in 4 rooms. Each costed us 600 per day for a room of 2 between 21st-23rd June.

Positives:
-Not like a typical hotel, so good for city guys who want to get away from the city life completely.
-Very close to the beach, hardly 30 seconds away. The back gate leads you straight to the beach.
-Calangute Bus Stand is hardly a 3 minute walk.
-A lady who runs the whole thing by herself will always be ready to help up to 6 PM

Negatives:
-No AC(like I said, away from city life), but they have a fan.
-Lots of Mosquitoes(but they provide coils)
-Serious lack of maintenance, they let plastic be around everywhere which led to water stagnating and hence more mosquitoes.
-They have like a mini-pool which has water stagnated I don't know for how long. If this was cleaned and maintained properly it would have just been amazing.
-No one to help you after 6 as the main lady leaves at 6.
-No built in Restaurant/bar, but the beach is close by so you'll get it all there.

I would surely go back here, but if they cleaned up and maintained the place a little more I would suggest it to all. So until then I'll suggest it to only guys.

Value for money, but could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karthik119913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Its a nice place to stay if u just want a place to rest in night...no fancy facilities like TV/AC/Restaurents etc. Its USP is its location. Just few seconds walk and you are at the Calangut beach, one of the most happening beach in Goa. Owner is always ready to help you with his honest opinions but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shri2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Its a basic accomodation near calangute beach.. (20-25 mtrs).. they provide clean simple rooms / huts (Cabanas) with bed and a almirah.. bathrooms are average size. best part of this property is that.. its nr to the beach.. lots of fresh air and light.. rooms are clean... its a very value for money accommodation.. they may not clean your room every day but if u request then brooming will be done :).. this was my second stay at this property.. i knew what all i would get hence had no expectations.. nd i loved my stay.. like always.. go Goa!! its a nice stay for stags but family looking for services may not like it..

Imp: Their restaurant is not open all time.. u need to tell the cook in advance should you need any meal!!...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukeshtibs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The Hotel is on the calangute Beach...Its just a min from the beach..the bamboo cottages with simple furnitures adds to a very natural feeling...its a awesome break from the city life living in sky scrapers..Its worth the money....in the evening you have candles lit on the tables in the open air sitting area where you can have a very personal and silent dinner with a couple of drinks..the staff is very friendly..I will be staying here when ever i visit Goa in future..and have recommended the hotel to my friends as well..

Room Tip: Go for the bamboo cottages to get the real essence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koeli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Yes, this should be your Plan 'Z' and only because its so close to the Beach.

The Managing 'Aunty' is very strong headed lady, don't trouble her too much she seemed to be the only person doing anything there, be kind to her she will help you out.

Go with your own set of lock and keys avoid leaving valuables in the rooms. Perfect for a crash pad and a shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Except the location of this hotel(not a resort for sure), no other elements will bring you back to this. Beach is in near sight.
Locating this hotel in calangute was a big challenge for us. Rooms are very small, i bet no 3rd person can be accomodated. No A/C, TV, just a bed and bathroom.
When we are not satisfied and asked for checking out before the reserved schedule, the Staff started threatening us not to give the ID cards unless we make a full payment(we have given our IDs for their security purpose). Out of staff, one lady was there, and she was very rude and dont know how to talk or convince the customers. They were not polite to us as we requested to change the reservation.
Overall except the location which is near to beach, everything else is not good.

Room Tip: If you are with friends, you can find so many accomodations lesser than this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank anand y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

if you are along with your friends this is the place to be!!!!!!!!

pros: bang on calangute beach 100 mtrs max.
100 mtrs from calangute main market.
800 Rs for a room double/triple occupancy.
room service not taken .
rooms are clean .





cons: none

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhishek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#46 of 113 in Calangute
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 113 in Calangute
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#29 of 113 in Calangute
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#43 of 113 in Calangute
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calangute Residency
Calangute Residency
#18 of 113 in Calangute
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#44 of 113 in Calangute
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Camarao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Camarao Hotel

Property: O Camarao Hotel
Address: Umtavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
O Camarao Hotel Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing