We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalston Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beach Resort”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked 2 rooms here during our trip to Goa. We chose this as it was a beach resort and had some stunning images on website. Experience wise it was pretty decent. Rooms are average. I couldn't find much difference between standard Ac and large Ac rooms except a cupboard. Interiors are ok. Bedsheets and cover have been used for quite some time now and is easily visible with worn out marks, hanging threads and stains. Both our rooms had this bit of issue. I am not sure about other rooms. Complementary breakfast is very average, actually disappointing. However location of restaurant is amazing, right on the beach. Night view of beach is great. Swimming Pool is too small and was always full. Staff is not so courteous and its a challenge to get their attention. Average Food so we preferred eating outside. For the location, I wish they did better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anchit-Thrillophilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    284
    73
    14
    15
See reviews for
240
202
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I checked in for a night at this Hotel at Calangute-Baga stretch in October 2013,with My wife.
The Hotel is situated about 500m inside the main C-B road,U need a hired bike to travel to and fro from this remotely located Hotel. We stayed in a room with 2900/night price. Rooms were good,sufficiently spacious,with very clean/new bath room and a balcony with garden view.
No wi-fi (only at lounge/reception area) or tea/coffee kettle in the room. Beach is just a short walk away.The morning breakfast spread was pathetic, and just for namesake. Pav baji, precooked Omelettes (!!!),Bread,Tea,Lassi and Corn flakes, just the bare minimum.The glass for serving water looked as old as the Hotel itself,stained,smelling and translucent.There were a lot of staff who were least interested in serving the guests,rather they were staring at girls taking a walk on the beach or swimming in the sea. A guy who looked like the Manager/Owner, was there too,after a morning jog,but He was being served a different break fast altogether !!! And also He looked too far from being an approachable or a friendly guy.Good to own such a Hotel,than be a guest !!
And beware-if you happen to check out later than 11 am, they charge you Rs.1000/hour- So rude and unheard of. I have stayed in Hotels across UAE and SE Asia,and never heard of such a charge for a pre informed 30-60 minute delay, if no one else is waiting for your room !!.
So in all-An above average Hotel for its location by the beach and rooms.
Very poor buffet Breakfast spread,and you really need a two/four wheeler to travel from main road to the Hotel.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms facing the beach-Do check out with reception before you go. Avoid Calan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girish_Nair_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed with my friends in this hotel on 26-27 October weekend. It is a great place. Rooms are clean and beach is at a stone throw-away distance. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Our check in time was 12 PM. We reached hotel at about 10.30, but fortunately we didn’t had to wait for rooms as they were vacant. Sincere thanks for that. Also swimming pool is very clean. However then can improve on certain fronts:

1) Choice of food is limited and it’s just average
2) I feel the rooms, foods and amenities are little overpriced.

But on an overall basis we really liked the hotel and will our preferred choice for our next north Goa trip

Room Tip: They have a great variety of rooms. Call up the hotel before booking and chek out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_boy4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Firstly, I would say the resort is just a another average resort. 3 reasons I would avoid this next time:

1) Rooms are just ok with little interiors and BAD pillows (Hard ones), rooms stink when you checkin- bathroom sucks..!!!
2) Breakfast is a favour to the guests- just sucks..no options to the guests- Bread, omelette, one indian curry, cornflakes, Buttermilk..thats It!!!..almost feels like you are living in the lost world or Big Brother!!!
3) No Private beach..not even safety to the guests using the beach!!!

The only reasons that I would get back is the staff- friendly especially the restaurant and the reception.

I would recommend a better place for the money here..in Calungute/Baga!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skumar1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Located on one of the best beaches in Goa this place gives you such a warm feel from the word go. The food here is great and the hotel staff is extremely co-ordial. We were a huge group of friends and we had an awesome time at the pool in the resort with complete privacy and no interference from the staff. Hugely recommended for its value for money, good food and unbeatable location!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreyaHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It has a homely feel with the best locations near by. The beach is off the hotel shack and the best view to dine with. Calangute and Baga are walking distance via the beach. Staff of the hotel are friendly and warm. A well run family business & I am sure it will stay that way. If you are looking for a good place near to everything, safe (even for single lady travelers), clean and mostly efficient staff – you need not look any further. Rosanna at the front desk has the answers to all your doubts and does an amazing job. Being a hotelier I can get very picky and analytical and the place was way better than I expected.

Room Tip: It has a homely feel with the best locations near by. The beach is off the hotel shack and the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Goa & 2nd visit to Chalston Beach Resort. Although this resort is still unbeatable due to its location, ambience & pricing combined, I found its value diminishing this year:
1. The restaurant staff has been changed this year & is horrible compared to last year's...they were more interested in wrapping up tables than serving guests! Food, although reasonable, is very boring & you run out of options if you stay for more than 2 nights. Music in the restaurant is too boring, old fashioned & stereotyped.
2. Behaviour of Mr. Chalston(if you run into him) continues to be unappealing & thank God we had Rossanna & Anthony at the reception to cover him up! This time Chalston has created a rule of charging Rs.1000 for late checkout of even 10mins! And he gets angry even if you call a taxi from outside!
3. The decor that was there on my 1st visit to Chalston is no more there. Lights have been removed from the beachfront & it looks like a haunted place after dark. The games were no more there.
4. After the numerous comments on various reviews about the breakfast arrangements, I really thought that they would see it & improve...but it was just worse than before! The same Pav & Chana/Aalu, boiled egg & omelette, tea & cornflakes! Am sure that this part is taken care by Chalston himself!

Having said everything, it is still a cool & reasonable place to stay. Continental food is still one of the best here. I would stay again, but give the competition a fair chance before booking Chalston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
2.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Property: Chalston Beach Resort
Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing