We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lambanna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lambana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lambana Resort
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lambanna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

hotel clean room cleaned daily if you wanted staff friendly especially peter an raj and the security guy at front had a room over looking pool which was quite food was good especially the pizza breakfast mostly consited of eggs anyway you liked an toast but wasgood overall a good holliday and will go back again next year

Room Tip: get a pool room not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I will say from the start that we normally stay in 3 or 4 star hotels in Goa, so maybe we have been spoilt. But we wanted to stay in Calangute for the New Year celebrations,
and our normal sort of hotels’ prices were far too high. So we saved a lot of spending money, but we got what we paid for- a cheap Goan 2 star, but one of the better ones.

We were in the Lambana at the same time as millsywatts below, and her review sums it up pretty well, but I’d add a few more good and bad points.

Good points:
We liked the bar at the front of the hotel. We don’t normally drink in our posher hotels that are down side streets with nothing going on, but although the music was bit loud under a speaker, we loved watching the world wander past with cheap drink in hand. Also good having the taxi rank outside- we have had to walk a long way to get one before.
The location was great for walking to all our favourite bars and restaurants in Calangute and Baga, but also to the Infantaria cafe, whose Samosas were to die for. There are signs saying “No outside food”, but no one said anything when I used to go and get samosa and cakes from there for lunch.
The pool was clean, warm and really quiet- at times we were the only people using it. Could have done with better ladders- they had rungs, not steps, but part from that it was a real treat.
The staff were all really cheerful, especially the lady on reception, and treated you like guests without the bowing and scraping like we have had at some hotels.
We only ate in the hotel once, apart from breakfast, but the food was good and the prices reasonable. Breakfast was OK, and I liked the chap who manned the toaster so we didn’t have to queue.
A well-stocked fridge in the room with water, beer and pop at a good price, plus tea and coffee making equipment and supplies. Some recent reports have complained at not being offered refreshments when they checked in. Well open the fridge and have a beer on the balcony, like we did!.
Speaking of the balcony, we had a corner room at the back, 202, that gave us a quiet night, and a view of the pool, and also the small road down the side of the hotel. This was a nice place to sit and watch the less frenetic traffic, including cows and bicycle vendors, and watch the sun set behind the coconut trees.

Bad points;
As millisy said, the red dust from the road works got everywhere- so why not put down more mats to us wipe our feet on? We ended up using wet ones on our feet before going in the bathroom, but there were still muddy footprints to be cleaned most days.
We also had pigeon problems- we had them nesting on our balcony at one point, but that was sorted after we mentioned it. But every day there were new droppings on our balcony,
and we never wanted to leave our clothes on the rails in case something nasty got on them. The whole place had droppings and feathers everywhere, but to be fair they did try to clean them up every few days.
The room was fine for storage space, but little things niggled like no toilet roll holder, no knobs on the wardrobe doors making them hard to open, and the rail in the wardrobe too high for the OH to use easily. And the hardest bed I have ever struggled to sleep on. But every light switch worked, which is a rare bonus, and the fan and A/C were very good.
As others have said, the towels and sheets could have been newer and look cleaner, but again, you get what you pay for, and we know you rarely get gleaming white in Goa.
A safe in the room would have been good, but the safety deposits by reception seemed fairly secure.

At first sight we weren’t too happy at the slightly worn at the edges appearance and grubbiness of this hotel. Definitely not place for cleanliness fanatics. But as old Goa hand (9th visit) we pretty much knew what to expect, and we grew to like the place for its good atmosphere and great location. The unfinished pavement outside was a pain, for the dust that got everywhere, and for having to climb in and out over the high kerbs and rubble.
But that will be fixed sometime (hopefully), and you can’t blame the hotel for road works. So yes, we had a lovely time, and would definitely recommend it for experienced Goa visitors.
We will be back in years to come-and maybe a finished pavement, a few less feathered pests, and a lick of paint will get the Lambana an extra mark next time.

Room Tip: We had 202 at the back and would ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriuumphNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 7 th time to Goa and 1st time staying at the Lambana, staying for two weeks over the busy Xmas & New year period. We picked this hotel because of its location it is walking distance to everything we like to do,knowing how hectic this time of year can be.
We was travelling in a large group of 8 (4 rooms), some of us used to 2* standards,some not and two 1st timers. So I was a little bit worried for the others especially being team leader, but I didn't have to worry, staying at the lambana ticked all the boxes, ok yes there was good & bad points but being a Goa regular you expect that.
Good points!
. Location - calangute & baga all walking distance
. Staff - so friendly and always helpful, waiters Raj & Peter where fun, room boys very sweet and honest, and the reception girl was the best of all.
. Food - breakfast was satisfactory eggs anyway you like for free and tea & toast with red jam not pink as in other hotels lol. We had evening meals twice and found the snacks lovely.
. Pool - very clean and in the sun most of the day.
.Taxi drivers - not pushy and friendly and being regulars to Goa they knew I knew the prices and didn't want a taxi all the time and was fine about that and always helped my Mum who has walking difficulties across the road.
Bad points
. Room - was very dusty from the road works and didn't look like it had been cleaned for a long time, so out came the wet wipes. Told them in morning and they moped the floor, not to our standards but better, got used to black feet everyday lol.
Room is quite small, bonus shower lovely and hot and air con and fan working and do not have to pay extra as all in price as standard.
. view - don't look is the answer, unless you have pool view at the back.
. Bar - very slow service and played music to loud, can't here yourself think.
- Road & path - very difficult to get into the hotel at present with the path being done, lots of rubble to climb over and making everything nearby dirty. But this will be all done soon, so don't let that put you off staying here in the future.
Overall a fantastic time staying at the Lambana and the good out way the bad, I would return again and recommend this hotel for a 2*. If you don't like loud and a busy area then this hotel is not for you. Thank you to all the staff love Mirinda and gang xx

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank millseywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 week stay at the lambana. The view from the room was not great but as it is onlt a base to sleep I did not let it bother me to much. The pool area was very clean with towels provided. Breakfast was good and served by friendly staff Peter an Raj were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the lambana staff. The young lady at reception always greeted us with a smile . Would stay here again basic yes but good location and clean inside the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen rowena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Went to Lambana Rosort for Christmas and the New year this hotel was the best place I have stayed in on my third visit to Goa the floors was very dusty maybe as they were working on the pavement but told staff and it was all washed .The staff was wonderful would go back to this hotel but ask for a back room off the road . Lovely holiday thanks you to all the lovely staff at the Lambana

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of hotel as it's on main busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very pleased with our stay here, large room, air conditioned, coffee making facilities, reasonably priced mini bar. Pool area in sun all of the day, plentiful sun beds & very clean. Side rooms are larger than the standard rooms (although no view to get excited about). Rooms at the rear overlook the pool & would be a lot quieter than the rooms at the front that overlook the main road - though that is free entertainment!

Room Tip: Pool rooms for quietness, side rooms for size. There is no lift in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linconshire couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Not a lot to be said in favour of this hotel.
Arrived in the early hours to find all the staff asleep, we were shown to our room but not offered any hospitality after what was a very exhausting day. We had requested a quiet room but was given a room at the front which was on the main road and the traffic noise is unbelievable in Calangute & we both found it impossible to sleep despite our fatigue. (We changed rooms the following morning to a side room which was bigger & somewhat quieter.) However the beds were like sleeping on concrete and near impossible to sleep on. We found the food in the Resort Restaurant was poor & we couldn't get anything off the menu and when we asked about other items we were told it was not included although the waiters were friendly if somewhat slow.
The pool was very clean and well maintained, such a welcome relief from the heat every day.The pool man was very polite and always on hand if we needed anything.
Calangute beach & Baga Beach were very busy & to be honest too crowded for us, it's almost impossible to walk the beach as all the beach shack boys constantly try to get you to choose their Beach shack. We went to a couple. Zanzibar and the Hard Rock both were very good and the service was brilliant. We often took a taxi to other beaches in the area and these were much nicer and very quite, Mandrem beach and Ashwem Beach were near perfect if you could block out the Russians, but they seemed to be everywhere you went.
We also took an overnight trip to Cola Beach and stayed in a tent on the beach, this was such a refreshing change from the noise of Calangute. The beach was private and at the time there were only 2 other couples there so it was very very quite. The food was edible and the staff were always on hand.
There are hundreds of Restaurants in Calangute,Baga & Candolim many of which we tried. Most do Indian, chinese & italian food. Our favourite was just a few feet from the hotel & called the Infantaria, although we also enjoyed the Sousa Loba on the beachfront and Jamies' Place in Baga.
On a positive note we found India to be a wonderful place & the people in Goa to be very friendly.
Would we return? Most definitely ! Just not to the Lambana Resort nor to Calangute...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
1.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#40 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#29 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mira Hotel
Mira Hotel
#50 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#44 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#38 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambana Resort

Property: Lambana Resort
Address: Near Sao Joao Baptista Chapel | Umtavaddo, Calangute Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lambana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lambana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambana Hotel Calangute
Lambana Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing