We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tangerine”
Review of Tangerine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tangerine Resort
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Excellent Tangerine”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was there for 4 nights with my wife its pleasant staying in hotel the service is good and the best part of food in there outlet wagha border nice room cleen room good staff good location on the main road of calangute near to the famous St Anthony chapple

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    112
    45
    45
    146
See reviews for
172
146
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our plans for Goa date back to November 2013 post receiving a wedding invitation from a set of close friends. We planned & planned & scouted most of the venues which we could call our Pad for half a week , unwind & have fun at the wedding.
Post drawing on the budgets & locking on the top 5 venues that we did want to stay at we relaxed... A bit to much & forgot that vacations planned well in advance turn out to be much economical than ones planned at the very last minute.
We finally decided a week before our travel dates that it was time to book the trip to realise that the budgets that we did plan would only allow us to sleep on the beach !!! Post going through all the possible options we finally clicked on the 1st available option that we did seem to like & completed bookings.
While we did know that travellers did post their feedback on the venue we completely forgot to read through it & decided to read it a day post completion of transactions. The reviews SHOCKED us !!!! As we read all the reviews on the place we had thoughts that the vacation would turn into a nightmare & we would officially turn into roach killers for the establishment , the difference being this would be a profession that we paid for.... We even tried cancelling the stay however the hotel had a non refund policy. Being stuck with the venue we packed all that was required to kill the roaches , the room & make it habitable for humans. When we missed our flight in the morning thanks to the lack of planning by the airlines we thought this was a sign that the trip would turn into a nightmare. A decent breakfast in south Mumbai followed by some amazing coffee brighter our then damped spirits while we returned to the airport to catch our next flight to our so called vacation.
Tension was the call of the hour when we did arrive at our destination & we greeted by people from the northern part of the country who hardly spoke a word of English. With our luggage at the reception we made way to our rooms only to discover that all what we read was not entirely true. The venue has warm rooms which ensured that one does not miss home ( the rooms could have definitely used some fresh renovation) , no sign of any rodents forget the roaches. We slept peacefully & woke up fresh now that our fears had vanished.
While the rooms are excellent the breakfast was not that great. I believe that the venue would do wonders with a young chef who understands a world of cuisines beyond the south & north of India & could cater to the taste buds of travellers from round the world.
The air conditioning units too could use a bit of servicing so they don't scare people in the middle of the night with what's sounds like the OST from THE conjuring. And a few attendants that could understand languages except Hindi and could politely attend their consumers would be quite appreciated.
The property has the making of an excellent venue which would be frequently visited by travellers provided a few changed are made before the start of the new season. Even till then we definitely would recommend the venue to others.
Our trip finally came to an end witnessing heavy traffic to reach the airport, would recommend an hour n half head start to ensure nobody misses their flight

Room Tip: Stay at the elite room rather than any room higher than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhagtanianirudh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were 2 couples and came for a vacation at the tangerine, it was a pleasent stay at the resort with a very cooperative staff, we liked the hospitality and the delicious punjabi food of the wagah border restuarant in the resort itself, we were also provided a complimentary candle light dinner by the resort on my friends aniversary, please do visit the resort and have the dal makhni it was really ausome...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trushaligruty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

There are better options for the same price tag, So why Tangerine? Why experiment with a completely mismanaged and inexperienced staff who failed to provide us Check in at 1400 hrs. There are more competitive hotels, and Tangerine is certainly not one. Rooms are okay. I would want to give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTFares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Made a booking through Travelocity and had a confirmation number. At first I was kind of concerned about some of the negative reviews I read but decided to give Tangerine a shot. On arriving at the hotel, I was told they were fully booked and had no record of my reservation. I showed them my confirmation from Travelocity and they looked at me like I was speaking Greek. Then appeared a manager and after telling me they were full said I could stay one night only. It was 8 pm and I felt this may be the best option. So I took up the offer. I went up to the room. On opening the door the bathroom stench almost killed me. The air conditioner was non existent and mosquitoes rife. It was like a bad nightmare. I asked for the Internet and was told it only worked in the lobby area. So much for free wifi in the rooms. I went down , logged on and searched other hotels. I immediately got a booking at a wonderful hotel down the road which was the best move I could have made. I went back grabbed my bag and returned the keys. Everyone behind the desk looked shocked!!
In total I spent 30 minutes on the property and even called Travelocity who confirmed my booking and contacted the hotel while I was present to no avail! No one at the front desk could communicate with Travelocity rep over the phone.
Folks, I am no primadona... Just a person who expects to get what I asked for and paid for. There are some essential basics expected in a hotel. THIS WAS A JOKE. I am disappointed in the travel sites advertising this so called hotel. 3 stars... That's ridiculous!! The website photos are deceptive. It is a shame that they could even charge the prices they do. I would be better off staying at the local jail with felons where the stench would probably be the same but I would not have to pay for it!!

My advice is STAY AWAY!! This is a joke of a hotel and my experience coming from abroad was unless you have low standards take the risk. If you gave me money to stay here I would have to decline. Goa is beautiful and has way more to offer than the Tangerine ???resort!!!

Room Tip: Stay away or else good luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NevFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Check-in :- It all started at the reception wherein we got a shock when the concerned person told us that we have only 3 rooms out of the 5 confirmed by our Travel portal. Post requesting the person and sharing the voucher details of all the 5 rooms, they arranged for 2 additional rooms for all of us. The 2 additional rooms were huge as compared to the one's we had seen in the photos and we were quite happy about the first experience with the hotel.

Stay :- The issue started when the other 3 rooms which were called as Elite rooms were allotted to my other family members turned out to be the most Basic rooms in the hotel with a peculiar garbage stink across the room. Elite Room is the most basic room in this hotel and one may find the word Elite as an executive room, but it's completely opposite.

While the hotel boasts about selling that room with an average rate of 6000/night, it's not even worth 2000/night. We had paid 5000/night for 5 rooms in total and the quality which we received was of 1500/night. Bathroom has basic facilities with No Hot water coming out of the Tap 24 X 7. When you ask for Hot water, they simply ask you to wait for 10 min for the same and post that, they will deliver a hot water bucket (the smallest available in the market) and except you to have bath with the same. Most of the things in the room don't work. Intercom, Fridge and one of it starts working post a complaint to the front desk personally as Intercom doesn't work to talk to them anyway. Free dinner was provided post multiple complaints about the rooms which is highly appreciated but what about the upgraded rooms with stinking toilets? Nobody bothers to clear that. Multiple assurances were given by the reservations person in-charge, however, everything seemed to be shallow at the end.

Breakfast :- Breakfast is very basic and consists of 4 items in total which get over within 1 hour post 8:30 am. You then have to plead before the Restaurant guy to get you an omelet as the Egg bhurji is over. It is completely up to the whims and fancies of the restaurant guy to honor your request for an omelet as he comes back to you with no reaction to your request initially and then just walks away. The food they serve is good and hygienic though. None of us had any stomach problems post eating at Wagah Border restaurant.

What had been thought of a memorable holiday with the family ended up in an embarrassing moment for us as we were the ones who planned it for all. Don't go by the looks of the website at all. It is not even close to what they claim. If the room is good, the toilet will be bad. If the toilet is good, the room will have some issues. Please be extra cautious before booking this resort.

Tangerine needs to do things right in the first place. You can make mistakes but not repeat it at the cost of 5000/per night.

Feedback to Tangerine Management :-

- Change the name Elite to Basic Room.
- Hire people in housekeeping who feel that the room needs to be maintained and not cleaned once in a year.
- Maintain the hotel to India standards and not foreign standards (I hope you understand) as we Indians except the rooms to be neat, clean and all the equipment's to be in working condition.
- Don't just say sorry post receiving a complaint, act on it to improve the stay.

Last but not the least, I would recommend everybody to stay in this resort as a walk in customer post personally checking the rooms without advance booking online as you never know what is waiting for you in there.

Room Tip: Royal Suite without a stinking toilet. Check for yourself before you make the payment. Don't boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very good for the price we got.. Nice rooms, good location, decent people
It's located pretty decently, not far from the beach at all... Very nice rooms and the owners who generally at the reception are decent people.. The rooms we had were very nice and we got it for a reasonable price even though it was peak season.. Bargain prior to confirming room price..

Room Tip: Choose the suites if possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visheshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#10 of 113 in Calangute
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#15 of 113 in Calangute
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#17 of 113 in Calangute
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#29 of 113 in Calangute
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#39 of 113 in Calangute
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#43 of 113 in Calangute
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Resort

Property: Tangerine Resort
Address: Naiko Wado, | St. Anthony Chappel, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangerine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tangerine Resorts a 3 Star Boutique Resort, welcomes all of you to the one of the best Tourism & hospitality destination in the world that is “GOA” the land of Beaches, Churches, Chapels, Forts, Caves & Sanctuaries.Tangerine Resorts at Calangute - Candolim Main Road, is a newly tastefully built Resort 500 meters / 5 minutes walk from Princess of Beaches "Calangute” & close to famous Candolim & Baga Beaches", offers traditional warm Indian hospitality, More... Rooms & Suites : At The Tangerine a Holidays resort, a world of contemporary luxury & architectural enchantment awaits you. Luxury, leisure, Comfort & convenience are evident throughout all the guest rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tangerine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Hotel Calangute
Tangerine Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing