We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay which will 'stay' close to my heart!”
Review of Cap's Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cap's Corner
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Goa has always surprised me & this time it was Cap's Corner. It just turned out as good and real as it looked on the website. Hospitality is their biggest forte and they lived up to it. The helping staff is their biggest asset. Complimentary Port Wine to celebrate my friend's and my birthday made our stay even more joyful. The rooms were clean and a perfect value for money. The AC was in perfect condition and made our summer a lot cooler. The sit out(ground floor) amidst the lush greens makes you fall in love with this place. The mini refrigerator has enough space to fill in the stock for a better stay. The location(Calangute- Baga road) makes it a better bet. Both Calangute and Baga beach are a few minutes walk from the Hotel. The eat outs/restaurants is rampant in and around the hotel and adds up to the ante.
The location and sleep quality are the two biggest plus point. Hospitality adds up and make this place even more better. The only complain area was the complimentary breakfast with very few/limited options to choose from the menu. Else was a perfect 3 nights stay. I am definitely coming back to this place!

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor is a better bet(#101 & 102). One will love the sit outs amongst the lu...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Ravi!.

Thanks for your precious review & for giving us a chance to serve you. Pleased to know that you & your friends had a great time at Cap's Corner. We will surely work into complimentary breakfast section.Thanks for taking time to share your holiday experience on trip advisor. We hope to welcome you home again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Cap's Corner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having perused numerous hotels/homestays/guest houses, we zeroed in on Cap's corner! Boy oh boy! i wish i had known about this place sooner. Being a frequent traveller to Baga, i couldn't have asked for a better stay! The hospitality, cleanliness, value for money is what makes Cap's corner an ideal place to stay when holidaying in Baga! We stayed at Cap's corner in Oct 2013 for 5 nights. This place honestly has the best staff! Whether it was Kumar who helped with transport, Melissa who greeted each of us with a geranium and helping us visit the best local places, Cap's corner is a delight! I'll certainly be residing here in the future!
P.S: i know this review is long overdue! BUt you know what they say...better late than never:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberDBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Amberyn!

Thank you ever so much for the frank & well detailed review. We appreciate the same & are all glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here. We look forward to welcoming you home soon sometime in the near future!. All the very best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was our second visit to caps corner. It was a pleasant experience,the staff was great and welcoming room was clean and nice. Some more options on the breakfast menu would definitely help make it better.

Room Tip: choose deluxe rooms on the first floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sameer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Sameer!.

Thank you , for your kind review ! We were happy to have you and your wife stay with us. We will surely work on breakfast menu. We hope to welcome you all home, again, sometime in the near future!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at this place for 5 nights, with family & friends. Had booked this hotel after lot of research and am very happy to say that the service was beyond our expectations. Food, staff, cleanliness, rooms all added up to our vacation's success. Staff is very helpful didn't give us any reason to complain and went out of their way to please us.We had a surprise for one of our friends birthday very well organized by Melisa & her team. It is a fab place at a great location in one of the most happening parts of Goa. Just one thing lacking in the rooms ‘’intercoms’’, would be better. Great value for money, we are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Both Deluxe a.c & Standard a.c rooms are good, Deluxe a.c is more better with a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolkathik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Karthik!.

We were pleasantly surprised to see your kind review. Thank you so much for the same. We're all glad you had a good time at Cap's Corner & we're looking forward to welcoming you home for some more good times. Until then, all the very best to you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent rooms and the facilities provided like mini bar, refrigerator, complementary breakfast, add more comfort to your stay. Highly recommended for couples who want a peaceful stay during their visit to Goa. Location is exactly where every thing is easily accessible to you, helpful staff ,yummy food served in their restaurant Evong makes some good cocktails & Chandu keep up the good work. Enjoyed our south tour very well organised by Melisa. Overall great hospitality & excellent service. A home away from home!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor, more airy & quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehgupta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Mehul!.

We were pleasantly surprised to see your kind review. Thank you so much for the same. We're all glad you had a good time at Cap's Corner & we're looking forward to welcoming you home for some more good times. Until then, all the very best to you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am at a loss for words to praise this guest house. It’s such a pretty place just near the beach. Rooms are very neat and clean. Impressive & polite staff befriending you in a few minutes. I have read the recent reviews and wonder why people would want to complain about these guys, absolutely uncalled for especially , Melisa, whom I had seen handle the most difficult guests in a professional manner. Yes they are strict when it comes to payments and adhering to rules but that is expected from any business headed in the right direction.

They are one of the few places that keep their promises & are very transparent with what they have to offer ( limited complimentary breakfast, wi fi chargeable etc.) as many a time, we guests, do ignore the finer details and then end up blaming the establishment for the “hidden” agenda or “surprises”

The food is fairly priced, there are cheaper options nearby but not as clean and yum. They really know their Goan food!

The rooms are basic yet designed warmly ( as their website depicts), most importantly clean, even the surrounding area is clean , so I am really surprised to have read that someone thought otherwise.

Their location is fantastic, in the hub of activity and the beach a mere 5-10 min stroll via many shortcuts.

The services offered too does make one’s life easier , they outsource bike rentals and their excursions. They also propose an agenda for your entire stay if they are given prior intimation.

Overall, this 18 year old Guest house has won my heart and my advice to the readers here would be : Their price is justified because of everything they have to offer, if you just want four walls and a bed there are plentiful around. If you truly want to feel Goa, allow them to welcome you home...

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are on the first floor & much more spacious than others.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avi66patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Avinash,

Thanks for your great review & for giving us a chance to serve you. Pleased to know that you had a good time at Cap's Corner. Thanks for taking time to share your holiday experience on trip advisor. We hope to welcome you home again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

No phone signals, pathetic breakfast and rude staff was what defined our stay in this hotel. We were all girls and we booked this hotel because of the location, which for sure is great. However, the first disappointment came with the size of the washrooms, then the staff's attitude and then the biggest shock was the breakfast. Firstly, its not a buffet. Secondly, the only options were 2 slices of bread + omlette, 2 paranthas or corn flakes. These quantities were fixed. Even an extra slice of bread was not provided and when my friend asked for it she was refused the same.
The desk manager ( am not sure if the name was Mellissa) indeed did not come across as if she belongs to the hospitality business. We were there for 3 days and the bedsheets were not changed even once, inspite of us being charged a whooping 350 for a tatoo mark ( which we are not sure was ours).
The staff quoted the rental of activa as 700 per day, which is actually 250. There was no phone signals in any of the rooms. The Wi fi was not free unlike most other hotels.
Overall, except for location there was nothing good about this place. The food tasted bad, the service was slow, meagre quantities for breakfast ( I witnessed for the first time that the complimentary breakfast was just 2 slice of bread and an omlette) , bad tea/cofee ( no option of juice), no staff availability at night.
I would not recommend this place to anyone. For the amount we spent we could have got a much better place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travel_del_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capscorner, Guest Relations Manager at Cap's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Mayuri ,

Thanks for your feedback. It is very important for us so that we can continuously review and improve our quality and services, which will help us to get better in our performance and to thoroughly delight our guests at all time.

Now here’s our justification to the same:-

We checked you in before our check-in time. If you had issues with the room especially the bathroom you should have bought it to our notice at that very moment, which, was not done. It is clearly mentioned across all our booking channels and other communication mediums that our complimentary breakfast is limited. Thirdly, we would like to guide your attention to the fact that an organization has to function ethically according to defined it’s policies and procedures which we bring to all our guests’ attention via a simple sheet, as we did for you, the same which you have clearly not read as point number 14 indicates a fine for stained linen, especially Mehdi. Outside food /drinks are strictly not allowed but yet you’ll brought boxes of drinks from out & we didn’t say a word. With all due respect, we refute your comment in regard to bike arrangement, you had hired bikes from outside & no staff organized it for you.

Let it be known to all, that we at Cap’s Corner treat all our guest equally, please do not confuse rudeness with sternness, especially with regard to this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.4 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
0.9 mi away
Zostel Goa
Zostel Goa
#1 of 235 in Calangute
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap's Corner

Address: Calangute - Baga Road | Cobrawaddo, Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Calangute
Price Range: £16 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap’s Corner is a family run guest house & has been in the business for over 16 years.Our motto is “Value for money at attractive prices”. Centrally located in the ever popular town of Calangute yet nestled away from the busy Calangute — Baga road, Cap’s Corner is only a five minute walk from the beach, the market etc.. We also pride ourselves of regular guests from India & as we as Denmark, Sweden, Germany, the U.K, Ireland & many more .Cap’s Corner has 14 rooms, so everybody is treated as a part of the family, with our warm staff & individualized service. Our objective is to make people feel at home & satisfied by caring for all our guests.Right from our well reputed kitchen to the careful cleaning of your room & to our exquisite individually arranged excursions, we’re sure you feel at home from day one.We are happy to welcome you to sunny Goa & are looking forward to seeing another member of Cap’s Corner’s universal family!. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cap's Corner Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing