We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lambana”
Review of Lambana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lambana Resort
Ranked #32 of 124 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at the Lambana Resort, Calangute. Must confess arriving at 2.30 in the morning after a 10 hour flight, tired and emotional - my first thoughts of Calangute were Oh No - hopefully the reviews that told us we'd get over this would be true. They were - within a couple of days we had become Goa converts. The Lambana was a great hotel for first timers - ideal location - accommodation was basic but clean - and a total oasis from the chaos that is the Baga Road. It is situated on this road - but out the back of the hotel you barely hear the chaos and the pool area is great - space is limited but for a 25 roomed hotel is a reasonable sized pool - they need to update the sunbeds a bit - they were a bit tired - but the pool boy was always there to provide towels and a lovely smile and tried to please everyone. The waiters were all great - despite language barrier with some - everything was served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Peter stood out - this must be said - and loved when he was there - as he could get the kitchen to conjure up something not on the menu to our tastes. Overall the Lambana tried to accommodate everyone and provided service far and beyond it's star rating - patience is required because of the language problems with some and also the general Goan way of doing things - but slip in to a relaxed attitude and you will soon go with the flow. The new bar was great and prices cheaper than some of the bars in the area. The restaurant is a work in progress but we were never disappointed in anything they produced and who could not complain at the prices......

Calangute is very busy, frantic resort and would not be to everyone's taste - but there are other quieter and slightly less frantic resorts nearby a cheap taxi ride away - this being said it is necessary to haggle big style for a decent taxi price - they have- as other reviews and comments on the forum say - got very greedy and quote way above the odds - but they will give in eventually.

Overall our holiday was beyond expectations partly due to the hotel being of a better standard than expected and the willingness of the staff to make sure everyone was happy. We would all happily return to the hotel and Goa - the sooner the better

Room Tip: Email hotel directly and request pool view room as first choice - side room as second. The front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScotlandKatyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just retuned to the Uk following a seven night stay at this hotel. Having travelled to Goa on a number of occasions I expected the hotel to be fairly basic however this was below that !

Day 1 after a long flight from the UK arriving at 0330am we were given room 102. We left our suitcases on the floor and went straight to sleep. The next morning awoke to find the floor flooded and as the cases were on the floor - the water had seeped into them and soaked a large number of clothes. Went to reception to complain and were told to leave the key and enjoy the goa sunshine and they would look into it. At the time the tour operator rep was there who did manage to get them to give us another room but he had to argue. The hotel was very quiet so it should not had been a problem. There was no apology offered from the hotel - they couldn't care less!

breakfast is the worst I have ever had in all my travels to India - went once after that ate elsewhere

The pool is supposed to be open 9am to 6pm however at approx 230am on Tuesday night an unofficial pool party happened which was extremely loud disturbing a number of rooms. The receptionist the next day did not care - where was security anyway ?

The aircon unit in the room is constantly stopping working and when it does work is very noisy.


Seriously there is far better accommodation for the same price or less in Goa

Avoid this place the staff don't deserve to be in the hotel business !

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tony0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My partner and I chose the Lambana hotel due to the great trip advisor comments and we were not disappointed. This was our first trip outside of Europe and our whole 2 week holiday in goa was so good we are visiting the Lambana hotel again in February 2013 so we can finish seeing all the places we missed last time (there are many places to see and visit in Goa). Other guests stated that they had stayed in other hotels in goa which were awful and not as nice as the Lambana even if they had 3-4*. The staff were very friendly and the waiters were very attentive although not over the top, our room was very clean and comfortable (when you want your room cleaned just ask at reception and drop your key in), the mini bar was restocked each time the room was cleaned, the tv had films on each night (great if you have a night in), the air con worked very well, we had a great room overlooking the pool with a balcony, again it was so nice I have requested 102 again. The pool is adequate size and is maintained daily, there are also taxi's just outside the hotel, we used the same person (raj) for the whole 2weeks and he was great with decent English and stays with you for the whole day for very reasonable prices. The safe deposit boxes are near reception and to open these requires two keys, our own and receptions (we had no issues with this and felt that our belongings were very safe there). The beach is a 5-10min walk away and although it's a busy beach there was so much to see and do, if you use use the sun loungers at the beach shacks they ensure that you are left in peace and quiet and prevent any one trying to haggle/ hassle you. We also felt that the haggling was no where near as bad as we thought it may be in India, if we told someone no they would go away unlike Egypt where we were harassed everywhere. There is also a 5* restaurant nearby called 'after 7' previously called 'after 8' about a 5-10min drive away which was amazing 3 courses, cocktails, fine dining under the stars all for around £50 great for a special night out. The baga road is busy and the restaurants are fairly basic although they tend to everyone's needs, a short drive to candolim will also provide you with more restaurant options. The breakfast at the Lambana is basic although is perfectly adequate to see you over until lunch time and for a tiny charge you can order different types of breakfast including fruit baskets and cereal.

I think the Lambana deserves a 3* rating as it was so much more than expected from a 2* hotel, thanks again to all the staff who made our holiday one to remember and we shall see you in February!

Amy Styles and Jon Western (the tattooed couple)

Room Tip: Request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

3 Days 2 Nights stay at the hotel has been the most mesmerising part of my GOA trip.
There's a pure veg restaurant opposite to the hotel which was an icing on cake for a pure veg like me.
During my visit there was an offer running for 3 pint beers 100rs & free veg crispy :)

Room Tip: Poolside View Room no 102 or 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daku_dugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed here in August 2012 for 3 nights. The place is located at a very convenient location.

The rooms are extremely clean ..spick and span ..with wooden floors...a TV with cable..a mini fridge (bar too) split AC in all the rooms and very good amenities..

I came in the OFF season and the rate was only Rs.1200INR per night including a Buffet Breakfast (between 7:30am-10:30am)

The Room Service Menu is also very reasonably priced. The hotel is very well maintained even though it is the off season and it is a pleasure to stay here

It is located 400 meters away from the main road..and is in MAIN calangute.

Had a lovely stay here! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SktPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Good and Clean rooms,Clean Pool,Friendly staff,Good location,good standard food and what not.Manager constantly checks on everything to ensure good service.Melissa always greets you with a smile.'The boys' also provide real good service.Service is also fast.
We were 32 people and it was our first time in GOA.Lambana made our stay more comfortable.
And it has the best shopping streets nearby.You can get whatever you want close to the hotel itself but make sure you bargain. And pool side rooms are awesome.All the rooms are air-conditioned equipped with essentials such as coffee kettle,mini-fridge and all.
So if you want a budget hotel with international standards make sure you stay in LAMBANA.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teja249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice hotel. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Air con and TV in room. Good location only 10 -15 min walk to calangute beach. Bar is limited (only a table with drinks on top) and closed fairly early but the hotel is in a good location that this isn't really a problem. Staff were friendly. Ask for a room overlooking pool as front is on a very busy road and can get noisy and to the side, it is very close to other buildings making balconies very shady. Would definately recommend this hotel. Plan to return in December.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uglybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#28 of 124 in Calangute
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#47 of 124 in Calangute
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#54 of 124 in Calangute
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#42 of 124 in Calangute
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#37 of 124 in Calangute
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#104 of 124 in Calangute
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambana Resort

Address: Calangute - Baga Rd | Near Sao Joe Baptista Chapel, Umttawado, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lambana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Lambana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambana Hotel Calangute
Lambana Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing