We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Review of Lambana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lambana Resort
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just back from a 3 week stay at the Lambana hotel Jan 8th-Jan 30th 2013. The Lambana is a small friendly hotel located on the main Baga road. The rooms were clean and comfortably albeit, the beds ar rather hard but I understand that's normal!. If you request room clean daily your sheets and towels are changed each day. Hot running shower was great!. Our view was not great as we were over looking what looked like a derilict building however, as we spent so little time in our room this did not really bother us. Dining at the hotel is very good however, the breakfast is very basic and was cold on some days but, you can order most things at a small extra costs. All the staff are very helpful and the service in the bar and restaurant is vey good. For a budget hotel the Lambana offers a lot.
Hotel location is good as it is central to getting around. The Baga road is very busy and noisy particuarly at weekends. Note for ladies! No high heels ! There are no pavements to walk on and you are walking in the road which is very dusty and often walking on rubble so flat shoes are a must!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was our first holiday to Goa, so we were unsure what to expect of the hotels; en route to Calangute from the airport, my partner & I noted many hotels along the way, most of which looked much neglected and some were downright derelict! Therefore, on arrival at the Lambana Hotel Resort, we were pleasantly surprised and relieved to discover that it’s a smart-looking building and spotlessly clean inside. It is situated on Baga Road, which seems to be the vibrant hub of the whole town, both sides of the road crammed full of shops, stalls, bars, restaurants, services etc. We were told by our rep that most beds in India are as hard as rocks; our beds though hard, were surprisingly comfortable. The mini-bar fridge was stocked with water, soft drinks and beer, all at very reasonable prices and was replenished every day when the room was cleaned. They also offer a good next-day laundry service, again at very reasonable rates, which we used twice during our stay, and found the service to be very acceptable.
The hotel food is beautifully presented. I went to compliment the chef one evening on a wonderful meal, and noted the kitchen was spotlessly clean. My only critique regarding the cuisine is that the menu is not as varied as we would have liked. I know when abroad you should sample the local cuisine, but sometimes you just want some ordinary English food, and that was in short supply. Also, the service is rather slow (average waiting time for a meal is about30 mins), but everything is cooked to order and is therefore fresh and worth the wait.
As regards the evening entertainment, Monday & Wednesday are Karaoke Nights, hosted by a local guy with a very nice, western-sounding voice. The atmosphere in the bar and outside during these sessions is great! On Thursdays and Fridays however, they have singer/keyboard players performing mainly English/European songs. At least, I think they were English songs, but the singers didn’t really pronounce the words correctly (and weren’t always in tune!), so it made it difficult to recognise some of the songs! However, they were pleasant people, trying their best, and we still enjoyed those evenings in the bar.
The swimming pool though not very deep (2’ 4” - 4’ 7”) was ideal for us, and it was very clean and well-maintained every day. If you want something more aquatically challenging, the beach is only a 10 minutes stroll away from the hotel.
What made our stay at the Lambana particularly pleasurable was the staff; from the manager to Melissa on the reception desk, to all the cleaning staff, the bar staff, the pool attendant, the security guard on the gates (keeping out beggars and hawkers) and in particular the waiters: Deep, Mahesh, David, Ashley, Peter and Raj and others (whose names we didn’t know). They couldn’t do enough for us, and always with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. They seemed very professionally-trained, and they all spoke English (although some better than others!)
We enjoyed our stay at The Lambana Resort Hotel so much; we have decided to return there in November 2014 for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful room, request one facing the pool. However, if you like to watch the world g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

After arriviing at the hotel about midnight, we got off to a bad start when we were told they had no booking for us.They put us in a taxi and sent us to their sister hotel (the somy resort) where we had to spend the night. Not a nice place the room was very very basic, we spent most of the night in a bar across the road,the five and a half hour time difference came in handy. After seeing the thomas cook rep the next morning we were transfered back to the lambana, the rep and the managment from both hotels could not appologise enough. we were given a late checkout on our last day and a couple of free meals in the restaurant. They asked if we wanted to see the room but we knew it had to be better than the somy resort,and it was. A mini bar the same price as the bar downstairs,a T.V with plenty of english speaking channels(inc premiership football) and large walk in shower(wetroom).

Our room was at the front of the hotel and yes it is a very busy road, but we loved it. the noise of the traffic never woke us up but we can sleep anywhere. Sitting on the balcony watching the road was great entertainment, being our first trip to goa we were always amazed by the wandering cows and the famlies of five on a little moped.

All of the staff in the hotel were fantastic, nothing was ever a problem and they could 'nt do enough for you. we spent a lot of time in the hotel bar which was very cheap with three bottles of kingfisher lager for 99 rupees(the exchange rate was hovering round 86 to the pound). you get a few non residents wandering in off the road because it is such a nice bar and there is entertainment a couple of nights a week.

The food was very nice from breakfast to dinner and the free meals they gave us we gave the price of the meals in tips to the staff.

Outside the hotel has to be seen to be believed,the amount of traffic on the roads will leave you gobsmacked,mopeds,bikes,people,taxis,tuk-tuks and cows everywhere. On our first day we wondered if we would ever cross the road but you just walk out into the middle of it and everything seems to flow around you(if you're worried walk next to a cow the cars avoid them).

One of the downsides of Goa is the rubbish and litter, it's everywhere no one seems to care they just seem to sweep it from one shopfront to the next and then back again. Parts of the beach are in a bit of a state too but not being beach lovers we did'nt spend much time there.
We did spend a night in a beach hut at Morjim about half an hour away, the beach was much nicer but nothing to shout about and the power went off when my wife switched on the hot water for a shower sending everywhere into darkness.

The highlight of the holiday was riding an elephant and having an elephant shower where it sprays you from its trunk while you sit on its back,do this even if you do nothing else.

The amount of bars and restaurants around the hotel are to many to mention,whatever your taste in food you will find it somewhere.Like one of the other reviewers we found The melting pot very nice.

And last the price of things, if you smoke, Benson and hedges are easily available at 120 rupees a pack(about £1.40) so don't buy loads at the airport or on the plane like we did.
And i promised a mention to these people Romano optics in the centre of calangute where i had two pairs of variafocals with a free eyetest for £140, P R enterprises at the end of baga beach where i had a made to measure suit for £100 and Skintouch leather shop just down from the hotel where my wife bought a good quality handbag.

Overall we had a fantastic time,perfect weather in January and so cheap you can do anything you want. I can see why people go back year after year but we like to try different places.
Thank you to everyone we met both locals and tourists for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank standhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed at the Lambana November / December 2012, the room was nice & the air conditioning was also powerful & you didn’t have to pay extra for it which was a bonus.
The pool area was nice but there are only a few sunbeds (about 10) & they could all do with upgrading, the pool boy was friendly & always on hand to offer you a towel, the pool was a nice place to spend an hour our so at the end of the day but I wouldn’t want to spend all day around it. We sent most of our time at the beach, which is about a 10-15 minute walk.
We ate a t the hotel a couple of times & thought the food was nice, although there are lots of other places close by to eat too, the bar had a good selection of drinks & was very cheap!
The staff are friendly & helpful although there was sometimes a languages problem as some of the staff speak very little English but they work hard & try their best to please everyone.
The only downside to our stay was the very busy road outside the hotel; as soon as you step outside the hotel you walk straight out onto a very busy road, which seems busy 24/7. There are no paths either so if you stay here take some comfortable footwear & not flip-flops or sandals as it is very dusty & you could easily hurt your feet. The noise from the road seemed constant & went on all night; we had a room at the side of the hotel & could still hear quite a lot of traffic/horns etc.
Overall the noise/roads didn’t spoil our first trip to Goa & I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay, although the hotel is in a busy area the location does mean you are close to everything, Candolim & Baga are also easily accessible from The Lambana.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingermoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

we stayed at this hotel for three weeks over the new year.the lambana is a great hotel we stayed in room 102 overlooking the pool the room was plenty big enough with ample wardrobe space and was very clean.the hotel is in a great location and all of the staff are so very friendly and helpfull the breakfast is very good eggs toast cereal and an indian breakfast too , the restaurant has a varied menu which was also very good and a bar with a great choice of drinks i can honestly say i cannot find one neggative thing to say ,so to all you staff at the lambana a big thankyou and hope to see you all again next dec xx

Room Tip: if you prefer quiet the pool facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel over New Year and had a brilliant time. Admittedly the traffic outside was mental all day and night leading upto new year but come the 2nd of Jan it quietens down and the wandering cows return!!

The hotel is brilliant, all the staff in the hotel and adjoining restaurant are all exceptionally friendly. The room we had was clean with a poolview balcony.

It was conveniently placed for strolls along the shops and to either calangute or baga beach.

Room Tip: request poolview room as they will be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for two weeks in December. After a good flight with Thomas Cook, we arrived at 2am and the reception staff checked us in very efficiently and showed us to a room overlooking the pool. The hotel is on a very busy main road and the traffic can be horrendous at times. There is almost always some noise even in the rooms overlooking the pool. The only time it is quiet is in the early hours. The staff were very helpful, rooms cleaned daily, pool area was always clean and the pool was pleasant to swim. This was our 3rd visit to Goa and the breakfast is average for Goa but we were not happy about the food being left out in the open to go cold and always ordered freshly cooked eggs and toast. Some mornings we ate out at Pasniks or the Melting Pot, both very good and close to the hotel. If we could pick up the hotel and move it to some other locations in Goa we would book this hotel every time. We wouldn't stay in Calangute again, it's too busy and dirty but we will visit the Lambana for a meal and drink next time we are in Goa. The title says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bossyboots48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#33 of 116 in Calangute
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#30 of 116 in Calangute
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#47 of 116 in Calangute
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#43 of 116 in Calangute
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Shore Beach Resort
Sea Shore Beach Resort
#42 of 116 in Calangute
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambana Resort

Address: Near Sao Joao Baptista Chapel | Umtavaddo, Calangute Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range: £29 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lambana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lambana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambana Hotel Calangute
Lambana Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing