We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Firstly, I would say the resort is just a another average resort. 3 reasons I would avoid this next time:

1) Rooms are just ok with little interiors and BAD pillows (Hard ones), rooms stink when you checkin- bathroom sucks..!!!
2) Breakfast is a favour to the guests- just sucks..no options to the guests- Bread, omelette, one indian curry, cornflakes, Buttermilk..thats It!!!..almost feels like you are living in the lost world or Big Brother!!!
3) No Private beach..not even safety to the guests using the beach!!!

The only reasons that I would get back is the staff- friendly especially the restaurant and the reception.

I would recommend a better place for the money here..in Calungute/Baga!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skumar1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Located on one of the best beaches in Goa this place gives you such a warm feel from the word go. The food here is great and the hotel staff is extremely co-ordial. We were a huge group of friends and we had an awesome time at the pool in the resort with complete privacy and no interference from the staff. Hugely recommended for its value for money, good food and unbeatable location!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShreyaHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It has a homely feel with the best locations near by. The beach is off the hotel shack and the best view to dine with. Calangute and Baga are walking distance via the beach. Staff of the hotel are friendly and warm. A well run family business & I am sure it will stay that way. If you are looking for a good place near to everything, safe (even for single lady travelers), clean and mostly efficient staff – you need not look any further. Rosanna at the front desk has the answers to all your doubts and does an amazing job. Being a hotelier I can get very picky and analytical and the place was way better than I expected.

Room Tip: It has a homely feel with the best locations near by. The beach is off the hotel shack and the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Goa & 2nd visit to Chalston Beach Resort. Although this resort is still unbeatable due to its location, ambience & pricing combined, I found its value diminishing this year:
1. The restaurant staff has been changed this year & is horrible compared to last year's...they were more interested in wrapping up tables than serving guests! Food, although reasonable, is very boring & you run out of options if you stay for more than 2 nights. Music in the restaurant is too boring, old fashioned & stereotyped.
2. Behaviour of Mr. Chalston(if you run into him) continues to be unappealing & thank God we had Rossanna & Anthony at the reception to cover him up! This time Chalston has created a rule of charging Rs.1000 for late checkout of even 10mins! And he gets angry even if you call a taxi from outside!
3. The decor that was there on my 1st visit to Chalston is no more there. Lights have been removed from the beachfront & it looks like a haunted place after dark. The games were no more there.
4. After the numerous comments on various reviews about the breakfast arrangements, I really thought that they would see it & improve...but it was just worse than before! The same Pav & Chana/Aalu, boiled egg & omelette, tea & cornflakes! Am sure that this part is taken care by Chalston himself!

Having said everything, it is still a cool & reasonable place to stay. Continental food is still one of the best here. I would stay again, but give the competition a fair chance before booking Chalston.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location/food of this resort is excellent. Its a big property with nearly 120 rooms of different types. Check the website for rooms type. Parking is limited don't know how they manage in peak periods. But overall its worth to stay.

Room Tip: take rooms near to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaurav4878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here in the 2nd week of September.
Its situated just a 10 min walk from the famous Tito's nightclub.
The hotel ambiance is too good.
Well maintained rooms, nice swimming pool.
Food served near pool and a mini-restaurant near the pool.
A 3 min walk to the Calangute-Baga beach where they have yet another restaurant on the beach too.
Overall a worth for money place.
Will surely visit again .

Room Tip: Opt for the one first from the backside, near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arun_lordpyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the best place in Calangute, This resort is between calangute and baga beaches and resort lies exactly on the beach. It is a just 1 min walk to the beach and a 10 min walk to baga beach. Coming to the resort...the room were well maintained and air conditioned, swimming pool was also there but pretty small,. We didn't have food in the resorts restaurant but breakfast was good.....
Don't miss the sunset in the calangute, you can spend whole evening by sitting in the resort back yard and watching the sunset....

Room Tip: choose room beside pool..they are pretty big compared to the rooms in first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saketh1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
2.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 116 in Calangute
557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#7 of 116 in Calangute
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 116 in Calangute
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: £59 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing