We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its goa-stay has to be over here”
Review of Hotel Sea Gull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sea Gull
Ranked #69 of 206 Calangute B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If its goa-stay has to be over here”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

An extremely calm,quiet place to stay. A complete value for money.. Starting from rooms to food to hospitality.everything was perfect. Sylvester , alwin u guys were great... And trust me goa wasnt that bad in may ;-)

Cheers,
SS(pune)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shruti_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    27
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
21
51
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hands down one of the best places to stay in Goa! Its clean, cozy, food is great and the best part is the staff, a great group of people who are so very friendly, kind and super sweet. Definitely worth the stay and the prices are very reasonable and worth every penny. The location is great because the beach is just a short walk away... The ambience is fantastic and relaxing.. You can just chillax by the restaurant in front of the big screen with a cold bottle of brew or go for a dip in the pool or just forget your troubles on the balcony of your room! The rooms are very clean and the staff will go out of their way to make sure you stay satisfied. A must in goa! Thanks to Kevin, Alwyn and Ranson for opening their arms and taking me in :D xoxoxo

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akisrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed only one night in the Seagull out of a 3 week trip due to many things.Although the room was small and dark it was clean unlike the balcony which we had two, both of which were filthy.One overlooked the kitchen and the other waste ground.How it can be called a balcony as it is the width and length of the 2 plastic chairs!.The pool if you could call it that was dirty and inadequate for the number of rooms - 4 loungers at a push. The staff were not welcoming and the waiters dissinterested.5 nights a week there is "entertainment" which is loud and resounds throughout the building and beyond.There are far better places nearer the beach and far superior in all aspects a few hundred yards away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeagullManagement, Manager at Hotel Sea Gull, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
This couple had requested a friend of theirs who was a long staying guest in the area to book a hotel for them. The friend came over and said he had researched several hotels around and found the Seagull the best and so booked the room for the couple for 3 weeks.

On arrival we showed them the room and they were very pleased. We also gave them the room 8 hours before their actually check in time FREE considering they had a long flight and we had a vacant room the previous day.

Their friend had promised they would pay on arrival but since they were too tired when they arrived they said they would pay later and were pleased with everything.

The next day the couple said they found a room for Rs 50 (60 pence approx ) cheaper a day and wanted to know if we could further discount an already discounted rate which we declined. We explained we have blocked the room for 21 days and the rate was not further negotiable. We also said they were obliged to pay the same and it was not ethical to change their mind.

We told them that since it was high season rooms sell weeks and sometimes months in advance so their room may not sell at the last minute now for the balance days and the hotel could incur a possible loss of unsold room nights.

The guests were told for cancellation of booking or reducing number of days from 21 days to 1 day only obviously the discount would not be applicable and they would have to pay the full rate.

This annoyed them and the gentleman who was without a shirt exposing all the tattoos on his body started yelling abusive words while smelling of alcohol. His wife too matched his skills and also promised to write a negative review. True to her word she has done so.

If the place was really half as bad as they have made it out to be then its very strange that they did they check in at all in the first place??

If the balcony was really dirty a simple solution is bring it to the notice of the manager and it would be clean't in literally 5 minutes and problem solved.

If the room view was bad then their room could be changed in literally 5 minutes and once again problem solved.

However if one wants to really leave the place for a petty Rs 50/ day difference then one will sound too cheap to actually mention that on TripAdvisor and so find fault with anything, everything and nothing as the above review clearly exhibits.

Trust this more appropriately explains the review.

Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Hotel Seagull is a comfortable and clean hotel with spacious, nicely furnished rooms (A/C, TV, fridge etc). It is conveniently located only a few minutes walk from Calangute beach and also ideally situated for easy access to Baga, Candolim and Anjuna. The hotel restaurant offers a wide variety of food at decent prices and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. A friendly place (very helpful staff and owners), nicely decorated and very good value for money – would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday stay in GOA.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish-wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have been to goa 8 times and these rooms are excellent. Very clean and the owners Kevin,Andrew and Sylvester are 1st class.

They will do anything for you and nothing is to much trouble ask for something that's not on the menu and they will try and get you it for another night

I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

we have visitited the seagull hotel & restaurant on many occasions over past years. and always go back there, when we are in goa. it is a lovely family run place. very nicely decorated externally and well furnished within. the rooms are nice, clean & spacious. the hotel is well located on holiday street, close to the beach. in the evening the restaurant is a very lively place serving great food. had some good times in goa at the seagull with the owners/brothers andrew, kevin & sylvester and their staff. we would always go back to the seagull when in goa.

paul.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Went their with my wife - Feb 2012.

I wanted a hotel which was closer to the beach and thus after searching over various sites found this. We reached their quite early in the morning but as specified already, the check-in could not happen before 10. The hotel owner - Alvin was very helpful. We left our luggage at the hotel and went to beach for 2 hours and then checked-in later.

The location of the hotel is its greatest plus-point. It is located at the Calangute Beach (Southern Side from the main public beach) and the distance to the beach is hardly 500 meters which can be covered in maximum 10 minutes.

Rooms are decent and equipped with TV and air-conditioner. Hotel has a restaurant/Bar big enough to accommodate all the guests. Prices are moderate. Though for a pure vegetation, the options may seem a little less.

One of the main roads of Goa "Fort Agauda Road" is just 5 mins from this hotel which connects it to Baga beach, Anjuna Beach, main calangute etc. and Fort Aguada on the other side. Very close-by to the hotel, there are malls and shops where you can find anything if required.

Plus points of the hotel -
- The area "Holiday Street" is mostly occupied by non-indians. During my visit, the ratio was approximately 85%-90% from outside the country. So, we being Indians did not feel awkward in beach attire among them... :)
- At the beach, we could easily find shaded chairs of one of the shacks their and spent almost 5-6 hrs of the day laying around in the sun/sea/water sports. Food as well as drinks were served there at decent prices.
- While these 5-6 hrs of the stay at beach, we were hardly approached by any hawkers for food/water sport/tattoos/photos etc. while when visiting the main calangute for roughly 15 minutes, at least 20 people have asked us for the same.

Recommendation:

This hotel is best if you are looking for a peaceful stay, beach proximity and you want to spend most of your time at the beach. If you want to roam around GOA, the location is decent enough. Do not expect high standards of Room Service though the cleanliness is decent enough.

Room Tip: Can prefer the rooms which are on the other side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh_Meena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.9 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#34 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#7 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#17 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dona Julia
Dona Julia
#11 of 206 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Theresa
Hotel Villa Theresa
#85 of 206 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Italy
Little Italy
#42 of 206 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Gull

Property: Hotel Sea Gull
Address: Holiday Street | Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sea Gull 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sea Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Gull Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing