We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't have too high expectations”
Review of Hotel Windsor Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Windsor Bay
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 6 March 2013

+ Price is among the lower ones that we could find on the internet. Can probably find cheaper on indian websites though as we saw many so-so looking hotels and guesthouses everywhere.
+ Fairly close to Calangute beach (10 minutes walk).
+ Baga beach with night clubs etc 20-25 min walk or fairly cheap taxi.
+ The hotel's driver is nice, and can customize trips for you to your liking for decent price.
+ Small but nice pool, with a few beach beds next to it. There was not many people using the pool though, so if you want to lie by the pool, it is probably enough space. With all the nice beaches close by you probably won't use the pool too much though.

- Service is so-so/average if you ask for stuff. But if you don't ask or complain, don't expect any cleaning, towel changes, toilet paper refill or emtying of garbage cans.
- Kind of dirty in the room. Maybe they cleaned the floor and changed sheets, but not much more than that. One supposedly white wall was more like semi-brown, and there were some vague/smaller stains on sofa and bed. Also signs of wear and tear on most stuff in the room.
- Very noisy air condition. Had to turn it off during the night, which caused it to be pretty warm when waking up.
- Balcony door could not be completely closed. Left 2-3cm (~1 inch) opening.
- Bit noisy from the street (probably party because of bad balcony door)
- The extra bed is totally un-usable. Looked like a prison bed or something. Rusty, fixed with tape and the mattress looked like it would fall apart if you touched it.
- Hotel seems to be run by a bunch of teenagers. All the people working there seemed to be male and in the ages of 15-25. Maybe that explains the low priority on cleaning... Also no special outfit or nametags for the hotel staff, as everyone was wearing everyday clothes. It gave kind of a sloppy impression.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank mk_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Windsor Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Superb location in terms of accessibility to baga and calangute beach.But hotel falls extremely short of staff and thus there are cleanliness and rom service issues big time.Rooms are well done and cozy but ants and cockroaches is like a package deal!! :-/ which you figure out only once you start staying there.We suffered big time with expired milk powder sachets provided repeatedly and room being cleaned with dirty cloth everyday.Tv has bare minimum channels.yeah... Continuous 24x7 supply of hot water makes it a comfy stay with having a dip in beach water twice a day!Overall an average experience but definitely not a value for money deal!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitakaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The property is ideally situated for beach lovers. The service is great and the personal attention by the hotel staff is somethng to be admired for. Though the hotel is small but the place is nicely located and specially connected to the beach makes it more likeable. Baga and calangute both are very near to this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SushilSehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

please don't think to stay here, don' get confused with the photographs, its very small hotel, poor quality breakfast with no choice, the only positive thing is the location.This hotel is located on Calangute Baga Road , so very close to Calangute and not very far from Baga as well. it is just 2 minute walk from calangute beach. hotel staff is ok. we booked a room at third floor and without lift sometimes it was difficult to reach there. room was ok well decorated provided with tea coffee maker, iron , fridge safe and almost all necessary things, bathroom size is very small and not clean. we reached at night, yes we got a room after waiting 20 minutes but its not a complain. we booked a scooter through hotel staff and last day we forgot to take advance money, we requested to hotel staff to adjust that amount in bill, which we have deposited but he denied. near by this property, many other better hotels are available at much lower cost

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indore_nikita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Dont go by the pictures that these guys have posted on website or any other portals. I went through makemytrip.com and they made every effort to ruin the stay. Small, smelly rooms, untidy bathrooms and terrible food. Its better to stay along the road-side instead of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarun0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at Windsor Bay near Calangute Beach in Oct,2012.

We were in the best of our moods as it is GOA !! So no complaints.
This hotel is located on Calangute Baga Road , so very close to Calangute and not very far from Baga as well.
Rooms:We chose the 2nd floor for a better view after checking out all rooms.
Very clean with nice balconies and good interiors. They provided tea/coffee maker, an Iron ,Ironing Board ,weighing Machine, Safe, mini fridge and hair Dryer which almost covers all the necessities. There were toiletries provided for first day. They served tea and coffee whenever required (on chargeable basis). Breakfast was good if you dont opt for Indian
like french toast and cheese omlette were good. Owner and reception person were polite but not very well informed about Goa. There are many restaurants on walking distance which are 24 hour open and were very good so no issue of food.


This place is worth a stay and would suggest people to go for it if not looking for beach view or something.

Activa and Car on hire available in shop next to Hotel.
We took Wagon R (very new) at 800 bucks a day
and activa at 300 bucks/day.

Trip was fun and hotel really contributes. Staff is cool enough to allow you to jump in the pool late night. FUN FUN and FUN !!!

Room Tip: Take the rooms on second floor for better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surabhi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Did a big mistake of booking this hotel by going through the looks...
We were on a 4-day trip this time and even after reading bad reviews about the hotel we went ahead and booked it...Great looks/decor for the price we paid but everything becomes useless if the service is bad and here the service is pathetic..
And the service is bad throughout...
The person at the reception was rude with no authority whatsoever...Had to wait for an hour before we got a room after lots of discussion with the owner..Other staff members looked more like roadside people with no manners..And about the owner lesser said the better..She was the most (not one of the most) rude customer facing person i have ever met...It was more of a favor she was doing by giving us the room!!! No toileteries was given..AC could not be controlled and we literally froze..No help was given..TV wasnt working properly..Had to call up the room service several times to get even a plate and a spoon..No one knows anything..Inspite of the fact that the entire hotel was empty during our checkout still the owner was stubborn enough to not give us any extra time for checkout which was a real trouble...She bluntly told that she didnt trust any of her emplyees!!
All in all...advising anyone looking at reviews to not book the hotel for the looks alone...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dipti1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.1 mi away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#36 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingstork Beach Resort
Kingstork Beach Resort
#19 of 116 in Calangute
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 116 in Calangute
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#29 of 116 in Calangute
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon
Horizon
#30 of 116 in Calangute
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Karishma Grand
Hotel Karishma Grand
#23 of 116 in Calangute
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Bay

Address: Calangute-Baga Beach Road | Umtavaddo Bardez, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range: £20 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Windsor Bay Located on Calangute Baga Rd., Calangute Beach is just 250-300 mtrs.All rooms fully furnished with king size bed, Air condition, 32 inches LCD TV with satellite connection, intercom facility, kettle service, ironing board with iron, hairdryer, safe lockers, Mini fridge & balcony etc. Swimming Pool, Maximum Bar & Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Windsor Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Bay Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing